Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Default Ranger Replacement, the T6

To all those who are busy building garages or who are thinking of getting the new T6 in 2yrs time, well just remember that it will NOT fit into a standard 6m garage. So we gonna have to do it the American way...

Fit tow hitch and bumper, then add another 1m to your garage in length then it will JUST fit in...no jokes...

The new bakkies are going to be ALOT bigger in the future as we will be exporting from SA so we have to now ride the oversized 4x4's in SA...LOVE to see what parking is going to be like in the future for Mommies driving the kids to school....

Some useless info but intersting none the less.

Hey, if this bad boy is anything to go by, bring it on!

http://jalopnik.com/5395638/more-pow...-v8-for-411-hp

Quote Originally Posted by JasonRSA View Post
    Hey, if this bad boy is anything to go by, bring it on!

http://jalopnik.com/5395638/more-pow...-v8-for-411-hp
    No, that is the F150.....not the T6 and the F150 will NOT be sold in SA..sorry.

This is the T6 coming to SA being build here, on a global platform, SA building for European market, 3 plants in the world will be building for export, we lucky to be one of them.

Current Ranger is 5170mm long, T6 will be at least 100mm longer, avg garage is 5m. Now fit a tow bar you lose another 100mm, add a say ARB which has the knack of hanging off the front of the Ranger, at LEAST 150-200mm,add a ball to that then over 200mm...

So in short, build a 6m long garage and you safe as long as you don't wanna walk around the vehicle...

Name:	t6.jpg 
Views:	6226 
Size:	49.9 KB 
ID:	45063   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	t6r.jpg 
Views:	5271 
Size:	35.8 KB 
ID:	45064   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	t6s.jpg 
Views:	6002 
Size:	48.6 KB 
ID:	45065  

Thumbs down

Nee wat kêrels..... Ek ry eerder my 2004 4lit Ranger. Die nuwe T6-ding lyk alte veel na die Toyota Hilux Setpil (setpil gaan mos maklik in, maar kom moeilik uit - net soos die Toyota's by 'n obstacle.....).

Die nuwe Ford Everest lyk hoeka al of hulle sy ontwerp by Gonow gesteel het....
    Work. It's a wealthy man's privilege, and a poor man' fate....

André Opperman

"Boerbok" - 98 Jeep XJ 4lit auto
    "Gloria" - 04 Ranger D/C 4lit auto

Quote Originally Posted by Oppers View Post
    Nee wat kêrels..... Ek ry eerder my 2004 4lit Ranger.
    100%

If I was looking to buy a Ford I'd make sure I did it before this T6 hits the market.

Maybe the price of second hand Rangers will increase as a result?

Quote Originally Posted by SteveB View Post
    100%

If I was looking to buy a Ford I'd make sure I did it before this T6 hits the market.

Maybe the price of second hand Rangers will increase as a result?

Dream on boet...the prices will go up for sure as the new T6 will cost a bit more...ignore the bonnet styling, they skewed that by adding an extra part to the fender to make it look......

Yep the "Everest", my 1st thought, a new GONOW....no jokes, to me it looks that bad..and so similar...

Look at the facelift Ranger and you see the styling is already in the pipeline, that is why I bought the pre facelift, I don't like the "car" look Ford are going for, if I want a car again I will buy one..bakkies are meant to be BAKKIES...not even the Americans are pissing about there, they are big but the styling remains the same, period.

Talking Bring F-150 to SA

I would love to see the New F-150 being introduced will just complete the range of Trucks alot better F250 and F150.

Especially the F-150 SVT Raptor

Lightbulb Info

http://www.autoblog.com/2008/06/02/f...r-replacement/

Ford planning F-100 and global Ranger replacement

by John Neff (RSS feed) on Jun 2nd 2008 at 2:57PM

We've already heard that Ford is developing a new, smaller pickup truck based on the F-150 that will be powered by four-cylinder and turbocharged V6 engines. Referred to as the F-100 and known internally as P525, the mid-size pickup is slated to go on sale in 2010 or 2011. At the time, we questioned what would happen to the compact Ranger pickup that hasn't been redesigned for over a decade. Motor Trend is now reporting that Ford is may replace the current Ranger sold in the U.S. with the replacement for its global Ranger pickup sold elsewhere in the world. Codenamed T6, the global Ranger replacement is reportedly being developed by Ford Australia, and while the current model is produced in Thailand (shown above), import taxes could force Ford to produce the U.S. version in another country like South Africa or Australia. The current U.S. Ranger pickup, meanwhile, will end production next year and the plant at which it's made will close, which means we'll probably go without the segment's smallest, most fuel-efficient pickup for a year or two until the global Ranger arrives. That's a big mistake in our eyes, since demand for fuel-efficient yet capable work horse vehicles will only increase in the coming years. Ford could keep producing the current Ranger and spice it up with an Ecoboost engine to keep buyers interested until its replacement arrives, but it's probably too late for that now.

Links:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Ranger
    http://www.blueovalforums.com/forums...howtopic=36314
    http://news.pickuptrucks.com/2009/05...ll-pickup.html

Spied! Ford Ranger "T6" Global Small Pickup

Posted by Mike Levine | May 12, 2009

Ford hasn’t said officially what, if anything, will replace the U.S.-built Ford Ranger when production ends in 2011 but recent spy photos captured half a world apart point to a brand new, globally produced small pickup taking its place by 2012.
    The engineering mules seen in these pictures might look like facelifted, double-cab versions of the Mazda BT-50 that’s sold outside the U.S. and shares a common platform with the Thai-built overseas Ford Ranger, but sources say their duct tape and cobbled bodies hide the mechanicals and running gear of Ford’s next-generation global small truck. That new pickup will likely mean all Ford Ranger models would be built on a single global platform, codenamed "T6" that's being designed in Australia. The current overseas Ford Ranger shares only its name with the Ranger built for North America.
    The move is expected to mirror Ford’s recent product strategy to cut development costs by designing new vehicles on a single global platform, like the new Ford Fiesta compact car that recently went on sale in Europe and is promised for the U.S. next year.
    Photographed T6 test trucks are configured in both left- and right-hand drive versions and are longer and wider than the current overseas Ranger. The mules are powered by diesel and gas engines. An industry source says the T6 Ranger for the U.S. will likely be powered by a new 1.6-liter four-cylinder direct injection turbocharged EcoBoost engine producing at least 175 horsepower and 180 pounds-feet of torque. Ford's 3.0-liter Duratorq TDCi four-cylinder turbodiesel engine, rated at 154 horsepower and 280 pounds-feet of torque, is expected to be carried over in the new truck for buyers outside the U.S.

Please look closely................it is the new Mazda of the T6 range

Quote Originally Posted by GPB BT50 View Post
    Please look closely................it is the new Mazda of the T6 range

??

I am working at the factory...code name T6 for the new FORD.

Quote Originally Posted by Scrat View Post
    ??

I am working at the factory...code name T6 for the new FORD.
    Engine plant? More info on the puma engine ?Where will they build the new Mazda ??

No body side, but all this info is public domain so no problem for me saying this.. now...

Hi Guys,

i work for an automotive interior company. we are currently devloping hte T6 dash board and door panels. We were awarded the business in thailand, SA and argentina (the 3 sites).

70% of sales will be exported. the bakkie in the picture is the J26 (mazda version of the platform).

it will launch before the Ford. we should start gettign pictures in a few months time. i will post them here...

Quote Originally Posted by Aspiring Hiluxiar View Post
    Hi Guys,

i work for an automotive interior company. we are currently devloping hte T6 dash board and door panels.
    Please make the interior door panels more rigid , lose the door cup holders and use a stain/waterproof proof fabric on the inserts .

As for the dash , a larger flat area for placing A5 diaries/ gps's /sunglasses .

Lose the slide out dash tray , ive never used it , and if you do put a document in there , it slides through the back into the dash . Rather leave it as a open type bin like the old isuzu's .

Just some feedback , good luck with the project

That has to be the uglyest looking THING ive ever seen! bin it!

Spoke to a guy from Ford over the weekend, and they are busy testing the new T6 Ranger. He says they are bringing it in with the 3.2 5Cyl TDCI engine, which develops 147kw and 470nm. He says it's bigger than the current one, with looks in line with the Hilux etc.

Quote Originally Posted by Solo View Post
    Spoke to a guy from Ford over the weekend, and they are busy testing the new T6 Ranger. He says they are bringing it in with the 3.2 5Cyl TDCI engine, which develops 147kw and 470nm. He says it's bigger than the current one, with looks in line with the Hilux etc.
    It has to be, the Amarok is bigger than the Navara...these import/Export "Bakkies" are big...

3.2 only 147kw...mm...pity

Quote Originally Posted by Oppers View Post
    Die nuwe Ford Everest lyk hoeka al of hulle sy ontwerp by Gonow gesteel het....
    could not agree with you more !!!!

looks like a bombai special meets china town

maar al wat ek eintlik te se het oor ford in general is ......
    nooit weer, hulle kan maar die t6 hou.

... maar wie weet soos ek nou sukkel om van my ranger ontslae te raak het ek hom nog maybe teen daai tyd dan trade die ford manne hom in omdat hulle jammer voel vir my en niemand anders kry wat die t6's wil koop nie
    Last edited by Darth; 2010/05/14 at 04:31 PM.

No way, if it looks similar to the hilux i wont be interested, amarok for me then
    2000 Drifter SLX DC 2.5 TD

Quote Originally Posted by les1968 View Post
    No way, if it looks similar to the hilux i wont be interested, amarok for me then

Then you have a problem as the Hilux was the bakkie VW used to compare to the Amarok from the design stage...so......this from the Germans own mouth...

Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast