Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Pinelands
    Age
    49
    Posts
    172
    Thanked: 31

    Default VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Hi Guys

    My son bought a citigolf center consol with the Volt, Oil Pressure and Oil Temperature gauges on Gumtree for himself but the sender units were not included.

    He just asssumed you can buy these off the shelf at a reasonable price.

    Diesel Electric quoted R 1,900 for the oil pressure sender unit and R550 for the oil temp unit.

    I managed to find a set in the UK to match the 0 to 5 Bar oil pressure and 50 to 150'C oil temperature for about R1,300 and then just need to send to a family member to bring it over or post it.

    Had another look on a website in China but they only had 0 to 6 Bar on the oil pressure, so was wondering how important would the rating be between the sender and the gauge if anyone has experince of buying VDO sender units ?

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by one-more-landy; 2020/12/29 at 11:59 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    De Wildt
    Age
    58
    Posts
    40,378
    Thanked: 17104

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Try Goldwagen and Volkspares. They will have the senders and sensors.
    Jakes Louw
    2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
    Percivamus

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jelo For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Pinelands
    Age
    49
    Posts
    172
    Thanked: 31

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Goldwagen don't have, tried them and many other spares people but they all point me to Diesel Electric.

    Will mail Volkspares and see what comes up.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    De Wildt
    Age
    58
    Posts
    40,378
    Thanked: 17104

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    So Goldwagen has no VW or Audi sender units?
    Jakes Louw
    2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
    Percivamus

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Pinelands
    Age
    49
    Posts
    172
    Thanked: 31

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Well, we took the gauges to them in person and asked at the counter - the answer was no.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3180.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	250.6 KB 
ID:	600510   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3181.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	259.2 KB 
ID:	600511   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3183.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	147.3 KB 
ID:	600512  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    New Germany
    Age
    50
    Posts
    1,518
    Thanked: 915

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    That is VDO for you gauges and senders sold separately, they donít tell you that when ppl bye them
    1995 300TDi Defender with VGT Turbo (stolen by my son now )
    2002 Defender with LS1 MS3 ECU, 4L80e, LT230 1.222, Lockers and HD CW&P, 35" with 4" Lift
    2005 Defender TD5

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    De Wildt
    Age
    58
    Posts
    40,378
    Thanked: 17104

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by one-more-landy View Post
    Well, we took the gauges to them in person and asked at the counter - the answer was no.
    I'm confused. What engine?

    Have you tested the CURRENT senders on the engine with these gauges? Why can't generic VW oil pressure and temp senders work?

    As for 12VDC: you don't need a sender, you take a fused link from the battery POS+ and you use that anyway to power the other 2 gauges?
    Jakes Louw
    2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
    Percivamus

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Wilderness
    Age
    59
    Posts
    4,514
    Thanked: 1452

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Don't tell the spares places its for a VDO meter! It confuses them. Tell them you want the Golf sender units for that specific year model. Autozone Midas, Masterparts, Goldwagen, Alert, etc. Cheap as chips.
    Pieter Kemp.
    2011 Isuzu 300d-teq 4x4 d/c
    Home built Blapsie caravan.
    The decision you make today, will determine the road you walk tomorrow

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    De Wildt
    Age
    58
    Posts
    40,378
    Thanked: 17104

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by Pieterk View Post
    Don't tell the spares places its for a VDO meter! It confuses them. Tell them you want the Golf sender units for that specific year model. Autozone Midas, Masterparts, Goldwagen, Alert, etc. Cheap as chips.
    EXACTLY what I said or tried to say oh never mind, horse, water etc
    Jakes Louw
    2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
    Percivamus

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Pinelands
    Age
    49
    Posts
    172
    Thanked: 31

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Just to clarify

    My son has a 2003 Golf that already has a temp guage but he thought the old school gauges that came from I think the old school Golf CTi would look cool in his Golf so he bought some on gumtree minus any sender units.

    All the spares places tell me you can only use VDO sensors with VDO guages - not sure if this is true. (seems you guys think that they telling me BS)

    All the spares shops only sell the Combination of Gauge and Sender units (Usually Equius or similar) in anycase so couldn't help with a loose sender unit. (Also seems to be BS - That was Midas, Goldwagen etc etc.)

    Goldwagen looked at these guages and said no luck, only Dieel Electric.
    Last edited by one-more-landy; 2020/12/29 at 02:00 PM.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    New Germany
    Age
    50
    Posts
    1,518
    Thanked: 915

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Try time Accsess and automotive they sell and stock VDO 0823753280. 011 3264148

    might be this code 323-801-009-001D OIL TEMP SENDER
    360-081-029-004C 5 BAR PRESS SEND
    Last edited by clivemd; 2020/12/29 at 02:10 PM.
    1995 300TDi Defender with VGT Turbo (stolen by my son now )
    2002 Defender with LS1 MS3 ECU, 4L80e, LT230 1.222, Lockers and HD CW&P, 35" with 4" Lift
    2005 Defender TD5

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Wilderness
    Age
    59
    Posts
    4,514
    Thanked: 1452

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by one-more-landy View Post
    Just to clarify

    My son has a 2003 Golf that already has a temp guage but he thought the old school gauges that came from I think the old school Golf CTi would look cool in his Golf so he bought some on gumtree minus any sender units.

    All the spares places tell me you can only use VDO sensors with VDO guages - not sure if this is true. (seems you guys think that they telling me BS)

    All the spares shops only sell the Combination of Gauge and Sender units (Usually Equius or similar) in anycase so couldn't help with a loose sender unit. (Also seems to be BS - That was Midas, Goldwagen etc etc.)

    Goldwagen looked at these guages and said no luck, only Dieel Electric.
    The original gauges on those vehicles were VDO. Any off the shelf sender units for those vehicles will work. You don't need a VDO sender to use the gauge. Use it, dont use it! Aaag f....k it!
    Pieter Kemp.
    2011 Isuzu 300d-teq 4x4 d/c
    Home built Blapsie caravan.
    The decision you make today, will determine the road you walk tomorrow

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Swakopmund
    Age
    53
    Posts
    48
    Thanked: 3

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by clivemd View Post
    Try time Accsess and automotive they sell and stock VDO 0823753280. 011 3264148

    might be this code 323-801-009-001D OIL TEMP SENDER
    360-081-029-004C 5 BAR PRESS SEND
    Yes, TAS Automotive are the guys. The other landline number (011) 326 4146 or email [email protected]

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Pinelands
    Age
    49
    Posts
    172
    Thanked: 31

    Default Re: VDO Pressure & Temp Sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by Pieterk View Post
    The original gauges on those vehicles were VDO. Any off the shelf sender units for those vehicles will work. You don't need a VDO sender to use the gauge. Use it, dont use it! Aaag f....k it!
    OK thanks - if you say so I will try and buy just the standard sender for both gauges.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •