Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Default Re: Upgrading from Duster, but to what?

Quote Originally Posted by SJN View Post
    100% Started the test drive process today. Did the Cherokee, sat in the Wrangler, going to do the Paj Sport and Fiat Fullback this afternoon. Still want to try the Disco 4 as well as one or two others and see what sits right. You mos only know once you've driven it which one is THE one!
    How did the test drive go today?
    Henk Stols

FJ cruisers and Wrangler JKUR are becoming very scarce sub R400k with relatively low mileage.

My 2c wrt FJ cruiser:

Awesome vehicles, I have owned 3 and regret selling them. Only reason I sold them was because SWAMBO and I decided to have baby and suicide doors weren't ideal for loading babba into and out of car seats etc.

FJ cruiser seriously is one of the best all round packages I have owned. Not the best at anything but right at the top of my list when it comes to complete package.

Jeep Wrangler JKUR:

True trail and lifestyle orientated vehicle. If you like hitting trails, going topless and pushing the limits of 4x4 capabilities very little will compete with a JKUR. Great club with awesome enthusiasts. Not the most practical or comfortable overlander but a awesome trail and lifestyle vehicle. Having owned 3.8's and 3.6 JK and JKU I would recommend a 3.6 JKUR. Try avoiding 3.8's, SWB and Sahara spec when looking at Wranglers.

In reality all vehicles are a compromise of some sort. Pickup vs SUV. Petrol vs Diesel. Weekend trailer vs Overlander. As mentioned before on this thread, first determine the hierarchy of your needs & wants properly and match them accordingly.

PS. The perfect vehicle does not exist, else we would all be driving it.
    Last edited by Alxrow001; 2021/06/30 at 10:54 PM.
    Rowan Alexander

http://www.fridayavieclub.co.za

3. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Alxrow001 For This Useful Post:

We have established that a Wrangler is too rough and tough for the man. Let's move on.

Quote Originally Posted by Yster1979 View Post
    How did the test drive go today?
    Very lekker, thank you!

Pajero Sport = loved it, but drove an older model. Would like to try the newer ones.
    Prado = Super powerful, but not for me. Feels too much like a small tractor.
    Fiat Fullback = pleasantly surprised by this one! Bt underpowered, but very decent ride!
    Grand Cherokee = Loved this one. Couldn't find one in good condition, but loved the ride!

Going to book the FJ Cruiser, Ranger, JKUR and Fortuner as well.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to SJN For This Useful Post:

Careful now! Have you got any previous experience with addictions?
    2007 Volvo S60
    2012 FJ Cruiser
    1983 FJ60 Landcruiser -sold-

8. The Following User Says Thank You to HugoNotte For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by hugonotte View Post
    careful now! Have you got any previous experience with addictions? ;d
    ;d;d;d;d;d

Grand Cherokee = Loved this one. Couldn't find one in good condition
    Many options...

https://www.gumtree.co.za/s-cars-bak...=300000,400000
    "K.a.k Wheeler

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 CRD - 400 000km and permanent member of the family
    2014 Jeep Wrangler JKU 3.6 - no lift kit and smaller wheels.

Quote Originally Posted by HugoNotte View Post
    Careful now! Have you got any previous experience with addictions?
    Drove the FJ this morning...Juslaaik it is lekker! I do find it a bit rudimentary (the tech junky in me wept). But in terms of driving and the car itself: couldn't fault it!

12. The Following User Says Thank You to SJN For This Useful Post:

Drove the FJ this morning...Juslaaik it is lekker! I do find it a bit rudimentary (the tech junky in me wept). But in terms of driving and the car itself: couldn't fault it!
    Fit a One Nav radio and you can fiddle on that all day.

Owning an FJ and a Wrangler are my two last itches to scratch with 4x4's
    Mike

14. The Following User Says Thank You to AfricainHD For This Useful Post:

What model was it?
    Jors Malan
    Old Wheeler
    Website https://www.gama4x4trails.com/home
    Youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/c/JorsMalan

Very lekker, thank you!

Pajero Sport = loved it, but drove an older model. Would like to try the newer ones.
    Prado = Super powerful, but not for me. Feels too much like a small tractor.
    Fiat Fullback = pleasantly surprised by this one! Bt underpowered, but very decent ride!
    Grand Cherokee = Loved this one. Couldn't find one in good condition, but loved the ride!

If you like the old Pajero Sport, you'll love the newer one (MY17), it's in a different league.

https://www.autotrader.co.za/cars/ne...ero-sport/8014

The 2.4 is a genuinely nice motor and punches well above what the power numbers suggest. The increase in fuel consumption will also not be a shock to the system and you should see around 8-9L/100km on the open road and around 10-12L/100km in tne city.
    Last edited by ChasingSunsets; 2021/07/01 at 12:16 PM. Reason: Added

The Fuel consumtion in the FJ is not as bad as it is made out to be, I matched the consumption of the V6 Amamrok and GD6 Hilux in our group on A trip through the Namib both in the dessert and on the highways there and back. It depends on the weight of your right foot.
    Jors Malan
    Old Wheeler

18. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bex For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Bex View Post
    What model was it?
    2012. This one:

https://www.halfwaytoyota.com/vehicl...icleId-2154403

Quote Originally Posted by Bex View Post
    The Fuel consumtion in the FJ is not as bad as it is made out to be, I matched the consumption of the V6 Amamrok and GD6 Hilux in our group on A trip through the Namib both in the dessert and on the highways there and back. It depends on the weight of your right foot.
    How bad is not bad? Oke at the dealership said you're looking between 15 and 20l/100km?

That sounds right. You will be driving from fuel station to fuel station... lol
    My v6 pajero is doing about 7 to 8km / litre with pretty open road driving daily.
    I can promise it uses lots more as soon as it sees traffic.

Current: Pajero 3500 V6 24v LWB M/T Gen 2.5
    Previous: Pajero 3.2 Did LWB A/T
    Previous: Colt 2.8tdi D/C 4x4 Extreme

One Heart: Land Rover Defender Puma 110, 2 x TD5 110
    http://oneheartint.weebly.com/

Mine is a 2012 as well. With suspension lift and MT tyres or hybrid tyres deflated to 1.7 bar most of the time I get 14 l / 100 km on average. With tyres properly pumped it's 12.5 l / 100 km at 120.

Towing offroad in softish sand I managed to get around 18 l.
    2007 Volvo S60
    2012 FJ Cruiser
    1983 FJ60 Landcruiser -sold-

I get 9 km/L when I drive relaxed, 120 km/h max.
    If I put a bit more speed on , say do 120 - 130 it will drop to about 8.5km/L
    If i do mixed driving, some 4x4 , some dune, some highway, town etc it goes down to 7.5km/L
    In the Namib doing 500km of sand and dunes I got 4.9km/L
    Jors Malan
    Old Wheeler

I can tell you what I did. Went from a new Duster to a Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk (Not the Grand Cherokee)

Reasons:
    The 3.2 Pentastar is the same engine as in the 3.6 Grand Cherokee and Wrangler just slightly detuned.

It is VERY capable, in fact it's the most capable crossover on the market. It has low range, rear diff-lock and a very smart traction control system with selec-speed where you can set the speed for hill ascend and descend a sort of 4x4 cruise control that works brilliantly! Google some videos and you will see what I mean by calling it very capable with some minor modifications.

It's not as bulky as the Grand Cherokee but it's as comfortable and luxurious. It is full of tech.

The best thing about them is that because they are not that popular in SA you can pick them up for very reasonable prices and low mileage. I paid almost R300k below the list price for a brand new one!

Fuel consumption is not too bad for a 200kw v6 4x4. I average between 8-9km/l in mixed driving which is about the same as a diesel Fortuner, Everest and other bakkie based SUV's. I speak from experience having owned, 2 Fortuner's, a Hilux, 2 Navara's, and currently an Everest.

I have also owned a Jeep Wrangler 3.6 SWB, although they are serious fun and I love them, I can describe the ride as quirky and not for everyone. The Cherokee on the other hand is super comfortable, it looks a bit quirky though!

Place this one on your testdrive list, I am sure you will be impressed, just make sure it's the Trailhawk version, normal Cherokees have a similar system to other soft roaders.
    Louis Adendorff
    Mahindra Pickup S6 Double Cab 4x4 Auto (Punjab Cruiser)
    Mahindra Scorpio-N 4Xplor (Mumbai Cruiser)

25. The Following User Says Thank You to Hooly For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Hooly View Post
    I can tell you what I did. Went from a new Duster to a Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk (Not the Grand Cherokee)

Reasons:
    The 3.2 Pentastar is the same engine as in the 3.6 Grand Cherokee and Wrangler just slightly detuned.

It is VERY capable, in fact it's the most capable crossover on the market. It has low range, rear diff-lock and a very smart traction control system with selec-speed where you can set the speed for hill ascend and descend a sort of 4x4 cruise control that works brilliantly! Google some videos and you will see what I mean by calling it very capable with some minor modifications.

It's not as bulky as the Grand Cherokee but it's as comfortable and luxurious. It is full of tech.

The best thing about them is that because they are not that popular in SA you can pick them up for very reasonable prices and low mileage. I paid almost R300k below the list price for a brand new one!

Fuel consumption is not too bad for a 200kw v6 4x4. I average between 8-9km/l in mixed driving which is about the same as a diesel Fortuner, Everest and other bakkie based SUV's. I speak from experience having owned, 2 Fortuner's, a Hilux, 2 Navara's, and currently an Everest.

I have also owned a Jeep Wrangler 3.6 SWB, although they are serious fun and I love them, I can describe the ride as quirky and not for everyone. The Cherokee on the other hand is super comfortable, it looks a bit quirky though!

Place this one on your testdrive list, I am sure you will be impressed, just make sure it's the Trailhawk version, normal Cherokees have a similar system to other soft roaders.
    That is an interesting option. Does the trailhawk have air suspensions? e.g can you increase clearance? How has your experience been wrt service and mechanical issues? What does the trailhawk trim compete with? I can't think of any other unibody SUVs with similar Offroad specs
    Ben S.

"Sometimes when I close my eyes, I am blind"

Quote Originally Posted by Hooly View Post

Reasons:

Added to the list! I LOVE the look of this.

28. The Following User Says Thank You to SJN For This Useful Post:

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast