Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default 14 Days in Kenya - First Time in Africa

Hello,

My husband and I are planning a 13-day trip to Kenya in March 2023. We are experienced overlanders in NA; he's an auto body technician with mechanical skills, and I'm a wildlife biologist. This will be our first trip to Africa! We are planning on renting a Hilux from Road Trip Africa with a rooftop tent. I was hoping for feedback on our itinerary. We really have 7 days with the overland vehicle, and the rest will be at Naboisho Conservancy.

My husband really wanted to see how locals live and wanted to spend time with the Maasai, so we worked in Loita Hills. I really want to avoid crowds and feel immersed in the unique habitats with lots of wildlife viewing. I'm a bit worried that 10 days in the Mara area will feel like too much, but I want to make sure we get a lot of relaxing in, as well. I'm equally worried about feeling like I didn't stay in one spot long enough! We tend to cram a lot of miles into our trips, and sometimes it's nice to sit and soak in a specific area.

However we adjust the schedule, we will end with days at Naboisho. Road Trip Africa will pick up our vehicle at Naboisho and Asilia will arrange our transfer back to Nairobi. There may be the opportunity for volunteer work with the Mara Predator Programme with my background, so I went heavier on the days spent at Naboisho.

I'm wondering if we are spending too much time in the Mara? Should we consider other areas? Should we go to Lake Victoria? I chose early March to avoid crowds, see some greenery, and see some calves. I'm not worried about seeing the migration. Should we consider another time of year? Are we missing something epic that you all would recommend, considering out goals of:

• local experiences
    • lots of wildlife
    • minimal crowds
    • serious relaxing

We are open to all suggestions. Here's my draft idea:

1. NYC to Nairobi
    2. Nairboi, Sheldrick Trust AM & PM (we can go to both sessions)