Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Default Re: Appreciate a good steak?

Quote Originally Posted by WillieJimny View Post
    Attachment 753692

Sir lion with fat tonight
    T-Bone without the bone and fillet sections.
    Estee = S T = Sean Towlson, A Schrodingers Douche Bag GOF

''In Western society, it is not the facts or the truth that are important, but the correct presentation of information, even if it is a lie.''

Clank, a 1979 Ex-SADF Series III 109 SW powered by a Toyota 2B Oil Burner

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Estee For This Useful Post:

Bavette Plankie or flank, pan seared, with a knob of butter, some garlic and fresh thyme added to the pan towards the end and then used to baste, is the best steak.

Cut on the diagonal, its like 8hr smoked brisket, without the smoke, tender, juicy but with a rich, gamey and intense beef flavour that no other cut can produce.

Beef, unlike pork, imo, is much of a muchness. Pigs produce a myriad of flavours from different cuts. But flank is pure beef flavour. Dont take my word for it, compare flavours.

And if you buy that matured, geelvet, highly marbled and expensive steak and chuck it on a grill, you have wasted your money and I bet you that your folks used to take you to some flame grilled franchise where you "developed" your steak taste.

Now fight me

Last edited by Estee; 2025/05/10 at 06:24 PM.

''In Western society, it is not the facts or the truth that are important, but the correct presentation of information, even if it is a lie.''

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Estee For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by iandvl View Post
    Fillet is steak for people who can not cook.
    Or havent been able to make carpaccio properly or who cant stomach rump sealed in a bag with karringmelk and left in the sun for 2 days. If you want to get flavour from beef, then thats the only way, or go with Bavette Plankie.

Alternatively, if you can crack the knod, Uncle Dudds does the best steaks ever.

6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Estee For This Useful Post:

To me wagyu is overrated and overpriced for what it is.

8. The Following User Says Thank You to Therackermann For This Useful Post:

Please Never give Ian my Address
    Thanks for the Compliment Estee

I get the best Rump Steaks at the little Spar in Umloti
    A Whole R109 kg...
    My SIL in Cape Town even orders them..
    Nothing like them locally

10. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Dudleytheplumber For This Useful Post:

Name:	20250510_190331.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	294.7 KB 
ID:	753701
    2020 Ford Ranger 2.2 XL
    2011 Jurgens XT120
    2023 Suzuki Ciaz (Swambos platkar)

12. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to WillieJimny For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Dudleytheplumber View Post
    Please Never give Ian my Address
    Thanks for the Compliment Estee

I get the best Rump Steaks at the little Spar in Umloti
    A Whole R109 kg...
    My SIL in Cape Town even orders them..
    Nothing like them locally
    Nobody needs to give me your address. I am pretty sure I can find it on my own...
    Last edited by iandvl; 2025/05/10 at 07:34 PM.
    Ian de Villiers

2001 Patrol 4.5 GRX (Wagon)
    2014 Jimny (Wagon)
    Sole local member of the GFYS club
    Jurgens XT65 2x0 with SS0
    ORRA: AG149

14. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iandvl For This Useful Post:

Is it not true that what it ate, how it lived, what type is, how old it was when it got the bad news, and how long it took to get to your plate makes a big difference?

Any Michelin star chef will tell you the preparation plays the smallest part. Sourcing the best is far more important.

I like this guy and his videos. Also his approach to steak.

Take note of his comment regarding the butter burning and only using it at the end:

https://youtu.be/lVcTvHTn6Dw?si=1CbxwUeuwSp_BxzL
    Last edited by Darth; 2025/05/10 at 08:23 PM.
    Helmet Head. Please Be Patient.

16. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Darth For This Useful Post:

Vanaand se menu

Name:	IMG_2299.jpg 
Views:	97 
Size:	73.2 KB 
ID:	753710  
    Gert Grobler

VW Touareg V6 Tdi Escape; Land Cruiser 200 VX-R
    Bush Lapa Ratel 4i 1906

18. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Nys For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Nys View Post
    Vanaand se menu
    Eish - hopeyou remember the plastic!🙈🤣

The Blockman - Parkhurst

Not cheap but well worth it!
    1997 Discovery 1 300tdi "Pussy Galore" SOLD
    1996 Discovery 1 V8 - Mr Creosote
    1983 W123 240D Mercedes Benz - Oksana SOLD
    1984 W123 230E Mercedes Benz - James
    1998 Discovery 1 300tdi "Pussy Galore II"

“When I dine after a hard day’s work, I like serenity, calm, good food, cold beverages.” – Winston Churchill

21. The Following User Says Thank You to MickeyBlue42 For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Therackermann View Post
    To me wagyu is overrated and overpriced for what it is.
    My eerste wagyu wat ek gebraai het wat definitief die lekkerste steak en een van die puikste borde kos wat ek al genuttig het. Die geur, unieke smaak, imponerende grootte (40mm dik en 1kg stuk), en bottersagte tekstuur het dit 'n ongelooflike ondervinding gemaak, en mens kan dit teen bekostigbare pryse vind as jy weet waar.

Ek het wel ook al 'n stel man size rumps by die foodlovers op die suidkus aangeskaf wat baie naby aan net so lekker was. Die ding met steak braai is dat daai regtig lekker een so min soos 'n kolhou op die gholfbaan gebeur, die vleis, die vuur, die voorbereiding en die omstandighede moet almal saam soos die sterre op lyn en dan het mens nog 'n goeie skoot geluk ook nodig. Maar wanneer dit gebeur is dit sjammies verby!

Alfa Romeo Stelvio - Bellissimo!
    Grand Cherokee 5.7L V8 (sold)
    Alfa Romeo MiTo Quadrifoglio Verde (sold but still near to me)
    JKU Rubicon Pentastar (sold )
    JKU CRD (sold)
    XJ 4liter (sold )

23. The Following User Says Thank You to Jeepiscool For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by iandvl View Post
    I do not classify fillet as steak. Can not stand it. But again - my teeth still work... :/
    Net vir jou Emmie Fillet = beeshaas, Die ou mense van my tyd het dit so genoem, my pa was baie puntenerig met taalgebruik en dit was sy beskrywing. Dr goegel ken hom nie so en baie van sy ander vertalings soos puntenerig ook nie, moet n' Ingilsman wees wat hom gebou het
    Henk
    Adventure is out there go find it

Fitment and trailer service. Agent for SnoMaster & Tentco
    Follow us on Facebook

Quote Originally Posted by hbannink View Post
    Net vir jou Emmie Fillet = beeshaas, Die ou mense van my tyd het dit so genoem, my pa was baie puntenerig met taalgebruik en dit was sy beskrywing. Dr goegel ken hom nie so en baie van sy ander vertalings soos puntenerig ook nie, moet n' Ingilsman wees wat hom gebou het
    Net soos kottelet, het beeshaas amper verdwyn. Ek het as kind altyd gewonder hoekom dit so genoem word. Tot ek in Europa die haas karkasse in die boecherie gesien het. Toe maak dit ongerieflik veel sin. In my wêreld het min mense haas geëet.
    Aristotle wrote; ''Excellence is never an accident. It is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, and intelligent execution. It represents the wise choice of many alternatives. Choice, not chance, determines your destiny''

Quote Originally Posted by Darth View Post
    Is it not true that what it ate, how it lived, what type is, how old it was when it got the bad news, and how long it took to get to your plate makes a big difference?

Any Michelin star chef will tell you the preparation plays the smallest part. Sourcing the best is far more important.

I like this guy and his videos. Also his approach to steak.

Take note of his comment regarding the butter burning and only using it at the end:

https://youtu.be/lVcTvHTn6Dw?si=1CbxwUeuwSp_BxzL
    In essence, dont waste all those flavours dripping through a braai grid.

Quote Originally Posted by Andrew V9X View Post
    My favourite steak at the moment from my Spar butcher is a matured picanha rump steak.
    I season with course salt and black pepper ground onto it.
    Rub into the meat and then braai over very hot coals. My mouth is watering as I type this.
    We are addicted to Picanha. Tender, serious flavour and very good value for money.

Name:	26ecef8d-9803-4a70-a0a0-7601ce331c69.jpg 
Views:	46 
Size:	86.4 KB 
ID:	753718
    His - 2023 Subaru Forester

Hers - 2023 Toyota Corolla Cross 1.8XS

28. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PeterS For This Useful Post:

De Suider Pub and Grill has a Wednesday special 300g Rump and Chips for R95.

Normally R135

Pretty decent. And R80 for 2 draught castle light

On the Moloto Rd 5min past Roodeplaat

Quote Originally Posted by Estee View Post
    In essence, dont waste all those flavours dripping through a braai grid.
    Yup, and:

1) Put the salt on early enough so juices get pulled out and then back in again. So it also needs to rest before. Salt while you braaing or frying the juices get pulled out in front of you. Salt helps with the crust.
    2) Dont use butter too early. It burns at the higher temps you need for the crust. Avocado oil first, to get the crust and then use butter later at a lower temp and for a shorter time.
    3) Let it rest. Those who say this does not work probably do so because they lost the juices early on.
    4) Get the right tools for the job. Solid pan with a good thermal mass that can retain more heat and for longer when the cold steak is added as this helps with the Maillard reaction, and use a thermometer to check when its done.
    Last edited by Darth; 2025/05/11 at 09:32 AM.
    Helmet Head. Please Be Patient.

Quote Originally Posted by Darth View Post
    Yup, and:

1) Put the salt on early enough so juices get pulled out and then back in again. So it also needs to rest before. Salt while you braaing or frying the juices get pulled out in front of you. Salt helps with the crust.
    2) Dont use butter too early. It burns at the higher temps you need for the crust. Avocado oil first, to get the crust and then use butter later at a lower temp and for a shorter time.
    3) Let it rest. Those who say this does not work probably do so because they lost the juices early on.
    4) Get the right tools for the job. Solid pan with a good thermal mass that can retain more heat and for longer when the cold steak is added as this helps with the Maillard reaction, and use a thermometer to check when its done.
    did a couple of ribeyes during the week, done as per above except I used a cajun rub. For the first time I used avocado oil for the sear and can recommend, after the sear added butter, cloves of garlic and a few crushed baby potatoes in then into the oven to get to the preferred temp. Perfect melt in mouth goodness
    Anton Muller

Nothing upsets me more than vegetarians having pudding
    2024 X5 M60i
    2024 iX3 M Sport
    Birkin SR20VET race car

32. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mullerza For This Useful Post:

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4