View Poll Results: Will you participate in this?

Voters
104. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

72 69.23%
  • No

4 3.85%
  • Maybe once I have more info

28 26.92%
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Default Re: Would you want a very low cost weather station?

Quote Originally Posted by Bushed View Post
    I would be interested in something like this. I currently run a weather station for my business, but probably more basic than this one. The question in rural areas is "what is stable internet?". I use a combination of satellite and 4G. 4G works well when no load shedding and weather is good. Satellite works irrespective of loadshedding but does not work well during storms, but has a high latency. Once starlink is here this will improve and I will work predominatly satelite.
    I have an inverter which runs at the end of a long length of Cat5 cable to give me readings on solar power generated, battery power left etc. Often disconnects, but the data sent to the app is fine. I suspect that even long latency of close to a second will be fine for the low bandwidth this will demand. I would suggest stable means you have a bit of bandwidth at least every 3 to 4 minutes!

I have tried searching on the website about where to apply for the "free"** station option but I cannot seem to find it.
    Any contact details about who to get in touch with?
    Current - 2020 Hilux 2.8 GD-6 Double cab Legend 50
    Ex - 2016 Hilux 2.8 GD-6 Double cab
    Ex - 2014 Hilux 3.0 D4-D Xtracab

@Kortpad_Hilux

Interested
    2024 Ford Ranger Wildtrak V6
    2011 VW Tiguan (Track and field)
    BL 1390 Baobab4

2023 Ford Everest Wildtrak V6 - SOLD
    2017 VW T6 Caravelle (4motion) - SOLD
    2016 VW Kombi - SOLD

Quote Originally Posted by coetzer94 View Post
    I have tried searching on the website about where to apply for the "free"** station option but I cannot seem to find it.
    Any contact details about who to get in touch with?
    I think you misread the post, I do not think there is a free offer on the website, BUT the "member" contact of Dirk is offering this option.
    As I understand the post.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Fred56 For This Useful Post:

I'd like one on the farm - between Heilbron and Petrus Steyn.
    Everything is a hammer.
    Unless it is a screw driver.

Then it it a chisel.

083 399 2046

YES I would be interested in principle. Final decision dependent on receiving detailed specs on installation requirements, and costs.

Quote Originally Posted by Dirk View Post
    I am posting this on behalf of a member, future offers will depend on the outcome of the poll. Please respect the poll and the thread, it is not to debate the merits of the system, that time will come later, this is purely to see the level of interest.

I will not comment on the project, but if there are questions about the station I can answer it as I have one running for the past 2 weeks at home.

Dirk

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Would a weather station at home interest you, specially if it comes at a very low cost?
    Please indicate in the poll, this thread is not an offer, but to see the level of interest.

A fellow member can offer you a "free" weather station, with some strings attached, for example you must have a suitable mounting point and have stable Internet etc.

There are two ways to participate in the weather network being built by WeatherXM on offer.

1.⁠ ⁠Purchase a weather station (about R7000), and claim the rewards. The pay back period is estimated to be around 10-12 months, and after this you will make a profit.
    2.⁠ ⁠Accept the offer of a "free" weather station, you will receive the equipment for free with the understanding that you are responsible for
    1. the fitment of it (and supplying a pole + brackets) and
    2. supply of 8x AA non rechargeable batteries,
    3. and any rewards associated with your station will not be available to you.
    4. linking up your wifi model to a stable internet connection, but if you are in a LoraWan coverage area and have the right model then you do not need to supply Internet either.

What is WeatherXM (from their site)
    WeatherXM is a community powered weather network, that rewards weather station owners with $WXM tokens and provides accurate weather services to individuals, businesses and research organizations.

Read more here for information on the worldwide project:
    https://blog.weatherxm.com/2-270-wea...h-0532a356e9ae

Quote Originally Posted by Uys View Post
    I'd like one on the farm - between Heilbron and Petrus Steyn.
    Same, would be lekker to login and see real-time updates and not be dependent on labour for updates
    Current - 2020 Hilux 2.8 GD-6 Double cab Legend 50
    Ex - 2016 Hilux 2.8 GD-6 Double cab
    Ex - 2014 Hilux 3.0 D4-D Xtracab

@Kortpad_Hilux

I've ordered one, paid outright, and it should be delivered tomorrow.
    Will give some feedback once we have it installed.
    Justus Immelman

2001 Range Rover P38

10. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Oom_Paul For This Useful Post:

Please add me to the list, weather info here on the West Coast is pretty scare and spotty.
    George

2011 Toyota Xtra Cab 3.0 D4D 4x4 MT

I will hand this thread over this week still and step out, as said, it was only to to gauge interest.

The one I have is working well, and being tested properly today with 70mm rain already measured!

Would also be interested. Located in Richards bay.

Quote Originally Posted by Dirk View Post
    I will hand this thread over this week still and step out, as said, it was only to to gauge interest.

The one I have is working well, and being tested properly today with 70mm rain already measured!
    I would be interested, but not in SA
    Frik Eloff
    Isuzu 300tdi D-teq, reg vir die bos....
    Toyota Tuna 2.7 4x4 .... grudge necessity "not my choice"

Depending on the devil and the details, I'll be interested.

Just thinking of mounting locations, the first unobstructed spot I can think of is on top of my tank stand, there is already a 50mm pole, it will sit around 10m high and clear the tanks by at least 2m, so I'm not sure if that will be too high for them and how accurate temperature and rain data will be vs closer to the ground.
    Only snag, there isn't currently wifi coverage out there so I'll have to extend the range, pretty ironic since the antenna for my internet is on that pole.
    Last edited by bigboy529; 2024/10/22 at 04:08 PM.
    Before you judge a person, first walk a mile in their shoes.

Ok I am interested too.
    Safe Diving - Andy

2013 Isuzu KB6 300 DC 4X4

http://www.flickr.com/photos/andrews_underwater_images/

Any updates on this?
    Before you judge a person, first walk a mile in their shoes.

18. The Following User Says Thank You to bigboy529 For This Useful Post:

Yes within the next day or so, then I will step out of the thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Oom_Paul View Post
    I've ordered one, paid outright, and it should be delivered tomorrow.
    Will give some feedback once we have it installed.

Waar?
    Wat?
    Hoeveel?
    Everything is a hammer.
    Unless it is a screw driver.

Then it it a chisel.

083 399 2046

Excited to participate, let me know how

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3