Default Golden Gate Camping - Updates ?

Thinking of visiting in the next while - camping at Glen Reenen.
    Any recent reports on conditions, roads, activities, nearby places of interest etc.?
    I know the area reasonably well but from very many years back.
    Looking for up to date info.
    Used to assist the Honorary rangers at the park over Xmas / New year seasons waaay back. (Unofficially).
    I was not a qualified ranger myself, but a regular visitor at the time when my girls were still very young and so was I. (Eish?).

Did trails (sometimes even with one of the daughters sitting on my back / neck) in those mountains that may not even be accessible anymore ....
    Anyone remember Cathedral Cave? A magic place indeed but a goodly walk / hike to get there ...

Anyway back OT: Any Update on conditions there, etc.?
    Last edited by Peter1949; 2024/01/13 at 12:36 PM.
    Peter Hutchison
    Answering the call of the wild is just so much better than answering the mobile.
    Waking up in the morning is a good start. Then remember never ever to cross off the last item on your "bucket list" before first adding at least one more !!

Isuzu KB 280DT D/C 1998 (WIP) Heading for 500 000 Km shortly.
    Platkar = 2010 Chevy Spark 1.2 (60 000 Km in 13+ years - town kar)

Default Re: Golden Gate Camping - Updates ?

Quote Originally Posted by Peter1949 View Post
    Thinking of visiting in the next while - camping at Glen Reenen.
    Any recent reports on conditions, roads, activities, nearby places of interest etc.?
    I know the area reasonably well but from very many years back.
    Looking for up to date info.
    Used to assist the Honorary rangers at the park over Xmas / New year seasons waaay back. (Unofficially).
    I was not a qualified ranger myself, but a regular visitor at the time when my girls were still very young and so was I. (Eish?).

Did trails (sometimes even with one of the daughters sitting on my back / neck) in those mountains that may not even be accessible anymore ....
    Anyone remember Cathedral Cave? A magic place indeed but a goodly walk / hike to get there ...

Anyway back OT: Any Update on conditions there, etc.?
    Also interested. We're planning a road trip to the eastern and western Cape, the first stop is planned as Golden Gate. There is nothing on iOverlander but quite a few reviews on Google Maps. They're a mixed bag, some glowing, some say it's a hellhole or noise, day visitors, inattentive staff. No review later than about 8 months ago. Seems the facilities themselves were ok, just noise from the road is a PITA.

I can't find anything suitable between Durban and Mountain Zebra, so ideas in that regard would be welcome.

I honestly love Golden Gate. Did my first school camp there when I was about 11, later in std. 6 (grade 8) my first real weekend hike was the Ribbok trail.

I have camped at Glen Reenen before, but honestly: despite the lovely views and the beautiful surroundings, the road is a major thoroughfare and everything and anything from taxis to fuel tankers use it. Very noisy, very irritating. I don't recommend it.
    ZS6VL

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to An3s For This Useful Post:

We did an overnight on our way home over December.
    We arrived late in the day, and left early the next morning, so can't comment on the surroundings.

Only after finishing setting up camp, did the clowns park in the adjacent stand tell us that we'd set up in what was going to be a river when it started raining, which it did. (They sat and watched us for an hour and only bothered to say anything after we'd finished).

The ablutions weren't in the greatest shape. None of the stoves in the kitchen were working and all the plug points were melted.
    Urinals were leaking. The solution to which was a bucket underneath, full to the brim.

Not horrible, but overall just a bit neglected. I don't know when last any maintenance and upkeep was done.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to stof-lappie For This Useful Post:

Thumbs up Re: Golden Gate Camping - Updates ?

Quote Originally Posted by stof-lappie View Post
    We did an overnight on our way home over December.
    We arrived late in the day, and left early the next morning, so can't comment on the surroundings.

Only after finishing setting up camp, did the clowns park in the adjacent stand tell us that we'd set up in what was going to be a river when it started raining, which it did. (They sat and watched us for an hour and only bothered to say anything after we'd finished).

The ablutions weren't in the greatest shape. None of the stoves in the kitchen were working and all the plug points were melted.
    Urinals were leaking. The solution to which was a bucket underneath, full to the brim.

Not horrible, but overall just a bit neglected. I don't know when last any maintenance and upkeep was done.
    "Not horrible..."

Flip, you're one tolerant oke.

I'll be giving the place a wide berth, I prefer going to campsites, not concentration camps.

Thanks for the feedback.
    Last edited by Gungets Tuft; 2024/01/13 at 11:44 PM.

8. The Following User Says Thank You to Gungets Tuft For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Gungets Tuft View Post
    "Not horrible..."

Flip, you're one tolerant oke.

I'll be giving the place a wide berth, I prefer going to campsites, not concentration camps.

Thanks for the feedback.
    This was our last stop on a 14 night, 9 stop, round trip, so we did experience some that were outright "horrible".
    That and the fact that it was the last stop, we were all buggered and tolerance was low.
    I was more annoyed with the guys that watched us set up and said nothing until it was too late.

10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stof-lappie For This Useful Post:

Sad to read these bad reports .... maybe it was due to Dec holiday season?
    Anyone have recent experience there outside of school holidays / long weekends?
    Any better?
    Or should I just forget about it?
    The surroundings are so beautiful ......
    Maybe a different option nearby for camping and then visit as a day visitor?
    Peter Hutchison
    Answering the call of the wild is just so much better than answering the mobile.
    Waking up in the morning is a good start. Then remember never ever to cross off the last item on your "bucket list" before first adding at least one more !!

I was there last March on a 6500km road trip and we overnighted at "The Busstop". I'm sure I entered it on iOverlander. Their camping was little up the mountain past the Kiara lodge. Nice grassy camping spots. We had lots of cloud cover but every now and then caught a glimpse of the stunning surroundings.

13. The Following User Says Thank You to jambo For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Gungets Tuft View Post
    Also interested. We're planning a road trip to the eastern and western Cape, the first stop is planned as Golden Gate. There is nothing on iOverlander but quite a few reviews on Google Maps. They're a mixed bag, some glowing, some say it's a hellhole or noise, day visitors, inattentive staff. No review later than about 8 months ago. Seems the facilities themselves were ok, just noise from the road is a PITA.

I can't find anything suitable between Durban and Mountain Zebra, so ideas in that regard would be welcome.
    Have a look at Don Don River Mill Lodge - they do have camping - according to their website - https://rivermilllodge.co.za/

Quote Originally Posted by Peter1949 View Post
    Sad to read these bad reports .... maybe it was due to Dec holiday season?
    Anyone have recent experience there outside of school holidays / long weekends?
    Any better?
    Or should I just forget about it?
    The surroundings are so beautiful ......
    Maybe a different option nearby for camping and then visit as a day visitor?
    I'm sure if you google camping in the Clarens / Golden Gate area you'll have multiple options to choose from

Rather try https://oldmilldrift.co.za as an alternative. You can wild camp anywhere on the farm if you choose
    Last edited by warrenpfo; 2024/01/19 at 02:41 PM.

It is a pity.

You do have some other options.
    Bergwoning is just outside the park, right near Kiara.
    Old Mill Drift as suggested above - absolutely beautiful but it needs high clearance to get to.
    Then there’s a new camp starting up near Sunnyside Farm. Very rustic, almost wild camping. Bathrooms are there but you must be self sufficient.

All of them are lovely.

18. The Following User Says Thank You to Mike Greeff For This Useful Post:

Contrary to some recent reports on the forum the camp was quiet and thr ablutions clean and in full working order as eas the kitchen aeria with two plate electric stove. Plenty hot water
    Staff friendly and welcoming. Camp almost to myself.
    And no, the museum complex completed a couple years back has never and is still not open to the public.
    You cannot even ealk around the ground there - locked gate.
    Staff have no idea when it will be opened.

I travelled on Sunday morning leaving home about 8 am and got to Golden Gate about 1 pm.
    The road was quiet, a few potholes but not too bad, I took the backroad via Baphutachaba (spelling?) Instead of the indicated route via Kestel so picked up a couple of short deviations where the road had been totally washed away but nothing zerious.
    The Sterkfontein dam looks to be pretty much full and the scenery is magnificent.
    Last edited by Peter1949; 2024/01/24 at 12:53 PM.
    Peter Hutchison

20. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Peter1949 For This Useful Post:

My wife and I spent 5 nights from 15 January
    We went up from Kloof via Van Reenen pass
    Glen Reenen campsite was spotless
    Maintenance staff there every day changing doors in the ablution block
    All the hiking trails (holkrans,Mushroom rock,echo ravine and Boskloof) were cut and maintained
    Wodehouse grass long but team with brush cutters were busy on our last day
    Then went to Monks Cowl via Oliviershoek pass
    1 section approx 60 M detour on rough dirt road
    Monks Cowl campsite also clean and well maintained
    Last edited by richarda; 2024/01/24 at 01:31 PM.
    Ford Ranger Supercab 3.2 auto 4 x 4.. Jurgens Penta
    Stofpad sump and gearbox guard,ironman snorkel
    Mazda MX5 _ sold after 5 happy years
    Polo 2.0 wifes car sold --- now Chery Tiggo Pro SE
    Retired

22. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to richarda For This Useful Post:

Yes, suspect that the adverse reports may have come from the height of the holiday season when the place gets totally overun by day visitors and the traffic is heavy on the road as well
    I must say that so far everything is up to parks board standards.
    I will leave here on Friday morning but will return via N3 due to other commitments at home
    Peter Hutchison

Fourth attempt, some pics

Name:	IMG-20240124-WA0003.jpg 
Views:	122 
Size:	176.5 KB 
ID:	711066   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20240124_143707.jpg 
Views:	129 
Size:	468.6 KB 
ID:	711067   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20240124_143620.jpg 
Views:	131 
Size:	718.0 KB 
ID:	711068   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20240124_143616.jpg 
Views:	120 
Size:	773.9 KB 
ID:	711069  
    Last edited by Peter1949; 2024/01/24 at 03:15 PM.
    Peter Hutchison

25. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Peter1949 For This Useful Post:

OK, having now sussed out how to get pics from my tablet to my PC, here are a few more showing the general campsite and some views around the area.

(I do not take pics inside ablution blocks!!) However I can assure you that all facilities, on the men's side anyway, were in good and clean working order and were attended to daily.
    Kitchen area was clean and electric two plate stoves in working order.
    Did not notice any instant hot water units though.
    The grass was kept trimmed and the refuse bins emptied daily. Shop, reception, parking areas, fuel station were all neat and clean.
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    They have a backup generator some distance from the camp which runs during load shedding.
    I spent 5 days there Sun - leaving on Fri - enough time to get a good sense of maintenance activities etc.

Caveat: I do NOT suggest visiting there during the festive season or any long weekend since the staff simply cannot cope with the hoards that arrive as day visitors and take over the campsite as well. Not on this occasion of course but I know from past experience there.

Name:	Basic camp setup.jpg 
Views:	113 
Size:	718.0 KB 
ID:	711560   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Campsite.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	555.4 KB 
ID:	711561   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Campground condition.jpg 
Views:	114 
Size:	464.1 KB 
ID:	711562   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mushroom rocks view.jpg 
Views:	114 
Size:	359.6 KB 
ID:	711563   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Early morning Brandwag Buttress View from campsite.jpg 
Views:	112 
Size:	513.3 KB 
ID:	711564   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Early morning sun on mountainside neas Boskloof.jpg 
Size:	368.3 KB 
ID:	711565   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	After the thunderstorm.jpg 
Views:	112 
Size:	532.6 KB 
ID:	711566   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Small stream just below my campsite.jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	894.2 KB 
ID:	711567  

Name:	Stream looking other way.jpg 
Size:	778.4 KB 
ID:	711568   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Shop_Reception_Fuel Station area.jpg 
Views:	109 
Size:	388.0 KB 
ID:	711569  
    Peter Hutchison

27. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Peter1949 For This Useful Post: