The only downside of this configuration is that it is boring. You can only view the fire through the small window. Like going back to having one of those small TVs like my gran had in her kitchen on top of the fridge.
Smoked some cheap "smoked" russians while I was waiting fir the wood to burn out. Then braaied some Boerewors that came all the way from the Northern Cape. First time I have used this thing as an open braai.
Also tried to make pizza, but not fancy pizza, just something that resembles pizza.
I use the same dough that I make for roosterkoek, then put flour on the pan to prevent it from sticking.
The braai did ok, but it obviously loses a lot of heat by radiation. It also needs to be fed a diet of small pieces of wood to keep the flame going. And a small amount of coals under the pan to make the base crispy.
It worked, sort of, but because it was so very cold outside, I had to run between the kitchen and the braai and manage all these things and sometimes the wood would burn out. I also had to rotate the pan every now and then meaning that the "oven" would cool down, but luckily it would get its heat back fairly quick.
I think that with better planning, and doing this all on the stoep, it could make for a very lekker kuier. And I also need to manage my fire better.
I've tried to use the braai as a smoker, but I think I need to learn more about wood. I just know the knoppies doring makes too much smoke. But as a braaier, what I made this braai for, it works great.
Braaied some (terrible) patties today, but the braai did a good job (in smoking out everyone in the compleks next door).
And after taking the meat off the grill, I closed the doors to turn the wood into charcole to use later in my Riaan van Wyk inspired brick braai.
I tried whole chicken last Sunday, but it wasn't great. I wasn't ready for it and wasn't really prepared. Anyway, that is my excuse and I am sticking with it.
I prefer chicken pieces, and just stick to a simple mixed spice and like to spice the ckicken an hour or so before putting on the braai. I also make a shallow cut on the skin side to add some more flavour.
Made a small'ish fire and and let it burn to make lots of coals and only have two pieces left that were burning without smoke. The put the chicken and closed the lid.
Chicken was done in just over one hour, which tells me this braai, as an oven, should be close to 180deg C because that is how long I would have had it in the actual oven. Actually, maybe this braai is hotter. So maybe not ideal for slow cooking. Unless maybe I make a separate fire and just feed this with coals. Maybe, just maybe, an offset smoker would have helped...
Anyway, it is fun to play and even better to eat something you made yourself.