Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Okahandja, Windhoek
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,208
    Thanked: 1373

    Default Victron Orion DC to DC charger working?

    I bought a 18amp one for my abba camper. Set it up, and its working fine!

    But my question to those that already have it, do I need to do that 4 step setup procedure each time I connecting it to the car battery and the aux battery? The camper battery (aux) is not kept in the camper when the camper is not loaded/used.
    Johan Kriel

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    37
    Posts
    851
    Thanked: 1074

    Default Re: Victron Orion DC to DC charger working?

    To which 4 steps are you referring to?

    When I disconnect my Aux battery I remove the remote on/off wire bridge on the orion, then I remove the fuse at the Aux battery, and then I disconnect the battery itself.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Okahandja, Windhoek
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,208
    Thanked: 1373

    Default Re: Victron Orion DC to DC charger working?

    Quote Originally Posted by MrTolbos View Post
    To which 4 steps are you referring to?
    From the manual:
    4.3. Connection setup for charger mode
    1. Disconnect the remote on/off (remove wire bridge).
    2. Connect the input supply cables.
    3. Open the VictronConnect App to setup the product. (always setup the correct charger algorithm before connecting a battery)
    4. Connect the battery to be charged.
    5. Reconnect the remote on/off to activate the product

    From #3 it seems one have to? , once reconnecting the batteries?
    Last edited by JLK; 2022/05/14 at 08:16 AM.
    Johan Kriel

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Tzaneen
    Age
    60
    Posts
    90
    Thanked: 87

    Default Re: Victron Orion DC to DC charger working?

    I have a cable from crank battery to Orion with a BH plug.
    The aux is LiFePo, so when it is not in use then I just pull the BH plug to avoid overcharge. I just plug in again when needed, all works fine without following those steps.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Craig McK For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Okahandja, Windhoek
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,208
    Thanked: 1373

    Default Re: Victron Orion DC to DC charger working?

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig McK View Post
    I have a cable from crank battery to Orion with a BH plug.
    The aux is LiFePo, so when it is not in use then I just pull the BH plug to avoid overcharge. I just plug in again when needed, all works fine without following those steps.
    So then its a once off thing! Thanks
    Johan Kriel

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •