Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Default Re: Any advice on spider bite treatment?

I am still recovering from a spider bite inflicted four months ago on my foot. It took about a week for the five small bites to become inflamed and infected. the bites grew in size and became extremely painful, exudating pus and so on and causing my foot and lower leg to swell alarmingly! After three courses of antibiotics and no improvement a swab was taken from the lesions and sent to the path lab. The result came back as a Pseudomonas bacterial infection which is somewhat antibiotic resistant and Taveloxx 500 was prescribed. The infection cleared up after about ten days but I am still left with open wounds which are healing but extremely slowly. Melcura honeymesh under a waterproof dressing seems to be the best treatment.

Don't take a spider bite lightly!

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Umzume For This Useful Post:

See this thread !!!

… Post #4 on !!!!

https://www.4x4community.co.za/forum...s-Spider/page4

LOL !
    Last edited by BushNomad; 2024/09/02 at 08:50 AM.
    ... Land Rover Owners dont idle long ...

2002 Defender 130 DC HCPU. :
    Own the road... Any road ...
    ‘1981 R-Rvr Classic 2-Dr 3.5L V8 :
    The Greatest Rover.
    ‘1975 Series3 88 PUP :
    Simply ... Classic ...
    ‘2017 Metalian Mini ...
    A Home from Home

* The Monarch of the Glen *http://www.4x4community.co.za/forum/...1&d=1507751251

Quote Originally Posted by albertvl View Post
    Hospital - Voltaren injection + antibiotics injection
    As a doctor of 50 years of field experience plus 30 years of wild camping in Africa, just a few guidelines .
    1- most spider bites are non- venomous and local treatment is sufficient. ( antihistamines and analgesics).Only Â’ badÂ’ ones are Sac spiders , Violen spider and buttons spiders ( basically two types, one type bit more serious).
    2- violen spider and especially sac spider cause tissue damage( necrosis). Once this happens antibiotics are useless because the venom blocks their effect. If antibiotics are given it must be before complications set in.( as soon as possible after a confirmed bite, best is when spider is identified). Best antibiotic is Tetracycline( Doxycycline) or Ciprofloxacin as second choice.
    3- Sac spider bites are mostly painless and only discovered much later, and this is our main dilemma
    4- most spider bites ( even less serious ones) leave a black core in the middle of the swollen area. This is not a 100% foolproof sign but can act as a practical guide.
    5- once necrosis from a Sac or Violen bite has formed a surgical opinion is urgently needed because time wasted can be critical. If not multiple operations might be needed to remove dead tissue.

Quote: in Africa expect the unexpected.

5. The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Drvanrens For This Useful Post:

Good day All,

My wife and I work together in wildlife management and so we spend a lot of time in the bush. Because we work together our 3 children are home schooled and we take them with us wherever we go.

Over the years we have had to deal with some pretty interesting "spider" bites, not to mention on 2 occasions with our own children where we are fairly convinced it was spider induced. Some previous comments by others that we don't always know 100% what the exact cause is, are fair, bites could be anything from spiders, to ticks, to Nairobi flies, boils, cutaneous anthrax lesions, etc. etc. and so, to my limited knowledge and experience, the comments to treat the symptoms are also very valid.

My wife is a vet and on top of being quite practical by nature she has pretty extensive medical knowledge from treating anything from bushbabies and snakes to elephants, rhino, cattle and everything in between, including the odd human in emergency situations.

So, for my 2 cents worth, I will tell you what has worked for us to treat certain bites. We use a poultice that we mix using grated green soap, powdered charcoal (not ash) from the fire and honey of equal parts to make a paste. Which we put directly onto the bite site and cover with gauze and a plaster, which we change twice a day. This is then backed up with a powerful broad spectrum oral antibiotic for any secondary infection.

We first learnt about the poultice mix in desperation as our middle son, when he was 3 or 4 years old, was bitten on his underarm by what we can only guess was a violin spider. As usual we were obviously far from any medical facilities. After sending some photos over wifi to 2 doctors we were told that he could have significant necrosis for his little arm and that we should get him to a medical facility ASAP to have it debrided... anyway, to cut a long story short, we tried the poultice and the bite never got worse from then on, it had already made a circle with a necrotic center which later came out and left a hole. It healed and has only left a round scar about the size of an old 5c coin.

Anyway, take it or leave it... I'm sure there will be some clever responses from the "experts", but this has worked for us and for others since. My hope in commenting here is that maybe it can help someone in the future. Important, though is to stop the necrosis and manage the infection - I know the poultice is not sterile, but coupled with an oral antibiotic, regular dressing changes and keeping it clean, it does seem to help.

All the best! Respect and have fun out there, who knows how long we will have it for...

7. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to JoshMos For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by rfti View Post
    No man! That wound is not as a direct result of a spider bite. Let us deal with this logically. Why do you think it was a spider bite? If you cannot confirm this, that is the end of this conversation.

Spider bites, like snake bites are not "generally" two bites next to each other. It is not diagnostic. Neither is the blister diagnostic. That wound on your face is clearly a bacterial infection. Normally, your skin is a hygienic shield. Anything, including a spider bite, tick bite, mosquito bite or thorn prick can break the "seal" and allow infection.

Your damage is probably caused by something of unknown origin. I know ingrown hair or disturbed hair follicles due to spectacles irritating the nose bridge can cause issues similar to yours.

People, including doctors, will rather blame the spider. It sounds more impressive. I am not saying it was not caused by a spider bite, I am just saying that you might not be able to say it was. It is most likely something else.
    Point three is an opinion but it is based on numerous instances of doctors blabbering complete rubbish that is not based on any scientific or medical deductions. We deal with such drivel numerous times. Very few reports of doctors actually keeping it scientific.

In fact, we can state that factually, many doctors will talk rubbish and blame a spider.

The best a doctor can do is to "treat the wound, not the cause".
    It counts! I (like most of the spider, scorpion and snake buddies out there) like data. What kind of spider was it? Who identified it? Misidentification is also a risk. That happens often, too. All doctors are not arachnologists, either.

Medical conditions of the victim also plays a role. Diabetes, for instance, can turn mundane envenomation into a crisis.
    I cannot argue with your barrage of facts.

I also cannot kick the dog because it runs faster that I can.
    I hereby retract my comment and apologize for my ignorance.
    Last edited by Hedgehog; 2024/09/04 at 09:35 AM.

2024 Ranger Tremor
    1996 Land Cruiser 80 Saharah
    2024 BMW R1250RT
    2004 BMW K1200RS

9. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Hedgehog For This Useful Post:

My own advice is to not have spiders around. We have plenty button spiders here. SO and her kids are magnets for a spiders fangs.
    Recently discovered another use for these little gas torches the okes use to solder copper pipes. Jy brand hulle pappie. Scorch the nest, spider and nothing is left. I don't trust doom anymore.
    2013 Nissan Pathfinder 2.5
    2024 Stallion Light 1 Trailer

Quote Originally Posted by HunterNW View Post
    I don't trust doom anymore.
    Doom has never been, and will never be, effective against arachnids.
    Ian de Villiers

Patrol 4.5 GRX
    Sole local member of the GFYS club
    Jurgens XT65 2x0 with Super Select Zero
    ORRA: AG149

12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iandvl For This Useful Post:

Die Spinnekop - deur Nataniël

Ek weet nou nie hoe jy oor spinnekoppe voel nie maar ek ry eerder 'n fiets sonder 'n saal as om een te konfronteer.

Ja, gisteraand lê ek rustig en lees, minding my own business.....bedlampie brand baie "domesticated" en sag met die komplimente van Cash Crusaders, toe ek so 'n sagte geskarrel in die kamer hoor. Ek dog eers dis die mot wat wil selfmoord pleeg teen die bedlamp se bulbpie...

Kyk... nee, mot se kind sit so stil soos 'n pedigree foksterrier wat razor blades skuit.. Toe's die skuifel geluid weer daar en ek skrik alles regop wat plat was...en pap wat op was!

'n Onaardse gedrog van 'n spinnekop met W.P. rugbykouse, en wat as weltergewig kan inweeg, toer teen 8 000 refs oor die vloer en spring sommer so met die laai se handles teen die bedkassie op!

Op slag ### ek my beste linne in 'n herfs kleurskakering in. Lyk of iemand my bed kapoenkleur, so tussen ### en pampoen gespray paint het. Ek moer alles, boek, bedlamp, asbak, glas, die toetie tot op die laagste vlak van die kamer, die vloer.

Ek skrik my enigste aambei wat ek het dat hy op my kuite hang! Nou's die ###### spaaider nog tussen my en die kombuis, waar ek, omdat hulle my so mollesteer, deur die jare, 'n arsenaal van Doom vergader het. Nou weet ek, nou sal ek flat out moet hol vir daai Doom.

Ek pluk my enigste halfnat Jockey aan sodat die aambei my nie pootjie nie. Toe trek ek weg kombuis toe dat die briekmerke soos 'n straatkaart in my Jockey vergader... en ek 10 sekondes by die kombuisdeur moet back paddle om nie twee agterdeure te hê nie.

Lord of the Dance se gat my bra!

Terug..... Daar sit die bliksem nog! Sommer so met die briektrek spuit ek al..... gelukkig net Doom! ...Osoonlaag en al daai goeters, se moer! Spuit hom leeg!

Duik my harige vyand soos Ryk Neethling agter die bedkassie in. Moer toe moet hy wees na daai dubbel Doom en strontreuk wat nou dikker as toffie in die kamer hang.

Ek trek die kas bietjie vorentoe, skiem nog so ek het gewen, toe skielik hol daai 4 wheel drive monster van 'n aardsgedrog teen die muur uit, reg voor my oë verby, tot kophoogte.

Agt oë soos Beetle wheelcaps kyk my vierkantig in my twee ogies. Nou's dit nag. Ek verlaat myself, my water breek, my knieë swik, my longe loop leeg, my lippe parteer van mekaar.

Ek beskuie my weer sonder enema. 'n Kreet verlaat my binneste, ontsnap oor my trillende lippe. Dis toe dié klanke wat Black Sabbath en Uriah Heep na die Drakensbergse seunskoor laat klink. Dit was maar ook Spiderman se laaste asem, want net daarna los hy als en kom skeef skeef grond toe, soos fisant stront in vlug.

Al retererende het ek en Doom die veldslag gewen!

2024 Ranger Tremor
    1996 Land Cruiser 80 Saharah
    2024 BMW R1250RT
    2004 BMW K1200RS

14. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Hedgehog For This Useful Post:

Consult a doctor, get a second opinion if you're not satisfied with the first doctor's treatment

You can also talk to Johan Marias from ASI regarding spider bites in general.
    https://www.africansnakebiteinstitut...ite-institute/

They deal with all sorts of venomous bites / stings daily

16. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Christoff For This Useful Post:

Got bored with this fred last week....

So I visit today, and jeeeeeez.....some comments....

I just want to put it to you, if I moer you with a baseball bat, and you did not see it....

It may just well have been a pipe or a cricket bat....

Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Leigh View Post
    Go to Casualty and get antibiotics to stop the flesh from rotting. Spiders find me delicious, so I learnt the hard way.

Bite will generally manifest as two bites next to each other, like mine below. This is diagnostic and preceded by a blister.
    Attachment 730344
    Attachment 730345
    Hi All

I am no doctor but this photo's look seriously bad. However, one thing in this picture is obvious: blood flow in that region of the body is low and could contribute to the slow recovery. Betadine ointment is a good option. Keep it covered to prevent furthe infection.

I think this one is for a doctor though.

André

Quote Originally Posted by Hedgehog View Post
    Please share the stuff that you are on... It seems to be fantastic
    You cannot afford it.

Quote Originally Posted by Drvanrens View Post
    As a doctor of 50 years of field experience plus 30 years of wild camping in Africa, just a few guidelines .
    1- most spider bites are non- venomous and local treatment is sufficient. ( antihistamines and analgesics).Only Â’ badÂ’ ones are Sac spiders , Violen spider and buttons spiders ( basically two types, one type bit more serious).
    2- violen spider and especially sac spider cause tissue damage( necrosis). Once this happens antibiotics are useless because the venom blocks their effect. If antibiotics are given it must be before complications set in.( as soon as possible after a confirmed bite, best is when spider is identified). Best antibiotic is Tetracycline( Doxycycline) or Ciprofloxacin as second choice.
    3- Sac spider bites are mostly painless and only discovered much later, and this is our main dilemma
    4- most spider bites ( even less serious ones) leave a black core in the middle of the swollen area. This is not a 100% foolproof sign but can act as a practical guide.
    5- once necrosis from a Sac or Violen bite has formed a surgical opinion is urgently needed because time wasted can be critical. If not multiple operations might be needed to remove dead tissue.

Quote: in Africa expect the unexpected.
    2. A few years ago, some white lab coats found that for at least one genus of Cheiracanthium, the enzyme/protein causing necrosis, is absent. It is therefore unlikely that sac spider venom cause that rotting hole in your flesh. Button spider venom is neurotoxic so one should not expect necrosis. Black button venom is quite potent but you respond well to the anti venom. You need no antivenom for brown button envenomation.

3. The story that sac bites are painless originated from people getting skin lesions and wanting to blame it on a spider. Claiming it happened in the night when I was sleeping sounded cool enough. Recently, people who could actually identify sac spiders biting them, confirmed that the bite is actually quite painful and you would probably wake u from that. Surprisingly (not) those victims - without treatment - had no skin lesions or holes falling in their flesh. The whole sac spider horror story is dead.

I know all of you esteemed readers know more that me but consider that your knowledge is perhaps not reality. I spent a few years in the spider (and snake and scorpion) world and spoke to the people who know stuff. I learned a little bit. The most significant thing is that people are hell bent on blaming every nasty skin lesion on a spider. It can just never be an ingrown hair or a thorn prick.

I did not read these articles but it might be of help to someone who wants to disagree with me:

https://www.africansnakebiteinstitut...lly_important/
    https://www.researchgate.net/publica...s_the_necrosis

21. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rfti For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Hedgehog View Post
    Please share the stuff that you are on... It seems to be fantastic
    Spider lives matter.
    Aristotle wrote; ''Excellence is never an accident. It is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, and intelligent execution. It represents the wise choice of many alternatives. Choice, not chance, determines your destiny''

23. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Emmie L For This Useful Post:

2. A few years ago, some white lab coats found that for at least one genus of Cheiracanthium, the enzyme/protein causing necrosis, is absent. It is therefore unlikely that sac spider venom cause that rotting hole in your flesh. Button spider venom is neurotoxic so one should not expect necrosis. Black button venom is quite potent but you respond well to the anti venom. You need no antivenom for brown button envenomation.

3. The story that sac bites are painless originated from people getting skin lesions and wanting to blame it on a spider. Claiming it happened in the night when I was sleeping sounded cool enough. Recently, people who could actually identify sac spiders biting them, confirmed that the bite is actually quite painful and you would probably wake u from that. Surprisingly (not) those victims - without treatment - had no skin lesions or holes falling in their flesh. The whole sac spider horror story is dead.

I know all of you esteemed readers know more that me but consider that your knowledge is perhaps not reality. I spent a few years in the spider (and snake and scorpion) world and spoke to the people who know stuff. I learned a little bit. The most significant thing is that people are hell bent on blaming every nasty skin lesion on a spider. It can just never be an ingrown hair or a thorn prick.

I did not read these articles but it might be of help to someone who wants to disagree with me:

https://www.africansnakebiteinstitut...lly_important/
    https://www.researchgate.net/publica...s_the_necrosis

‘…
    A few recent publications on confirmed Sac Spider bites from Europe, America and Australia have led people to claim Sac Spiders in South Africa are harmless and have since been “declassified” as medically important. This is largely done on social media.

The papers refer to four species of Sac Spiders. European Yellow Sac Spider (Cheiracanthium mildei) and the Eurasian Yellow Sac Spider (Cheiracanthium punctorium) are the most common species in bite reports and investigations. American yellow sac spider (Cheiracanthium inclusum) and the Japanese Yellow Sac Spider (Cheiracanthium japonicum) are also featured in some cases. The papers reported to claim that Sac Spiders are harmless did not include African species and left out important evidence to show the results of venom studies on this group of spiders.’

