Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default LEOPARD scare at CKKOR03

I’m a professional traveler and doesn’t get scared easily but DAMN, this time I got really terrified.
    This past Saturday, on our second night, while staying at KORI 03, CKGR. The phone alarm got me up at 05:00. Took 5 minutes to make up bed and was out of the tent.

The first thing I do, is switch on the vehicle side lights to light up camp. Then I put lamps around camp, and this time I had 4 lamps at different locations. Once all lamps are on, now the camp is lit and visibility very clear into the bushes.

The next step is to make fire. So, after making fire, I put up the water boiling bucket on fire stand for face washing and coffee before we head for a drive.Once everything is set, I pulled up the camp chair next to the fire, because it was very cold. Before seating down, I made a round about lighting with a maglight touch and once It was clearly, I settled down, next to fire and relaxed.

Just within a minute of sitting down, over my left shoulder, I see a BIG male leopard passing right from behind me, towards the kitchen table. I would guess, this leopard was almost 2 meters from me. First it lifted it front legs up to examine the tray on the table. At this point I slowly stood up walked in reverse, towards the vehicle.
    To my surprise, he sniffed his way to where I was seated. At this point I was inside the vehicle and believed this leopard clearly saw me and I even believe that, it saw me when I moved away.

From around the fire, it went to the other lamp that was on the far direction and examined if there was anything next to it. Then it disappeared. I only managed to video record from inside the vehicle with my cellphone, the last part when it was sniffing around the lamp, as I was still in shock.
    Earlier this year, there was a discussion about people who feed these animals and put up water for them to drink. Now, this animals don’t fear people at all.
    What really bothers me is: