Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 32 of 32
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Age
    70
    Posts
    601
    Thanked: 110

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by jcdup View Post
    Could I use a standard sonoff basic R3 to switch the coil of a 220V contactor (something like the Schneider Electric Acti 9 iCT 4 Pole Contactor - 63 A, 230 V ac Coil, 4NO)? to control my geyser?
    Yes. The coil of the contactor draws mA of current so can easily be switched by the R3.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Kempton Park
    Age
    65
    Posts
    277
    Thanked: 30

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Mackay View Post
    Yes. The coil of the contactor draws mA of current so can easily be switched by the R3.
    Thanks Richard

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    64
    Posts
    2,582
    Thanked: 1045

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by W3771M View Post
    I used a 80Amp Solid State Relay
    Attachment 618277
    IMPORTANT With a heatsink
    Attachment 618278
    And a DC Sonoff : https://eiferer.co.za/products/sonof...v-24v-diy-wifi
    Attachment 618276Attachment 618279
    The Sonoff uses a 5V DC power supply.
    The output triggers the Relay.
    Thanks Willem for posting of the solid state switch. The are priced real cheap and it seems one MUST de-rate the current by about 4 due to the heat build up as well as the much lower rating than spec of the Triac used.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    64
    Posts
    2,582
    Thanked: 1045

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Mackay View Post
    Yes. The problem are the transients (voltages and fields) produced when switching heavy loads. (The flash that you see when the contactor operates.)
    These are big electrical spikes that get induced into all wiring in close proximity. It is like lightening on a smaller scale..
    Thanks Richard. On a practice side I have used a Sonoff and relay housed in a remote metal box next to each other next to my 1 geyser that were switching 2 geysers at the same time. This is normally the largest load we will switch in a home. It is in use for 2 years without transient problems.
    In another test I used a AC rated similar relay switching 150V DC with the contacts in series for about 3 weeks with no ill effect. No visible damage to the contacts.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,855
    Thanked: 1027

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    What I have come to notice here, and would love to learn whether this is a common issue amongst members that use these, is that that these CBI Astute Smart controllers are very finicky when it comes to switching their scheduled program times on and off.

    For example, when I don't want the geyser to turn on at 04h00 in the mornings on a weekend because we are not home, I will turn that "switch on at 04h00" setting off.

    Turning it back on for the coming week is of academic value only, as it simply does not activate, even though it shows as on.

    You have to physically remove that scheduled program and re program it in that time slot.

    This is has now happened 4 times and I believe it is a software fault/glitch.

    Since I've had the unit (more than a year now), there had not been a single update to the app.

    Anyone else experiencing this?
    Nico Swart

    Triton 2.5DiD D/C with SS
    ZS6NJS

    One day, or Day One. You decide. Tomorrow is promised for no one!

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hillrise, Kempton Park
    Age
    67
    Posts
    2,442
    Thanked: 2264

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Apology if this is a possible hijack.

    Wherever I ask they offer me single units at exorbitant prices.
    As you can see the top led is off. Current still flowing but does not count anymore.

    Where can I obtain a similar?
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Johan Maree
    Isuzu 300 d-tec
    MB Gwagen G350 Bluetec
    Nissan NP300 2.4 4x4
    Conqueror UEV-25

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    64
    Posts
    2,582
    Thanked: 1045

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by JohanMaree View Post
    Apology if this is a possible hijack.

    Wherever I ask they offer me single units at exorbitant prices.
    As you can see the top led is off. Current still flowing but does not count anymore.

    Where can I obtain a similar?
    Can you use the old style turn meter in a separate enclosure?
    Can a DIN Rail work?
    What price per phase is OK?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Midrand
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,509
    Thanked: 2054

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by Die SwartKat View Post
    What I have come to notice here, and would love to learn whether this is a common issue amongst members that use these, is that that these CBI Astute Smart controllers are very finicky when it comes to switching their scheduled program times on and off.

    For example, when I don't want the geyser to turn on at 04h00 in the mornings on a weekend because we are not home, I will turn that "switch on at 04h00" setting off.

    Turning it back on for the coming week is of academic value only, as it simply does not activate, even though it shows as on.

    You have to physically remove that scheduled program and re program it in that time slot.

    This is has now happened 4 times and I believe it is a software fault/glitch.

    Since I've had the unit (more than a year now), there had not been a single update to the app.

    Anyone else experiencing this?
    I have not encountered this, but based on what you are saying, they probably contracted someone to do the software and now consider it a done deal? Not ideal for ongoing support.

    Overall I am happy, but I did experience similar, where once the unit dropped, I had to recreate the timing schedule.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hillrise, Kempton Park
    Age
    67
    Posts
    2,442
    Thanked: 2264

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by ekkekan View Post
    Can you use the old style turn meter in a separate enclosure?
    Can a DIN Rail work?
    What price per phase is OK?
    I do have a turn meter but it looks ugly in the office.
    I was quoted +R1300 per phase but I have to rewire everything.
    This unit is just so convenient
    Johan Maree
    Isuzu 300 d-tec
    MB Gwagen G350 Bluetec
    Nissan NP300 2.4 4x4
    Conqueror UEV-25

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    64
    Posts
    2,582
    Thanked: 1045

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by JohanMaree View Post
    I do have a turn meter but it looks ugly in the office.
    I was quoted +R1300 per phase but I have to rewire everything.
    This unit is just so convenient
    Then what about these with resettable readings. You only have to wire the 6 thin wires and 4 other thin wires to the DB. R290 each.

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    64
    Posts
    2,582
    Thanked: 1045

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by JohanMaree View Post
    I do have a turn meter but it looks ugly in the office.
    I was quoted +R1300 per phase but I have to rewire everything.
    This unit is just so convenient
    Then what about these with resettable readings. You only have to wire the 6 thin wires and 4 other thin wires to the DB. R290 each.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20210618_122601.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	253.4 KB 
ID:	619449

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ekkekan For This Useful Post:


  13. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    45
    Posts
    4,855
    Thanked: 1027

    Default Re: CBI Smart Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by stephenplumb View Post
    I have not encountered this, but based on what you are saying, they probably contracted someone to do the software and now consider it a done deal? Not ideal for ongoing support.

    Overall I am happy, but I did experience similar, where once the unit dropped, I had to recreate the timing schedule.
    I've sent CBI an email enquiring whether they are aware of this problem.
    Nico Swart

    Triton 2.5DiD D/C with SS
    ZS6NJS

    One day, or Day One. You decide. Tomorrow is promised for no one!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •