Klein Tafelberg - Western Cape - Report & Pic's

Default Klein Tafelberg - Western Cape - Report & Pic's

Im very new to 4x4'ing and writing, but here goes

It is the best campsite I have ever stayed at. The owner Steve and his wife were so hospitable and on arrival we were greeted with the warmest welcome. The first night was surprisingly warm and a relaxed braai was enjoyed by all.

The next morning we set off at around 10 am on Saturday for the Klein Tafelberg Trail. I completed the entire route, (sat out of Heart-Break Hill’s sand climb as I just wasn’t in the mood for high revving my KZ) but everyone waxed it and it looked easy compared to the challenge’s we had just completed before it.

The course is set against one of Cape Town’s most extraordinary natural surroundings of flowing green hills, blankets of colourful flowers blooming for Spring and the privilege of ancient bush paintings along the way. It starts off with a sandy trail (Pajero 1 got stuck 3 minutes in). My Tyre gauge gave me the wrong reading before we left and I also got stuck soon afterwards due to been to hard. I dropped my pressure to 0.8 and “Voila!”. The rest was a piece of cake with nice soft sand, twists and turns through the burms and a few mini dune climbs with a few 4x4’s getting stuck.