Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 LastLast

Default Re: Upgrading from Duster, but to what?

Quote Originally Posted by Bex View Post
    A good deal you say, that means you have cash left over for mods .
    Already spent that on AT tyres for the Ranger now But I get the feeling the rest will come!

2. The Following User Says Thank You to SJN For This Useful Post:

Oh geez not an unreliable ranger.......
    Kidding, great choice
    Ranger Wildtrak
    Ex Range Rover Sport 5.0 SC
    Ex R5 Touareg with air and RDL
    Lotus 7 replica racecar.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Hamtheman For This Useful Post:

SJN

Quote Originally Posted by Bex View Post
    A good deal you say, that means you have cash left over for mods .
    Mods or engine replacement?

"K.a.k Wheeler

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 CRD - 400 000km and permanent member of the family
    2014 Jeep Wrangler JKU 3.6 - no lift kit and smaller wheels.

I'll bite my tongue
    Ranger Wildtrak
    Ex Range Rover Sport 5.0 SC
    Ex R5 Touareg with air and RDL
    Lotus 7 replica racecar.

Picking her up today! First things to go are the dreadful stock rims and tyres, but maybe next month

Thanks to everyone for the input and advice. Really appreciate the feedback. What a bunch of lekker okes and vrouks!

Name:	92d3a668-0f4a-464f-8a4a-19fdc9112d98.jpg 
Views:	183 
Size:	164.8 KB 
ID:	622317
    Last edited by SJN; 2021/07/09 at 12:25 PM.

The rims aren't bad looking really. What made you choose the Ranger? Was it purely the deal you got, or?

Quote Originally Posted by SJN View Post
    Picking her up today! First things to go are the dreadful stock rims and tyres, but maybe next month

Thanks to everyone for the input and advice. Really appreciate the feedback. What a bunch of lekker okes and vrouks!

Now 12cm lift, at least 12 raptor stickers, hood scoop, fender flares, raptor grill, vents where space is not occupied by stickers and large BFG Chinese knockoffs. Oh and don't forget the lighbar on the roof. Those are the mods that count.
    Ben S.

"Sometimes when I close my eyes, I am blind"

Quote Originally Posted by Schambies View Post
    Now 12cm lift, at least 12 raptor stickers, hood scoop, fender flares, raptor grill, vents where space is not occupied by stickers and large BFG Chinese knockoffs. Oh and don't forget the lighbar on the roof. Those are the mods that count.
    Something like this? Click image for larger version. 

Name:	images%20(6).jpg 
Views:	152 
Size:	40.3 KB 
ID:	622319
    2021 Ford Ranger 2.2 XLS Auto

11. The Following User Says Thank You to nieljooste For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by nieljooste View Post
    Something like this? Click image for larger version. 

Name:	images%20(6).jpg 
Views:	152 
Size:	40.3 KB 
ID:	622319
    Precisely! Although not enough lift and no lights on the roof
    Ben S.

"Sometimes when I close my eyes, I am blind"

Quote Originally Posted by Morne - Skip View Post
    The rims aren't bad looking really. What made you choose the Ranger? Was it purely the deal you got, or?
    Deal was well..a dealbreaker, but from the get-go it has been top of my list. I did quite a bit of homework, and spoke to a few long-time Ranger owners in the process as well. Overall, I think it fits the bill for what I was looking for. VERY close second was Pajero Sport, then FJ. Between those three, came down to price!

14. The Following User Says Thank You to SJN For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Schambies View Post
    I'll start with the tyres and rims first, then move my way up!

Deal was well..a dealbreaker, but from the get-go it has been top of my list. I did quite a bit of homework, and spoke to a few long-time Ranger owners in the process as well. Overall, I think it fits the bill for what I was looking for. VERY close second was Pajero Sport, then FJ. Between those three, came down to price!
    I have been following this thread quietly but with much interest, did you ever go for a test drive in the newer Pajero Sport 2.4? I'm really interested and would just like to know what your thoughts were.

Congrats on the Ranger though! Wish you happy miles!
    Toyota Fortuner - 2018 - 2.4 GD-6 4x4 Auto
    VW Touareg - 2006 - R5 TDi (SOLD)

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work - Thomas Edison

Oh look! It's Toyota colored!!!

Congrats and enjoy.
    2007 Volvo S60
    2012 FJ Cruiser
    1983 FJ60 Landcruiser -sold-

Congratulations! Lovely looking bakkie. That should get you to all the walking trails you want to experience. To me nothing's beats a double cab bakkie for practicality especially if it's your only car and you like the outdoors. 4x4 with low range just makes it so much safer if the terain starts testing the Dusters limits , (I have no frame of reference for the Duster , I have never driven one) , I feel a lot more confident in my Isuzu than I did in my ,Terios Awd over the same terrain.
    If you are looking at getting a canopy , I would recommend something with lockable access doors on the sides , making it easier to reach items. I dont have one , but have experienced one on a tour in Africa , and it was very convenient to use.
    Enjoy your new ride!

19. The Following User Says Thank You to Rudi Maritz For This Useful Post:

SJN

Congrats on the bakkie, I think you made the right decision as you drove plenty of different vehicles and took what suited your pocket and needs. I recently went thru the same process and also chose a bakkie and the first thing I did was change to slightly wider and higher tyre that where still in tolerance. I was going to get a canopy but for now that will have to wait, but just in case you were wondering the Ledfly alu or steel canopy was very well priced and they actually looked the best compared to the other brands, but looks are obviously objective. Congrats again.
    Henk Stols

21. The Following User Says Thank You to Yster1979 For This Useful Post:

SJN

Quote Originally Posted by Yster1979 View Post
    Congrats on the bakkie, I think you made the right decision as you drove plenty of different vehicles and took what suited your pocket and needs. I recently went thru the same process and also chose a bakkie and the first thing I did was change to slightly wider and higher tyre that where still in tolerance. I was going to get a canopy but for now that will have to wait, but just in case you were wondering the Ledfly alu or steel canopy was very well priced and they actually looked the best compared to the other brands, but looks are obviously objective. Congrats again.
    Thanks! And ja, tyres first on the list, then later either locking cover or canopy. I've got the "soft top" cover at the moment, but not very practical in lovely Joburg

Quote Originally Posted by Rudi Maritz View Post
    Congratulations! Lovely looking bakkie. That should get you to all the walking trails you want to experience. To me nothing's beats a double cab bakkie for practicality especially if it's your only car and you like the outdoors. 4x4 with low range just makes it so much safer if the terain starts testing the Dusters limits , (I have no frame of reference for the Duster , I have never driven one) , I feel a lot more confident in my Isuzu than I did in my ,Terios Awd over the same terrain.
    If you are looking at getting a canopy , I would recommend something with lockable access doors on the sides , making it easier to reach items. I dont have one , but have experienced one on a tour in Africa , and it was very convenient to use.
    Enjoy your new ride!
    Thank you! And ja, 100%! Those little things that the Duster couldn't do should now be a breeze, and there shouldn't be a trail I can't access once I've got the AT's on!

Evening all!

I’ve been driving (and LOVING) my 2015 Duster 4x4 dci for about 5 years now. Recently started getting the itch to upgrade to something more comfortable, and much more capable off road. We’ve been hiking quite a lot (some tricky roads to get to camps) and offroad quite a bit at places like Hennops, but the car will also be my daily runner in and around Sandton.

My budget is around R400k max, ideally closer to R350k.

I’m looking (so far) at the Ranger Wildtrack or XLT, Disco, or Pajero. Also considered the Everest, Isuzu Dmax and Fortuner, but not 100% sold on those.

No kids, so space isn’t a factor! Only things I’m definitely wanting are: Has to be 4x4, has to be automatic, has to have low range+diff lock for the hairier bits, and a fancy touch screen console would be a bonus (I’m a bit of a tech junky). Long term maintenance should also be fairly low (reliable, availability of parts, etc).

Any suggestions on what to look for in this range, and also what kind of mileage is acceptable for a decent price?

Appreciated in advance!

I looked at and drove all the options and settled on the 2L Amarok as the most comfortable and capable of the lot. Highly recommended.

Quote Originally Posted by Rean Meyer View Post
    I have been following this thread quietly but with much interest, did you ever go for a test drive in the newer Pajero Sport 2.4? I'm really interested and would just like to know what your thoughts were.

Congrats on the Ranger though! Wish you happy miles!
    Thank you! I didn’t end up driving the newer one, but overall very impressed with the Paj. It was a very close runner up in my choice, literally only influenced by price in the end. The Paj’s interior and tech was superior to the Ranger’s though. Was very comfortable, and drove like a dream! Don’t think you can go wrong with one. If the older model was so lekker, the newer one will be excellent!

26. The Following User Says Thank You to SJN For This Useful Post:

Evening all!I’ve been driving (and LOVING) my 2015 Duster 4x4 dci for about 5 years now. Recently started getting the itch to upgrade to something more comfortable, and much more capable off road. We’ve been hiking quite a lot (some tricky roads to get to camps) and offroad quite a bit at places like Hennops, but the car will also be my daily runner in and around Sandton. My budget is around R400k max, ideally closer to R350k. I’m looking (so far) at the Ranger Wildtrack or XLT, Disco, or Pajero. Also considered the Everest, Isuzu Dmax and Fortuner, but not 100% sold on those. No kids, so space isn’t a factor! Only things I’m definitely wanting are: Has to be 4x4, has to be automatic, has to have low range+diff lock for the hairier bits, and a fancy touch screen console would be a bonus (I’m a bit of a tech junky). Long term maintenance should also be fairly low (reliable, availability of parts, etc). Fortuner!Any suggestions on what to look for in this range, and also what kind of mileage is acceptable for a decent price?Appreciated in advance!

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 LastLast