25. The Following User Says Thank You to SAND For This Useful Post:

‘…
    There are three ways necrosis is likely to form after a bite and these actions may overlap in many cases.
    The first way is that the venom attacks the cell, causing the cell to rupture and die resulting in necrosis. This results in many cytotoxic envenomations.

The second way is necrosis may form after a bite is due to a bacterial infection. Many arthropod bites and stings are often itchy and cause the victim to scratch at the bite site. The scratching may introduce bacteria from the hands/nails of the victim to the wound. Bacteria such as the MRSA Staphylococci is not uncommon in households. Work by Gnädinger et al. (2013) showed that insects and spiders could not spread MRSA even if they had been previously exposed to the bacteria, so it must be introduced to the bite site by the victim her/himself.
    The third way necrosis may form is a process termed necroptosis. Necroptosis is a programmed form of necrosis or inflammatory cell death where the body’s immune system causes the cells to die – a term known as apoptosis. Generally, apoptosis is seen when a cell is mutated or dysfunctional and your body will kill off billions of dysfunctional cells a day. These cells, if not destroyed, are what may form cancer in the body. In some spider and insect bites (even if the venom is not particularly toxic) the body may overreact and cause necroptosis resulting in the formation of an area of necrosis around the bite site. The venom itself does not cause the necrosis, but rather causes the body to react. This may explain how the bites of some species that are not particularly toxic may cause severe reactions and even necrosis in some people.’

27. The Following User Says Thank You to SAND For This Useful Post:

This certainly is a valuable discussion in emphasizing again that keeping any bite clean to not introduce any bacteria is a high priority. Something we are often casual about with smaller cuts, stings and bites.

It's good to be reminded about the basics every now and then. And it reminds me that my first aid kit needs a expiration date check because I don't think my antihistamine salve has been out in ages.

Thanks OP.
    Aristotle wrote; ''Excellence is never an accident. It is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, and intelligent execution. It represents the wise choice of many alternatives. Choice, not chance, determines your destiny''

29. The Following User Says Thank You to Emmie L For This Useful Post:

As 'n pasiënt by die dokter aankom met 'n bytplek glo hy vas dis 'n spinnekopbyt, maar gewoonlik het niemand die spinnekop gesien nie... Aan die ander kant, wat byt mens nou andersins snags sonder dat jy dit sien? In ons land is spinnekoppe oor die algemeen nie juis toksies nie en indien wel, kry mens baie geringe weefsel nekrose. Soms is daar hewige allergiese reaksies ook teenwoordig. Dikwels krap mense die bytplek en so beland skadelike bakterieë in die wond wat soms massiewe skade kan veroorsaak. Ek het al heelwat bosluis bytplekke gesien wat beskou was as spinnekop byte maar die tipiese ulcus en dikwels die kliniese simptome van bosluisbytkoors laat dan geen twyfel nie. 'n Antihistamien, kortisoon, of antibiotiese oogsalfie kan probeer word, maar as die wondjie versleg is dit beter om die dokter te raadpleeg voordat mens erge weefsel skade het.

Hi Folks, Jonathan Leeming here… 🕷🦂❤️

I've been asked to comment on this spider bite discussion by one of the members of this site. As an introduction to myself, I work with spiders and scorpions, write the odd book, speak at medical conferences on spider bites and scorpion stings, help organisations like the Poison Information Helpline and Eswatini Antivenom Foundation in the area of educating medical professionals and the layperson on spider bites and scorpion stings.

At the risk of making myself unpopular so quickly on this site (this is only my second post), I've taken a few bits out of various posts and made some comments. These comments project a pretty standard average perception of spider and spider bites.

So... grab a beer, glass of wine, coffee and a rusk… here goes…

Spider Bites 101

Out of 2500 named species of spider in South Africa, about 19 species are medically important. Medically important means that medical intervention is often be required. Black Button Spiders (4 species) are our most medically important species. We do have antivenom for their bites which is very effective.

Spider bite misdiagnosis is very common. Although people often tell me that it looks like a spider bite/ what else can it be/ I googled it/ my doctor told me it is a spider bites, when we look at the clinical data we can see how all of these reasons are just not valid. The Poison Information Helpline has 20 years worth of bite and sting data (from all kinds of venomous animals). It’s interesting to sift through the data and pull out trends such as in 80% of the calls for spider bites there is no evidence that a spider is involved at all.

Venom is extremely bioavailable and is absorbed into body tissue quickly, but also dissipates quickly. Studies on animals showed that symptoms of Sac Spider or Violin Spider bite (without banterial infection) improve at about 10 days.

Some of the comments are super interesting and demonstrate wide spread beliefs…

Spider bites are super painful when they happen, you would not sleep through a bite, or notice a mark a day or even hours later.

Button Spider bites are like being stung by a wasp. A sharp localised pain at the bite site. This immediate pain makes the patient look at the bite site and they usually see the spider. We have good data for Button Spider bites because of patients often bring the spider with them to hospital.

The bite of the Sac Spider is painful because of the size of their fangs. Violin Spider Bites are less painful. These spiders are nocturnal. Bites often offer at night without the patient knowing, waking up the next morning with a ‘bad mosquito bite’. Within 2 hours of the bite, there is evidence on the skin that something is happening. Symptoms develop form there. After 8 hours symptoms are usually obvious.

A friend of ours was bitten by an unknown spider about two weeks ago. The doctor gave him 1000mg Amoxipen. The bite site has apparently formed a hole in the skin or become hollow (die byt plek het 'n gat ingeval) and he seems to be very sick, so much so that he spends a lot of time lying down.

Amoxipen is an antibiotic. 1000mg is a good strong dose. It is used to treat bacterial infections and has no effect on the biological action of spider venom. ‘he seems very sick’ is a sign of bacterial infection. The doctor is doing the correct thing here. Treatment must focus upon wound care for all spider bites except for Button Spider bites. The only other medication that is used is Dapsone (an antileprosy drug) which is effective on Violin Spider bites (especially where there is a lot of fatty tissue)

Does anyone have any advice on any further treatment for such a bite? Perhaps some home remedies (boereraad)?

There is no home remedy for bacterial infections nor the symptoms of medically important spider bites. Remember… it is all about wound care and preventing/ treating bacterial infections. If you do not know what to do, the rule is don't do anything. AND especially don't ask for medical advice on social media.

“The loss of tissue is a sign that it was most probably a spider.”

“Bite will generally manifest as two bites next to each other, like mine below. This is diagnostic and preceded by a blister.”

Both of these statements are incorrect and not characteristic of spider bites at all. Loss of tissue can be associated with many other things such as bacterial infections, diabetic ulcers, warfarin poisoning, leprosy, tick bites, etc… The 2 fang marks are rarely visible especially if there is tissue damage (more than a few hours after the bite).

“To help the wound heal, apply copious amounts of Ilosun ontment.”

Rather use Germolene or Backtroban. Ilosus is a complimentary based ‘medicine’ that far less effective that the 2 creams mentioned above. Remember… ‘natural’ is not better. I would stay away from such ‘treatments’. Go get a tubes of Germolene or Backtroban for your first aid kit.

“I cut a Tomatoe slice, skin side onto the plaster and stuck in on..... the nèxt morning, All gone…"

This is an old wives tale that has no effect whatsoever. Advice like this is pretty harmless except is delays proper medical intervention. Time to treatment is vital especially in patients with lifestyle related diseases.

“Go to Casualty and get antibiotics to stop the flesh from rotting. Spiders find me delicious, so I learnt the hard way.”

“Had my first encounter with a spider bite when i was 10 years old. as the venom spread holes started falling in. 21 in total on my bum.”

It is interesting how a spider bite can be identified if the spider was not seen. Looking at the data, we can see certain spider bite trends which make us lean towards a spider related cause, and other trends that lean away from a spider related cause.

For example, spiders normally bite once, then run away (normally). So a single ‘bite’ could be spider related. However, multiple ‘bites’ suggest a none spider related cause, as does multiple bites over a long period of time. Patients who get bitten multiple times over a long period of time often have a predisposition for bacterial infections (maybe a lifestyle disease that affects the immune system). The location of ‘bites’ is also interesting. If it is on a part or your anatomy that rubs together or sweats, the bacteria infections is a likely cause of the symptoms. Sometimes… increasing the level of personal hygiene solve the problem of ‘spider bites’ (bacteria).

However… regardless of the cause… antibiotics are your friend.

“I good friend of mine's dad died due to the complications of a spider bite. He died months after the bite, due to internal bleeding.”

I hear of many unfortunate stories such as this. Without knowing the background, I would be skeptical that the cause of death was spider related. Our official annual death toll is 0, however, this is an educated (or maybe uneducated) guess. To be counted as dying from a spider bite the patient has to watch the spider bite them, bring the spider to hospital, and die in hospital. A pretty high bar if you ask me.

“bitten by a sac spider a few years back. He was ignorant and delayed seeing the doctor. Had a hole in his thigh the size of a golf ball. Doctor said most important thing with spider bites and especially sac and violin spiders is to prevent secondary infections. The bite itself causes damages but secondary infection causes way more damage.”

Yes!!! Just like any open lesion, spider bites can become infected. Delaying medical intervention adds complication to treatment, prolongs recovery and treatment costs.

“I never took spiders or spider bites seriously. I just let them be if I saw one. Then one bit my grandfather during the night. He immediately went to the doctor and they removed the necrotic tissue... almost. He lost a finger because of the incident. So I had a little talk with my house and explained to the spiders that there's a big outside to live in and if they come inside they have chosen to die. “

Once again… without knowing the details it is difficult to comment. We do know that older people suffer more from bacterial infections due to their immune system and lifestyle disease. As a personal note I do think it is terrible that an animal has to die because of human ignorance.

“Try CERDAK plasters , they work wonders with spider bites, it is ceramic powder which work wonders, I think its available from Dischem and other paharmacies"

I’m not aware of anyone who has used these plasters. I have a look at the website. I would consider your trusty tube of Germolene or Backtroban as a better bet, but that is just personal preference.

“Hospital - Voltaren injection + antibiotics injection”

In cases of severe bacterial infection that are resistant to normal antibiotics (such as Staph infections), it is often necessary to used a stronger antibiotic. We live in a world of antibiotic resistance. This stronger antibiotic is used when broad spectrum antibiotics are not working at addressing a bacterial infection. If you ever hear of someone who has been bitten by a spider and is on antibiotics but they are not working… sure fire it is a antibacterial resistance strain of bacteria. These stronger antibiotic are administered through an IV drip and often requires the patient to stay overnight in a medical facility.

Please don’t use Voltaren is has no value within the context of spider bites.

Spider Bite Takeaways

• Just about all bites except Button Spider bites, can be treated with an antibacterial cream and keeping the bite site as clean as possible.
    • Tomatoes, onions, Voltaren, petrol, burning the bite site, cutting, sucking, homeopathic preparations, wishful thinking, ignoring the symptoms… are ineffective and may cause complications later one.
    • Medical professionals are usually no better at identifying a spider bite than the average none medical professional. HOWEVER, they are perfectly capable of treating the symptoms.
    • FOCUS, FOCUS, FOCUS…. on wound care and preventing infection.
    • If in any doubt, refrain from asking for advice on social media and GO SEE A MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL and treat the symptoms as soon as possible.

If anyone needs medical advice for any bite or sting (or suspected bite or sting), then phone the Poison Information Helpline. It’s free and you’ll get to speak to a medical professional who specialises in bites and stings. Even if you are not sure if it is a bite, phone them for advice. Their toll free number is 0861 555777. Tell them Jonathan gave you the number :-) You will be adding to our understanding of bites and stings throughout Southern Africa.

Please email me any further questions, objections, comments. Let’s not clog up this forum. My email is [email protected]

Wow, thank you Mr Leeming. This is amazing! We are always hoping to have relevant information from these discussions, so education from someone knowledgeable like yourself is a privilege. Thank you for taking the time to parcipicate.

33. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Emmie L For This Useful Post:

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast