Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    US..small village from France
    Age
    60
    Posts
    245
    Thanked: 0

    Default Which Cell Phone operator ?

    Hello,

    When I arrive in RSA and while traveling in Bostwana, I would like to buy a pre paid SIM card to put in my cell phone (I was told it will be cheaper for me to give and receive phone call this way than use my french operator) I think I can buy it at the airport or in big store

    What would be the best solution and which is the best operator to cover the both countries ?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Edenvale
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,762
    Thanked: 451

    Default

    I think Vodacom and MTN are both on the same level of appalling service.

    Keep in mind you need an RSA I.D and proof of residence here (utilities bill to your physical address in SA) to purchase a pay-as you-go SIM card. RICA laws and all that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    US..small village from France
    Age
    60
    Posts
    245
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Bouh !!!
    I won't be able to..
    the only document with an RSA address would be my car rental papers....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Midrand
    Age
    49
    Posts
    202
    Thanked: 80

    Default

    I think you can rent phones at the airport - there are definitely MTN and vodacom desks there. I thought you were supposed to be able to use your passport if you weren't resident, but I'm sure you'll have to give proof of your families history going back 100 years!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Nelspruit
    Age
    41
    Posts
    41
    Thanked: 2

    Default

    I agree, Vodacom or MTN, I prefer MTN because of better signal reception i the areas where I work. On Bots, I can not comment.

    Maybe you can ask someone you know in SA to get a simcard on your behalf. I.E have it registered at RICA on your friends name. Otherwise PM me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,181
    Thanked: 3291

    Default

    In Botswana we have Mascom and Orange (related to the French operator).

    Both offer pre-paid services. Pre-paid users had to register their sim cards, but they only wanted Omang/Passport identification. Not sure what the regulations are with new users.

    (Omang = Botswana ID)
    Last edited by KobusDJ; 2010/07/01 at 06:09 PM.
    Kobus

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Stellenbosch
    Age
    56
    Posts
    1,022
    Thanked: 136

    Default

    I bought a prepaid SIM card last month in Francistown and they didn't ask me for any documents, I think it was about P40 for the CIM card. I also read somewhere that all the Botswana cellphone companies have to share their antennas so reception is the same for all service providers
    Last edited by saskia; 2010/07/02 at 05:15 PM.
    Cobus
    Land Cruiser 200 4.6
    Imagine Comfortvan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    68
    Posts
    550
    Thanked: 22

    Default

    SIM = Subscriber Identification Module.................

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    US..small village from France
    Age
    60
    Posts
    245
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Well thank you for all those tips
    I guess I will buy a SIM card in Botswana and use mine while I will be in RSA.
    Can I use the Botswana SIM like Orange back in RSA ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Age
    55
    Posts
    10,293
    Thanked: 10616

    Default

    Ericarole, the Botswana SIM will not work in SA. Can you not get international roaming from your French service provider? That will save you from swopping SIM cards several times.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Palma de Mallorca
    Age
    51
    Posts
    44
    Thanked: 0

    Default Mascom

    I used Mascom for the same very purpose and it was dead cheap, something like 50 pula with 25 credit. Then you can buy more airtime (scratch cards) from any of the guys/ladies wearing a Mascom vests taht you'll find around the corners of any town in Botswana. For local call is very cheap and seemed to work just fine for us.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,181
    Thanked: 3291

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericarole
    Can I use the Botswana SIM like Orange back in RSA ?
    Mascom Pre-Paid can roam in SA and Namibia
    Orange Pre-Paid can roam in SA (Vodacom), Namibia (CellOne) and France (Orange).

    You need to activate the roaming.
    Last edited by KobusDJ; 2010/07/02 at 03:02 PM.
    Kobus

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    US..small village from France
    Age
    60
    Posts
    245
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Thanks KobusDJ
    Can you tell me how to proceed to activate the roaming ?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,181
    Thanked: 3291

    Default

    Ericarole, I have no experience with Mascom, but I'm sure they will help you if you talk to the call-centre.

    For Orange, you can activate/deactivate from your phone.
    To activate dial *141*1#
    To deactivate dial *141*2#
    You must do this while still in Botswana. You will receive a conformation on successful activation/deactivation.
    Kobus

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Capri Village, Western Cape
    Age
    44
    Posts
    818
    Thanked: 133

    Default

    You can use either of them, I use MASCOM and I'm perfectly happy so far. I was with the Orange network, but they were on and off for about three months, that is when I decided to change!

    Orange =

    Mascom =

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    US..small village from France
    Age
    60
    Posts
    245
    Thanked: 0

    Default

    Thanks to all of you

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    nelspruit
    Age
    39
    Posts
    43
    Thanked: 0

    Default rica

    A foreigner does not need proof of residence to RICA register.
    Only a passport is required.........
    If you wish to live wisely, ignore sayings including this one.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Jhb
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,265
    Thanked: 3

    Default

    MTN suck in Bots and Zim took 7 days for two phones to be "activated" in Bots with MTN and both were done at different times?! Phone A worked in Bots not Phone B, then in Zim phone B worked and not A, both with MTN! We are in the process of moving ALL our contracts to Vodacom.

    In Bots we ended buying an ORANGE card, FAST, SIMPLE and CHEAP. No paperwork other than passport.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delmas
    Age
    65
    Posts
    11,801
    Thanked: 1275

    Default

    We also buy a ORANGE sim and ask the lady to register it, very quick, you just need your passport, stil valid for 1 year, we are back in sa, so, let my know when i will give it for you free, stil have about P50 on it, we near Oliver Thamob Airport , It is very cheap from botswana, namibie not so cheap, but no problam in botswana
    Elize
    en ry saam met SarelF in
    4x4 Isuzu NPS 300 met kamper
    Kyk gerus by www.blinkgatproducts.com
    Vir enige aluminium produkte,canopy's, campers kontak gerus
    Sarel 0828209413

Similar Threads

  1. Which cell phone / gps is best?
    By TheoP in forum GPS & Mapping
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 2018/03/05, 04:05 PM
  2. Cell phone/Satellite Phone Future?
    By GTO in forum The 4x4 Pub
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2017/12/26, 12:14 PM
  3. Tracing a cell phone
    By Henris in forum General 4x4 Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 2009/11/09, 12:51 PM
  4. Call centre Blunders
    By willysjeep in forum General 4x4 Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006/09/14, 08:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
  •