Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Default Alternative cooking methods

Manifold cooking Estee?

Default Re: Alternative cooking methods

Splitpin's underground oven on IAT is sparking a conversation about alternative cooking.

How we miss RvW now. He would have LOVED this discussion. We often exchanged links on obscure methods of cooking things.

I know the majority of you are not into exploring all these strange cooking paths, but they can be surprisingly interesting.

I became interested in other baking methods first. When I was a newish baker I got very frustrated because recipes are somewhat vague and limited guidelines often.

I remembered my grandmother sticking her hand in the coalstove oven to feel if it's ready for bread.

And I realized I want to understand the chemistry of cooking and baking on a more foundational level so that I can compensate appropriately for less than ideal recipes and cooking instruments.

I wanted to understand what happened in less controlled environments (not turning my oven's button).

How to maintain heat. How things respond in those changed environments etc.

Sadly I am not a natural chef or baker. I don't pinch this and handful of that other than what painful experience has taught.

But, none the less, alternative cooking methods are of more use than I originally thought.

Quote Originally Posted by Emmie L View Post
    Manifold cooking Estee?
    Sounds like its involving a vehicle engine.
    Current - 2009 Mazda BT50 3.0CRDi 4x4 d/c
    Previous - 2005 Ranger 2.5 tdi 4x2 d/c (277 422km)

The wonder bag for one. I bought it many years ago when the concept was still quite new.

I was in a time of little and basically just earned enough for petrol, food, and barely enough car maintenance to get to work.

So saving electricity appealed to me. The principle the wonder bag works on is that of retained residual heat.