Small Low-Cost Off-Grid Solar System

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Small Low-Cost Off-Grid Solar System

Greetings to all!

I am a newbie in this forum, for the past few weeks I have been reading about solar system posts and learnt a lot.

I am planning install a small off-grid solar system for my mom who resides in an area where Eskom is not installed yet (and no indication of when it will be installed).

System requirements:

• Low cost: maximum cost of equipment, house wiring and installation should not exceed R25k.
    • Daily Load: 1500 Wh (see attachment)
    • Long battery life
    • System voltage: 24V

The system must be able to run fridge 24 hours and lights at night. It must also be able to run a washing occasionally (maybe once week). I estimated that a washing would run for 30 min (two wash cycles). The wash motor is rated 400 W and maximum power 610W. This brings the total daily load of 145 W 1500 Wh and maximum of 2087 Wh or 700 W once a week.

Battery Specification:

Watt-hour @ 50% DOD = 3kWh.........this brings number of 12 V 100 Ah batteries to 3, rounded to 4 to have a balanced voltage of 24 V. 2S2P battery strings brings the total to 4.8 kWh (24 V 200 Ah) which is more than enough buffer(DOD is 31%). The problem with adding more batteries is that costs increase. If I use 2x 100 Ah batteries in series (24 V 100 Ah) I get 2.4 kWh which is 62.5% DOD. Question: can I get away with 2 batteries instead of 4 in order to minimize costs?

Solar panels specification:

2x 330 W solar panels will yield 1122 Wh at 85% inverter efficiency.

Inverter Specification:

Pure Sine Wave: I read that inductive loads such as fridges and washing machines don't like modified sine wave.