wheelchair-camping in Moz?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question wheelchair-camping in Moz?

Hi guys, I'm very new at this, and no computer boff in anyone's imagination, so please put me straight when I go wrong!

I'm a wheelchair-using paraplegic for the past 11 yrs, but still camping and touring widely. Just returned from a 7300km trip to the north of Namibia! We (my wife, myself and my 8yr old son) tend to travel alone (with only a satellite phone for emergencies) as you're less bound by itineraries etc. I have a 4lit D/C Ranger with more than 1000km range in fuel, towing a home-made off-road trailer.

I plan to do the bottom end of Mozambique about March/April 2010, possibly as high as Inhambane or Vilanculos, but definitely going to the area south of Maputo to the Maputo Elephant park area, coming back into SA via Kosi Bay. I need some advice please:
    • Camping on sand seriously hampers my mobility. Can anyone point me to some campsites that are hardpacked or lawn, preferably near the beach?
    • How serious is the crime-situation in the areas mentioned above? Being wheelchair-bound can be seen as a soft target by opportunistic skabengas !!!
    • I don't use a GPS (as yet...) and have always found maps to be sufficient with a bit of research. Should I look at getting a GPS?
    • Any advice on the road & travelling back via Kosi Bay?
    André
    1998 Jeep Cherokee 4lit Auto, Bull bar bumper, 2" lift, ARB diff Lock - it's a real Billygoat!!!
    2004 Ford Ranger D/C, SAC chip, used for touring and camping.8)

Welcome to 4x4community Oppers .

Ill see how much i can offer , been up and down that coastline numerous times .
    With the nature of the campsites in Mz being near the beach , theyre generally very sandy . Grass doesnt have much time to establish . I'll mention the ones that come to mind .