Tires
|
If you had a standard 4x4 bakkie with absolutely no accessories on it, apart from a tow hitch ----
What would the first item on your list be to start upgrading the vehicle.
I met some crazy people.... They made me their leader.
2014 Mazda BT-50 - Recently bought. March 2018
2013 Nissan NP300 - Daily workhorse
1993 Ford Courier 2.2... Odometer stopped working just over 530'000 km's. Sold 201369' Series 2 Landi - Old, slow, thirsty. Go anywhere. Stolen in 2010
Tires
Nissan Navara D23 LE Auto 4x4
Nissan Pathfinder 2.5dci 4x4 Manual (Wife's)
1966 Datsun Bluebird
20 Ranger Supercab 2.2 auto XLS 4x4
18 Ranger Double cab Tdci (Swambo)
12 Conqueror courage
YouTube channel: https://youtube.com/channel/UC9NsHwaew1QQwFLuIx38UbQ
Dawie van der Merwe
If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.
A goal without a plan is just a dream.
Trust me... The last thing that I am interested in, is looking cool. Reliability and fit for purpose is my aim.
The vehicle will be used on weekends away camping.
4x4 trails through different game reserves.
And my dream holiday (eventually) will be 3 weeks in the Kalaghadi.
1993 Ford Courier 2.2... Odometer stopped working just over 530'000 km's. Sold 201369' Series 2 Landi - Old, slow, thirsty. Go anywhere. Stolen in 2010
Ok so primarily camping. 4x4 trails in game reserves arent really rough on your vehicle so tyres and suspension is not important. Camping wise I would say canopy first and then fridge with 2nd battery and charging system to suit your needs.
20 Ranger Supercab 2.2 auto XLS 4x4
18 Ranger Double cab Tdci (Swambo)
12 Conqueror courage
YouTube channel: https://youtube.com/channel/UC9NsHwaew1QQwFLuIx38UbQ
Dawie van der Merwe
If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.
A goal without a plan is just a dream.
To be completely honest, your stock bakkie will do those first two points very very easily, even the third point is doable.
I would suggest you start doing those first two items there, and you will very quickly learn what you personally want to change or add.
Dont spend any money yet until youve tested your baseline
Graham Robertson
Nissan Patrol 4.8
I wouldn't do a thing to the bakkie, except to put a canopy on it to keep my stuff a bit more secure,
The money I save by not buying expensive toys, I'll use to go further and stay away for longer. A rooftop tent, new set of tyres, fridge, dual battery, water tank, fuel tank etc, can pay for a trip of a lifetime that can be done just as well with a ground tent, cooler boxes, jerry cans and a single extra spare tyre. But that's just me, and I have done the "buy every piece of kit" thing, so I know.
The scarcest thing is always TIME. Use the money to buy that!
Fuel , and then go and drive it.
Jors Malan
FJ Cruiser
Website https://www.gama4x4trails.com/home
Youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/c/JorsMalan
A tow strap, or two, bow shacles, a tyre pressure gauge and a pump to air up tyres. Make sure you can attach the tow strap to your vehicle.
Current - 2009 Mazda BT50 3.0CRDi 4x4 d/c
Previous - 2005 Ranger 2.5 tdi 4x2 d/c (277 422km)
Alex, from what I understand you've owned this bakkie a while so you know it.
You want to understand what type of mods are needed to do a kgalagadi type trip. The answer is very little on the 4x4 side of things, but some things that will make you more comfortable will be lekker. Things like a canopy, get some ammo boxes for storage of stuff, get a fridge with a 2nd battery (mine is portable so not fitted in the car and I charge it via solar), you will need extra fuel so jerry cans, some chairs, tent you need to decide if you can sleep soundly on the ground with lions and hyena's about else you need to investigate a 2nd hand RTT maybe (fit it on the cab, not ideal for wind but okay), water storage is also a big one (you can get a whole bunch of 5L plastic bottles if you want but be careful what you get for storage because bad corrugated roads easily chafe many plastic containers), tables, kitchen stuff, lights can be portable, etc. You get the idea.
I've been lucky to have toured quite a bit in Southern Africa with my family. Its all been done with unmodified vehicles for years. Yes we have roof-racks, and RTT's and all those things, but the cars have been pretty bog standard bar a lift on one or two and some AT tyres. When the time comes we upgrade shocks. Most of these destinations are not as hardcore 4x4 as people make them out to be (tyre pressures and learn your 4x4 system), but having said that the degree of difficulty can vary seasonally. For example, the kgalagadi sand is softest towards the end of the winter dry period in my experience. Then some of the dunes on the Nossob to Mabua can be a bit tough. But in summer when there has been a sprinkling of rain every few days those dunes can be navigated easily in 2wd (not reccomended pls). We just cruised the mabua area in a Duster and it ate it up with absolute ease. Moremi can be hectic in the wet season, but in the dry its a stroll unless you go looking for trouble.
Hope this helps
This describes my outfit (minus battery) and has worked for close to 10 years. I have a waeco cf50 working of a cable from main battery. Perfect when driving long distances. Can do an overnight with the battery attach, but not ideal.
Sadly, since the arrival of kids 7 years ago the cash flow allocated to gadgets dried up. Also forced us to go camping in more civilised places that offer electricity.
I'm looking at adding a battery system for longer stays off grid, that can also help with load shedding at home.
This bakkie is going to be used for both work and leisure time.
Due to my work, a canopy is impractical.
So I was thinking of building my own roof rack skeleton, which will be very useful for work.
I am going to design the roof rack, that I can convert it into a sleeping quarters/ tent.
With an aluminum ladder that slides in & out at the back, directly under the roof rack.
The inside of the load bin, I am going to design in such a way that I will have a fresh water tank, and a diesel tank side by side against the cab window.
Drain plug/ valve at the bottom, and the filler pipe & cap at the top just above the top of the load bin. About 75 litres each.
I am wanting to build my own steel canopy. In sections that can be installed and removed independantly.
The sides complete with doors that latch closed and are sealed tight against rain and dust. Including where the fuel and fresh water inlet pipes are situated.
I have an idea for a fridge that will be mounted on a swing door, just inside the load bin.
Excellent advice.
I have always kept a selection of ropes in my bakkie, and I bought a mini compressor years ago which is slow but works perfectly. It used to plug into the cigarette lighter, but the plug broke - a few times. So I extended the cables by a few metres, and installed crocodile clips and now can connect it directly onto the battery.
When I was in my 20's and drove the most unreliable Isuzu that you can imagine, I took a steel pipe, flattened the ends, installed shackles and sturdy chain, and carried it in the load bin.
It was probably the most useful piece of equipment that I have ever owned.
The equipment in the bakkie always: Air pump with puncher repair kit. A "Cadac Safari Chef" and my Snow master fridge. Fixtures is: Slide rack (full length) DC to DC / solar charger (HcDp system from 2010) 600 wat inverter and 105 amp battery. Led lights and 12v plugs. This is mainly to charge the camera laptop battery's. A 7.5 ton winch with out a steel bumper. (only because I did have one do nothing)
In the cab: Cell phone charging point and extra plug for the GPS. 40lt removable water tank (fit behind the front seats)
I do have recover equipment in a traveling bag.
The Carryboy canopy is replaced with a TUKS canopy. Only I need a solid canopy for the extra spare wheel.
All is done over years of planning.
I'm camp with our Explorer.
Built in water tank is generally a useless piece of equipment unless you are planning a Sahara crossing. Rather use Pioneer plastic jerry cans, 10l or 20l from Makro etc. Good drinking water is available just about everywhere, and you only need extra water if doing a remote CKGR, Kaokoveld, etc trip.
Long range fuel tank? How often - if ever - will you use it? If only for a once-off trip, rather use steel jerry cans.
Tony Weaver
2010 Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 3.2l diesel
Previously
1991 Land Rover 110 Hi-Line 3.5l V8; 1968 2.25l Land Rover SII; 1969 2.6l SIIA; 1973 2.25l SIII
1983 Toyota HiLux 2l 4x4
".. rather use steel jerry cans."
Problem is you have to carry the empty cans all the way back home while you rather need the space.
Tip I was given use 5l water bottles or even 2l coke bottles.
When empty and not required anymore you can dispose of them in a responsible manner in the nearest town.
Lots of guys in rural areas just begging for such containers.
Last edited by Damdan; 2022/05/22 at 07:05 PM.
If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you'll most certainly be right. SJ
1. Decent A/T tyres
2. Canvass seat covers.
3. If you drive a lot at night - decent spots if your standard high beams are not great
4. Proper pressure guage
5. Make sure all airbreathers are routed up high.
Jaco Nell
Range Rover Big Body 5.0 V8 Supercharged
Land Rover Defender 110 CSW Puma
Land Rover Defender 110 V8 Game viewer
Land Rover Defender 100 PU V8
Land Rover Freelander II SD4
Jaguar XJS V12