Advice needed - is it possible to combine maps?





Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kloof, KZN
    Age
    68
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1

    Default Advice needed - is it possible to combine maps?

    Help please! I have a Nuvi 760 and use Mapsource on the PC. I have been using the Southern Africa maps and recently bought the East Africa map. Is it possible to combine the two maps so that I can plan seamlessly on Mapsource instead of having to switch maps when I cross the map boundaries? I have looked at the FAQ's but could not find the answer there.

  2. #2
    4ePajero Guest

    Default

    As far as I know, this cannot be done with the standard maps and Garmin products.
    The problem lies not in the graphics but in the database that sits embedded in the file(s).

    3rd party software might accomplish this, but that is another subject

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kloof, KZN
    Age
    68
    Posts
    24
    Thanked: 1

    Default

    Thanks for the reply -pity there is no solution!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Springs
    Age
    60
    Posts
    16,729
    Thanked: 281

    Default

    give Kevin Bolton a call
    he is the Garmin fundi
    if anyone will be able to assist he will
    0825643639 or e-mail on [email protected]
    www.boltonsgps.co.za

    Land Rovers never die, they simply become organ donors!

  5. #5
    4ePajero Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by landyluvver View Post
    give Kevin Bolton a call
    he is the Garmin fundi
    if anyone will be able to assist he will
    0825643639 or e-mail on [email protected]
    www.boltonsgps.co.za
    I'd like to have the info, if Kevin gives any other answer than what was posted here!


    This issue has been discussed many times, not only here, but also on eg the Garmap forum.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pretoria-East
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanked: 108

    Default

    Yes, it is possible to combine the maps. First open the SA Streetmaps in Mapsource, then select the map tiles you want from it using the Map Tool. Then, select the East Africa Map using the Open Product function (drop-down list in the Product Name display bar), and select the map tiles you want from that mapset.

    The Maps tab on the left should then show you the selected map tiles from both mapsets.

    You can then transfer the combined mapset to your GPSr using the "Send to Device" function.

    After transfer has successfully happened, you can check that both mapsets are there by using the spanner/settings/map settings function on your GPSr.
    - Nothing comes at a higher price than that which is free.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pretoria-East
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanked: 108

    Default

    All of the above assumes that you have sufficient storage space on your GPSr for the combined mapset. Mapsource will show you the storage capacity required in the Maps tab on the left after you have selected all the map tiles from the mapsets you want on your GPSr.
    - Nothing comes at a higher price than that which is free.

  8. #8
    4ePajero Guest

    Default

    Mmmm!

    I think there is confusion here about the definition of "combining".

    There are two possible interpretations:

    1. Having different mapsets loaded on the GPS.
      This is possible, and choosing the required one is made on the GPS ('switching maps')
    2. Superimposing map sets (one on top of the other, or one adjacent to the other). This is (AFAIK) not possible on standard map sets and using Garmin GPSrs.


    From Paolo's original enquiry I presumed he was asking about item 2. above:

    Is it possible to combine the two maps so that I can plan seamlessly on Mapsource instead of having to switch maps when I cross the map boundaries?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pretoria-East
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,251
    Thanked: 108

    Default

    Looks like I misunderstood the OP. Item 2 is not possible on a single Mapsource instance.

    The best alternative is to open two instances of Mapsource, and to view the respective mapsets on each instance side by side. Seamless route planning will still not be possible
    Last edited by Blue Shirt; 2009/08/03 at 01:32 PM.
    - Nothing comes at a higher price than that which is free.

Similar Threads

  1. Kafue - advice needed
    By JPL in forum Zambia
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008/07/27, 02:57 PM
  2. Advice needed - F250 '79
    By Mussie in forum Ford & Mazda
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008/02/24, 12:13 PM
  3. GPS advice needed
    By bolander in forum GPS & Mapping
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2008/01/29, 04:30 PM
  4. Help or Advice needed concerning Cubcab
    By Wenwe in forum Mitsubishi
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007/12/06, 10:14 AM
  5. Leo or Conquest s - some advice needed?
    By Wiv in forum Camping, Fridges, Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2007/09/02, 10:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •