Moz-Mal trip: comments requested

Default Moz-Mal trip: comments requested

I'm loading my wife and the two kids (13 & 15) in the Cruiser in 2 weeks time for a trip trough Mozambique and Malawi. Returning through Zim as seeming the quickest. I attach an Excel spreadsheet with our itinerary. I fear there are still days with just too ambitious amounts of driving! Nonetheless, I am asking members who have experience in these parts of the world to comment on the feasibility, suggest alternatives and must-see, must-do and must-stay places! Many thanks in advance!

My brother may or may not join us in his short-wheel base 70-series, otherwise we go it alone. We have loads of experience traveling in Africa (I'm an exploration geologist), so i am not too worried and none of the plans will be too fixed either. But it is a large undertaking and being prepared as best possible just makes for less stress.

Andre
    Attached Files Attached Files

Andre,

I can't comment on the Mozambique section of your proposed trip, (last time I went through was in a military convoy), and it would be easier to comment on your Malawi trip if I didn't have the memory of a goldfish........or if I had my trip diary with me.

However, I do remember that a trip to Livingstonia is one of the highlights. There was an informal campsite at the mission at the top of the hill, and some of the local kids will guide you to a waterfall nearby where you can walk behind the fall...........it's really nice. Don't go close and miss this.........there is also the memorable access road with dozens of hairpin bends. Great fun.