Trail Gradings

Thread: Trail Gradings

Default Trail Gradings

Most outings; whether organised by a club; or 'socially' on this forum etc will have some sort of grading. Trail Gradings normally go according to the 5 grades below:

1. Complete novice soft dirt road trail, no low range required. Suitable for softroaders with good ground-clearance.

2. Limited low range required but suitable for the novice driver. Suitable for most 4x4's with certain trails not suitable for softroaders.

3. Low range and limited off road knowledge required. Suitable for all 4x4's with good ground-clearance.

4. A low range technical trail suitable for the experienced. The inexperienced will be able to do the trail, as assistance will be available from the more experienced members. Suitable for all 4x4's with good ground-clearance.

5. Extremely technical, suitable for the experienced only with the possibility of vehicle damage. Only suitable for 'bush-ready' 4x4's.

I've tweaked it a bit, but you get the message.

It goes without saying that proper recovery points and basic gear is a requirement for all trails - unless otherwise stated.

Mods, could you please make this one a sticky?

Opinions welcome...
    Last edited by Maml; 2009/08/05 at 05:03 PM. Reason: grrr. format error
    Mike

Default Grading

Hi black 90,

Havent met you but have heard a lot about you, been on the dirt a bit with Pierre and ColinD lately.

Gradings are difficult, one has to be so objective, and is surely based on the graders experience/capabilities.

It requires somebody with great all round experience to make a call on a particular trail.

So here goes.

I know you have been to Gwahumge so would you agree that.

Most of the track is Grade 1, with some Grade 2 sections.

Sani Pass section is Grade 3.

The steep decent to the river/cave has a Grade 4 decline.

At my level of experience, this is the way that I see it.

Any coments.

Hope to see you on a trail soon

Cheers
    Fluffy