Default Event Horizon Star Party at Leeuwenboschfontein Guest Farm

EVENT HORIZON STAR PARTY: LEEUWENBOSCHFONTEIN OBSERVATORY
    16 TO 19 FEBRUARY 2023

Join us at the Leeuwenboschfontein Guest Farm for a relaxed but focused STAR PARTY.
    No matter what your level of astronomy-knowledge, there’s something for everyone. Bring your kids, bring your friends. No equipment required, but you are welcome to bring your own telescope. Bring binoculars – very useful they are!

On the Farm we have an open-air observatory site, grassed open spaces with state-of-the-art telescopes and experts on hand to help you observe and share experiences. Some Astro-imaging nuts will bring their own stuff to take advantage of the dark sky (Bortle 2) and very minimal light pollution.
    Don’t wait – book now. Leeuwenboschfontein Guest Farm offers a variety of accommodation options. From luxury, lavishness to beautiful campsite plots.

When: 16 to 19 February 2023 (or just Friday and/or Saturday)

Where: Leeuwenboschfontein Guest farm and Observatory. Less than 200km from Cape Town: 33° 34’ 00” South / 19° 59’ 08” East

Bookings: Accommodation must be booked through the farm and paid directly to the farm.
    · +27 23 004 1307 (Mondays 9am - Fridays 5pm)
    · https://www.leeuwenboschfontein.co.za
    · Email - [email protected]
    50% discount for the weeknights on the houses if you stay for the weekend.

Event Horizon Cost: R200 per family for the Star Party and must be paid into the LBF Observatory account.
    · Willem Brazelle
    · ABSA Savings: 9169902108
    · Branch – Santyger (632005)
    · POP with your name and EVH to [email protected]

Program: The formal program runs from 17 to 19 February 2023 but we encourage you to come from the 16th to spend some private stargazing time under a Bortle 2 sky. Astrophotographers are encouraged to setup at the observatory were their devices that generate light will not interfere with regular observers. Please note that all activities, unless otherwise stipulated, will be on the main lawn across from the accommodation.

16 February 2023 – Observing on your own
    17 to 19 February 2023 - Formal Event Horizon Programo

Friday 17 February 2023

• 20h00 - Hands-on assistance for beginners
    • 20h30 - Messier / Globular Cluster Marathon starts Astrophotography at the Observatory

o Saturday 18 February 2023
    • 09h00 - Looking for sunspots
    • 10h00 – Cosmology Talk by Dr Peter Dunsby in the shed
    • 15h30 – Astrophotography workshop by Dr Peter Dunsby in the shed.
    • 20h30 - Introduction to the night sky
    • Astrophotography at the Observatory
    • Hands-on assistance for beginners on the lawn at 21h00
    • Continue Messier / Globular Cluster Marathon

o Sunday 19 February 2023- Messier / Globular Cluster / Galaxy / Planetary Nebula Marathon ends.

Strict rules at Leeuwenboschfontein:
    · No pets are allowed on the premises.
    · No lights after astronomical twilight (Only red lights)
    · Braai during the day only please as our telescopes get affected by the deposits in smoke. There will be a communal braai the Saturday afternoon 12h00 in the camp lapa. We will provide the wood.

What to bring along?
    All food, mosquito repellent, sun hat & sun block, chair, properly shielded red torches, warm clothes and a long extension lead if you need power. A battery would be better as we may have loadshedding.

What's available on site?
    · A small tuck shop that sells the very basics. Please have some cash on hand in the event of load shedding.
    · Braai wood.

Please talk to us:

· Marius 079 515 3571 ( Me)
    · John 083 703 0265
    · Eddy 082 335 4851
    · Willem 082 579 7816
    · Leslie 083 308 6787
    · Email: [email protected]

Hope to see you there.
    Last edited by 4WD; 2023/02/05 at 06:35 PM.
    Marius Reitz
    Nissan Xtrail
    Astronomy and Telescopes

• 13.1 inch custom built truss telescope on a dobsonian mount
    • 10 inch Meade SCT on a CGEM mount
    • 8 inch Celestron SCT Powerstar
    • 8 inch Skywatcher reflector on a Celestron CGEM mount
    • 12 inch Orion SkyQuest
    • 5 inch Alter Maksutov Cassegrain on a EQ4 mount
    • 15x70 Celestron Skymaster binoculars on a parallelogram mount

Come visit us at Leeuwenboschfontein Observatory