Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Why the CVT gearbox???

Good Morning

I am a bit worried about future motoring... almost all new vehicles are equipped with CVT gearboxes. I find these gearboxes extremely awful to drive.

Yes, they are okay if you drive with a gentle approach, but as soon as you give it some stick it revs up to the redline and stays there until you lift your foot of the gas.... I am a spirited driver and do not think I will ever be able to adapt to CVT boxes.

What do other members think?

Cheers
    T

Default Re: Why the CVT gearbox???

I sold a vehicle (Mitsu Outlander) within 3 months after buying purely because of the CVT box. It is an awfull piece of rubbish. Other than that it was a great vehicle. The testdrive did not disclose all the shortcomings of the CVT box.
    Last edited by jaconell; 2021/09/24 at 04:43 AM.
    Jaco Nell

If they can be made to last they are the perfect compromise, literally in the right gear all of the time. No interruption in drive (like when pressing the clutch or changing between ratios) and they can offer best of both worlds, stay in the power band when driving hard or in the economy band when cruising. They make the best engineering sense especially now with stricter and stricter emissions rules.

Also, manufacturers build cars for the majority, and the majority will prefer apple carplay and better economy ahead of driver engagement. They also change cars before 100k km...

CVT's are here to stay until they can be replaced by electric drive in one shape or another.

Oh, and by the way, I hate them too! 🙂

'12 Audi Q5 3.0 TDi quattro stock standard

'07 VW Touareg (T2) 3.0 V6 TDi (BKS), Air Suspension, Centre and Rear diff locks, DeCAT, 265-65R17 muds - Sold

'01 Jeep WJ Limited 4.7 V8 with some bits - Sold
    '83 Range Rover Classic 3dr 3.5 V8 Rust bucket - Sold

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Commander For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Swiegie1 View Post
    Good Morning