D3 TDV6 - What a monster tow vehicle!

Default D3 TDV6 - What a monster tow vehicle!

Yesterday, dad and I had to go and fetch a Pajero Gen 2 DID 5-doorin Colenso Natal and wnet over van Rheenens.

As we did not know what to expect, we took with a double axle vehicle trailer and as we got there, we found the Pajero in suspect condition, with a lapsed license etc and loaded it.

Now I need to reiterate this as most people are not aware of it: The Land Rover is rated to two 3.5 Tons.

However, under our local laws one can only two a trailer with run-in brakes where the GVM of the trailer does not exceed the Tarra of the vehicle.

If you exceed the above, you need service brakes on the trailer.

We were therefore about 600kg on the wrong side of the law with the D3 that can tow 2.5 Tons with run-in brakes and our tail was 3.1 Tons.

I have a lot of towing experience and have done my share of heavy towing with many different vehicles.

All that I can say about his tow was WOW!!

The wind was so strong at van Rheenes, that it blew over a truck. In that wind, I expected stability issues an yet, even the strongest gusts only resulted in mild effect on the Land Rover.

There were times where I could feel one of the rear brakes dragging as the stability controll pulled to counter a swing in this winds.

I simply cannot believe that such a heavy tail can have so little effect of the handling of a vehicle compared to how it feels under normal conditions.

We managed a comfortable 90 km/h with a severe head wind and steep inclines in that wind we comfortable manged 80 km/h.

Later when we found our selfves on level roads, we upped the speed to 100 km/h.

Oaks, it is hard not to get respect for this kind of effortless towing.

I can pretty much understand why the oaks who does horse boxes, use the Discovery / Range Rover as a vehicle of choice.

I honestly doubt that there are many vehicles that can match this, except of course later Land Rovers...