|
This is quite interesting. The world will change as we know it.
https://www.carmag.co.za/news/new-mo...series-bakkie/
Think that's going to be a very small market. If it is only used on the mines and in Sandton. Not many power points out in the bush and farm use in SA with our power issue and pricing............ about as much use as a chocolate braai grid.
Gary
2005 Nissan X-Trail 2.5 4x4 (SOLD)
2006 Honda Civic 1.8 VXI (It's complicated)
2005 Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D GLX LWB (Yay!)
4x4 Action Group GP0114
What would you do if you knew you could not fail![]()
Electric cars sold were over 50% of the new cars in Norway. Driving ranges are increasing all the time. For a farmer electric type could be really viable option. Change over to electric seems to accelerate all the time.
Jouko
----------
2003 Grand Cherokee 4.7l
2012 Smart
Never drive a normal car 8)
Estee = S T = Sean Towlson
Total 4x4 Novice with no experience whats-so-ever
''Nothing makes the Earth seem so spacious as to have friends at a distance; they make the latitudes and longitudes''. H.D. Thoreau.
Hummer H3 V8
W.A.P Objectivist
I think Norway and SA have little in common especially when it comes to electric vehicle use. The blackouts (sorry loadshedding) and electricity pricing may make the use of an electric landcruiser not such a clever idea.
Off topic but I still can't get over the use of these vehicles from an environmental point.
But you are right, they are becoming more popular and their ranges are increasing.
Gary
4x4 Action Group GP0114
Although I like the idea of electric cars from an environmental point of view (mostly for town use, I don't see any electrical sockets on an acacia or baobab in my immediate future), they still don't make much sense yet in this country. Partly because of the distances we generally travel to go on holiday, but from an environmental point of view they don't make sense while most of our electricity in the short to medium term will still be from burning coal...
Apart from the obvious loadshedding, which has already been mentioned.
If I was living in the states (or Europe) I'd drive a Tesla any day... Even if just for that acceleration...![]()
Rob Kirk
Amarok V6.
Sym 200 scooter 2 x 1, CVT transmission, 4V OHC, 11.4 kW, 15NM
0-60km/h in about 10s (downhill), Top speed - 100km/h (on a steeper downhill)
Ground clearance : 125mm on 16-inch rims
Tare : 134kg, GVM : 250kg (approx), GCM : 250kg (approx), Towing capacity : 0kg
Best of all : 4L/100km, town driving and pinning it...
Gary
4x4 Action Group GP0114
I am finding the uptake in lithium powered industrial vehicles a bit sluggish here at the moment, particularly in the traditional diesel markets.
Probably due to bad experiences with lead acid power.
But lithium is chalk and cheese. The inflexion point between lithium powered and diesel powered vehicles has been reached to the extent that the diesel savings can actually cover the acquisition costs in about 5 years on some of the vehicles.
''Nothing makes the Earth seem so spacious as to have friends at a distance; they make the latitudes and longitudes''. H.D. Thoreau.
Hummer H3 V8
W.A.P Objectivist
Gary
4x4 Action Group GP0114
Hummer H3 V8
W.A.P Objectivist
Im a farmer.
Love my diesel engines. Cant think of operating without them, but.........diesel is by far my biggest expense. If I can cut that drastically I would do that in a heartbeat.
V8 sound or not....Ill listen to something on the radio.
We have 3 cars. If Merc will sell the all new Smart on a right price I will change the petrol one to electric. No more petrol or diesel types. Distances and kilometers are such that home charging is viable. And the accelerationI saw Smart accelerating in Amsterdam - from a distance. I am already faster than average driver. Electric
Maintenance costs. What maintenance?
2nd of our cars as electric would be border case in South Africa. We will try the current one on long distance. Jeep - no change to change now.
In 20 years time new petrol or diesel cars might be in very short supply.
Jouko
----------
2003 Grand Cherokee 4.7l
2012 Smart
Never drive a normal car 8)
Know one guy here who converted his farm bike to electric. That thing runs for free.
I think a electric vehicle would be super reliable as well?
Just put a couple of cattle into a giant hamster wheel driving a generator, you'll be fine!
It's a good concept though for applications where the vehicle operates within a close radius, e.g. mines. It can be used underground (no exhaust gases) and the engine doesn't battle with dust filtration.
2012 FJ Cruiser
1983 FJ60 Landcruiser
The one farming application where this will work is as a game viewer, but only if your game viewing drives are not going to be too long. I also think you will need more than one battery pack for each vehicle so that you can charge one while the other one is being used.
C
If you ain't livin on the edge, you're taking up too much space!
I grew up on the Witbank Coalfields in the 60's and 70's. All the mining vehicles used underground were electric with sealed motors and circuits to prevent methane explosions caused by combustion engines. That was the time of mechanisation too and there were electric coal cutters, coal gatherers, shuttlecars and transports. Electric is not new. I remember the electric double decker buses in Pretoria of the 60's. The naval Dockyard used electric vehicles to transport parts between ships and workshops in the 70's and 80's.
![]()
very good comments here ,no electric points on route from cape town to gauteng , taxing on these bakkies no problem fly, SAA, someone will make money .![]()
alberto pereira
Colt clubcab 2.8tdi 4x4 2005
Ford Fiesta 1.4i (SWAMBO]
jurgens off road trailor xt 140
opel corsa 1.7 dti 2006