Poly bushes supplier - Alfa Giulia Super 1.3 rolling (amateur) restoration

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Poly bushes supplier - Alfa Giulia Super 1.3 rolling (amateur) restoration

Hi everyone,

A few months ago I managed to buy an 1971 Alfa 105 (Giulia Super 1.3) that has not had a jol for +-20 years. Having only self-taught (ala Youtube) experience on old British cars, it has been very interesting going through the car seeing how the Italians did things differently (having worked on two British cars from +- the same era).

I have managed to get it going again and now slowly going through things to get it running as best I can. The reason for the post, is I am now on the front suspension and need poly bushes (passenger side caster arm bush is properly kaput). I can source the bushes from the UK (at great expense, I think, due to shipping from the UK) and wanted to see if the forum knows of local importers ('Superflex UK bushes') or suppliers I could try?

Out of interest, here is the engine bay on the day I first inspected the car and then after some cleanup:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200629_162942.jpg 
Views:	131 
Size:	318.4 KB 
ID:	600832

Name:	20201026_183810.jpg 
Views:	137 
Size:	375.0 KB 
ID:	600833

TIA

Default Re: Poly bushes supplier - Alfa Giulia Super 1.3 rolling (amateur) restoration

Love the looks of the twin-cam engines from that era!

Failing all else, poly is actually fairly easy material to work with, why not make up your own?
    1996 Patrol 4.2SGL with lots of stuff to make it heavier and thus increase traction?

Default Re: Poly bushes supplier - Alfa Giulia Super 1.3 rolling (amateur) restoration

There are some tricks to making/casting poly bushes and don't let people convince you that it is a bad thing. The common belief is that the poly is to hard. You can blend the poly in any shore hardness you like.

I had an old Giulia and I cast all my own bushes.
    LC 78 Troopie 1HD-FTE
    Uniglide