don't you have kreef in aus ?
|
So who went out and got their first couple of crays for the season?
If I read it correct your season opened this past weekend?
I do miss dropping my nets and getting a couple early morning.
Those were lekker days living in Pringle Bay.
Out at 6am. Back at 8am with a couple of kreef and stopping at the local bakery for some croissants for brekky.
Kreef steaming in the pot or on the braai later that same night. Cold dry white wine..... eish
![]()
Last edited by jdjoubert; 2020/11/30 at 02:37 AM.
No more Jeeps for me for a while.
2009 Ford Ranger PK 3.0
don't you have kreef in aus ?
i did, crays and alikreukal, long overdue!
I remember as a kid your trip to the dolosse or the rocks was planned around the tides.
Now with the rules and regulations with times that you may go and what days, makes it nearly impossible to be law abiding when it comes to catching some kreef. Well atleast the old fashioned way.
Also going out with a boat is an expensive exercise and sticking to the quota's doesn't really make a boat trip worthwhile, financially
I also did.
Went down to Kommetjie as usual and dropped my nets off an old wind surfing board. Was very quiet on the water.....seems like the wind kept most away (also in anticipation of a calmer Sunday). Very happy now that I endured the South Easter on Saturday and got my quota because Sunday they just weren't around! Dropped nets for 3 hours off the windsurfer for only 2 crays. But whether I catch or not, the best part is just sitting out on the ocean and enjoying the fresh air!
Got our quota on Sat and Sun at Pringle Bay. Not as busy as it was last year this time because of the wind i guess. We struggled a bit were we usually catch (only small ones) and had to go in deeper.
![]()
Last edited by Stormboy_sa; 2020/12/01 at 12:35 PM.
2001 Pajero 3.2 DiD
Australia has a Western Rock Lobster. Very big part of their fishery industry.
They also have the Southern Rock Lobster.
Jakes Louw
2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
Percivamus
Where does one usually go to get kreef (if you want to get it yourself)? I'm going to Toti this Dec, and would LOVE a kreef or two. I snorkel, very far from being pro, and I don't want to go dangerously deep. Anything specific to look for when going down?
The worst place to go for shallow crayfish are the ledges at Mapelane, about 1 km down the beach, south of the entrance. There are absolutely no crayfish to be found under the rocks at low tide in about 1 m of water.
I don't care what it's called, but it must look like a lobster and taste a bit like one. If they're all 8m deep, that explains why I haven't found them yet. 8m is deep for my Vaalie lungs.
Bummer. Guess I'll have to check where I can find them fresh and cheap then.
Jakes Louw
2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
Percivamus
That time of year yourself and 16000 other peoples want the same
Years ago they used to sell them on that N2 highway - cheap cheap
Till some newspaper found out they were keeping them "fresh" in the longdrops
These super strict regulations is the reason I haven't taken out a kreef permit in about 20 years. I fish while the others go for crays or help with the tools.
Take the number of legal days, subtract the days you're working or cannot get to the water, subtract the days the weather doesn't play along then for good measure subtract the days you will possibly blank then how much kreef are you left with for your permit and efforts?
Rather take a day trip to paternoster, catch some hotties and maybe don't buy a few from the local boats while the fire gets going.
Or buy a Taiwanese fishing boat ?
There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !
Ford Figo 2016