Default Painting Inside Of Boat Hull And Other Questions

Hi,

I have just bought a cheap little boat to use for some bass fishing.

The outside of the hull is in good condition, but the inside needs cleaning up. I would like to repaint it, but I am not sure what paint to use on the fiberglass. Could somebody please suggest a suitable paint and, if necessary a primer, I could use. It will be applied by brush or roller and not sprayed on.

The second question is the legalities of it. I have a yachting day skippers qualification, which I think should cover me for operating it on local dams and rivers? The boat comes with a buoyancy certificate. As far as I know I will need to do a COF on it and register it somewhere. Can somebody please advise on this also.

Thanks in advance,

John
    Last edited by John Allan; 2021/02/16 at 11:06 AM.

Default Re: Painting Inside Of Boat Hull And Other Questions

I'm not really an expert on this but given the lack of responses I'll share my thoughts.

I bought a small 3m fibre glass boat in December and first thing was a repaint. I roughed up the existing paint with sand paper (just lightly) and used a good enamel (sponge roller and brush). It looks neat and should last quite some time which is fine for such a "cheap" little boat. I read that two-step polyurethane is very strong and glossy but expensive and not easy to work with. I guess it comes down to the value of the boat and how important the finish is.

Yachting skippers tickets cover motor vessels as well so you're good there.

Unfortunately I can't help with the COF question.
    Niel
    2012 BMW F800GS
    2010 Nissan Navara 2.5 dCi 4x4
    2015 Bush Lapa Miskruier (B503)

Thanks for the feedback.

Two things with fibre glass.

1. Prep the painting surface area properly, that means cleaning off especially any waxy and/or oily surface treatments it might have had.