My north-eastern DRC adventure...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Post My north-eastern DRC adventure...

Ok, so I am here now, and as I'll be here for at least 6 weeks before heading home for a break, lets see if I can post some of the things I see, whats happening, etc. It might end up looking a bit like a blog, and if this is not allowed by TOS, mods please delete! I'll try to post at least once a week until I go home.

The reason why I am here is because I am a paramedic, and I am employed to look after the health of a bunch of guys doing minerals exploration out in the jungle. We are many, many hours, possibly days from any other decent medical assistance, so in an emergency, I'm it.

On Monday I flew from JHB OR Tambo intl. to Entebbe, Uganda. I stayed over in "The Boma", a local guest house very near to the airport. It was very comfortable, the food was fine, and it even has a swimming pool!8)

On Tuesday morning I was back at the airport for a charter flight to the DRC. We checked through customs and immigration fine, no hassles. (we being myself and 2 geologists - they are both DRC nationals from Kinshasa, but their only way to get to where we were going was to fly to Nairobi from Kinshasa, then on to Entebbe, then back into the DRC!!)

The charter plane was a Cessna Caravan, turbo prop, and in very good nick. I was pleased about this, as I have in the past flown in some pretty dodgy planes up in Africa, not a lot of fun! We took off from Entebbe, and flew over a large portion of Lake Victoria.