Default Powerbank for cellphone

Which powerbank for cellphone would you recommend…

Thank you

Toyota D4D Legend 45
    Toyota 2.4GD6 Auto Extended Cab
    Bushlapa Vlooi 652

Default Re: Powerbank for cellphone

Romoss, I have a couple that perform perfectly. Allows for fast charging, robust and reliable.

Skip the cheap and nasty powerbanks.
    Anton Muller

Nothing upsets me more than vegetarians having pudding
    2024 X5 M60i
    2020 X3 M40i
    Birkin SR20VET race car

3. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to mullerza For This Useful Post:

I had a Romoss.
    It worked well until it one day swelled up, lost it's smoke and died.
    It could charge and discharge at the same time - the cheapy replacement could not, which is a negative.
    The cheapy did not last long.
    2003 Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-d LWB

5. The Following User Says Thank You to 4ePajero For This Useful Post:

I coughed up and bought an original Samsung. Worth the money. A word of caution, not all cables care made equal.

7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PaulWW For This Useful Post:

Romoss 30000, amazing capacity but see it’s buldging after about ~4 years so time for replacement.

9. The Following User Says Thank You to bees For This Useful Post:

Best power bank I ever had was a Red-E, they are very expensive though, still worked well after 5 years, then got stolen with a laptop.
    I currently have a Romoss 20000ma I think, I don't use it a lot since I mostly plug my phone in to my laptop when I need to charge on the move.
    Before you judge a person, first walk a mile in their shoes.

What cellphone and how many charges your need?

You can get things that csn just top up 30% for emergency, Charge once, charge 4x times or charge you phone a DNA laptop for 2 days. Depending on what your are charging.
    "K.a.k Wheeler"

I'm a moron, but humour me.

GWM P Series 4x4 Limited
    (4x4) Ex 2019 Ranger DC XLT Manual + 2017 XL Auto, Haval H9
    Ex 320d E90, Maz MPS 2.3 DISI, CITI Golf MKI,
    Ford Anglia 307E in British racing green, my first car ❤

Iphone and Triggercam on rifle

Toyota D4D Legend 45
    Toyota 2.4GD6 Auto Extended Cab
    Bushlapa Vlooi 652

Have had a few, Romoss lasted the best. Still have 3, one about to hit the recycling as it's started to bulge.

14. The Following User Says Thank You to Gungets Tuft For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Kaptein Jack View Post
    Iphone and Triggercam on rifle
    I only know Romoss and recommend them after trying a few brands over the years.

I had a Romoss 2600 mAh. It worked but the stress I put on it, it didnt last. Its a bit small for todays stuff. The current average phone batter is like 4000* mAh. fixed
    A Romoss 5000mAh will keep your phone and trigger cam charged once, maybe. I keep it in my day bag just in case.
    If you want to go bigger, a Romoss 30 000mAh Sense 8+ (There are different versions, you want the plus quick charge, if you are carrying this monstrosity) Will probably charge your stuff about 4x times
    And then if you have the bakkie with you, a : Romoss 60000mAh (222Wh) Basically charges your phone and cam for a few weeks. It is a brick though.
    Last edited by PsyPhin; 2024/05/27 at 08:46 AM.
    "K.a.k Wheeler"

I'm a moron, but humour me.

GWM P Series 4x4 Limited
    (4x4) Ex 2019 Ranger DC XLT Manual + 2017 XL Auto, Haval H9
    Ex 320d E90, Maz MPS 2.3 DISI, CITI Golf MKI,
    Ford Anglia 307E in British racing green, my first car ❤

16. The Following User Says Thank You to PsyPhin For This Useful Post:

Romoss is the brand to go for. My 30000Mah has been going since 2020. It still works and does duty at home during loadshedding.

I then bought a 60000Mah that i take with me everywhere and that is still as good as new. Can get around 12 full charges out of it. But its a bit to big to carry around with you especially if you don't have a backpack or laptop bag to put it in.

You get the fast charging versions of both and a good cable is equally as important.

Id go for the 30000Mah again if the 60000Mah dies someday.

The 60000Mah also takes about 18 hours to fully charge on a fast charger
    1996 Land Rover Discovery 1 -VW Tdi Swap in Progress
    2000 Land Rover Discovery 2 V8
    2005 Land Rover Discovery 3 V8
    2012 Land Rover Discovery 4 V8
    2010 Range Rover Sport SC 5.0 V8
    1967 Land Rover Series 2A 4.0 V8
    196? Land Rover Series 2 V8 100"

Ex.
    Discovery 1:TDI and a V8. 2x Discovery 2 V8. 2X Discovery 3 TDV6. Freelander 2 TD4, 2X C350 CDI's, Subaru Forester XT and a Volvo V60 T6

18. The Following User Says Thank You to JeandreDiedericks For This Useful Post:

My wife borrowed my Romoss 30000 on a trip to america and always got stopped at security. Her phone never went flat though but she compained it weighed a lot in her handbag, alrhough I'd like to argue there is a lot of unnecessry stuff weighing a lot more in a womans handbag. But I believe in those. Charge them once, use them long time. Just be warned flying with the 30000 might be a slight hassle.
    Wimpie Nel

GOF Club

Had mine taken away while traveling through Beijings Airport. I had a smallish 10 000 mAh power bank, which at absolute most , if its a 5 volt pack (most are 3,7v), equates to 50 watt hours.
    The limit according to IATA's table 2,3A (see pic) is 160WH.

The reason it was taken away? It's only specified in mAh's not WH's.

It's a simple conversion. Wh = mAh x V / 1000

No amount of attempted reasoning worked. Even with the stripes on the shoulders.
    The pile of confiscated power banks was ever growing.
    I would have to buy another.
    Where are most power banks made? China.

So if you want to travel with a power bank (in China at least), make sure its specified in WH. If not, leave it at home or print a sticker after doing the the conversion. Oh and Don't put it in your checked-in luggage. Trust me, you can't afford it if they make you pay for the cost of a diversion should it catch fire in the hold.
    Oh, And you also don't really want to be on board an aeroplane with a lithium fire burning.

Name:	Screenshot_20240526_191809_Samsung Notes.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	233.1 KB 
ID:	723074  

21. The Following User Says Thank You to shady For This Useful Post:

I use Romoss, Anker and Red-E, never had a problem.

Size will depend on your intended use.

As mentioned, the cable makes a big difference. a Good but short cable gives the best transfer.

Also keep in mind that it will not output the full capacity, only about 70 - 90% depending on the quality of the power bank.
    2013 Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D4D 4x4 Auto
    ZS6DCP

I've purchased 3 x Red-E's in my life .... 2 x 20 000 and 1 x 10 000 - the 2 bigger one's ballooned after roughly 2 years of use, the smaller one still works fine, granted it is used maybe once a month, if that much.