Savuti to Kasane. Best easiest road

Default Savuti to Kasane. Best easiest road

Hi Community,
    I am brand new to this forum and feel very privileged to be part of your community.
    I am not new to 4x4 driving but I am new to adventures around Africa. For my first trip i would like to visit Moremi/ Chobe/ Kasane.
    Here is my planned trip:
    Day 1: Martins Drift to South gate , Day 2: South Gate to Xankanaxa, Day3 Xankanaxa to Khwai, Day4 Khwai to Savuti, Day5 Stay at Savuti, Day 6 Savuti to Kasane, Day 7 Kasane to Elephant Sands, day 8 Elephant Sands to JHB
    What I need to know is how is the trip from Savuti to Kasane? Will it be an easy drive? I see it says its 135km? How long will it take?
    Driving a 2019 Nissan Navara Double cab 4x4

Also any advise on activities and game viewing spots at Xankanaxa, Khwai and Savuti.

Thanks
    Andrew

Default Re: Savuti to Kasane. Best easiest road

Savuti to Kasane will take you the best part of a day. It's thick sand in many places and calcrete in others but mainly thick sand. It's low range slow much of the way. You have a choice near Savuti of traversing the Magwikwe Sand Ridge or the Mababe Depression. From there it's the main sand road all the way to Ngoma and then to Kasane.

Try to spend at least two nights in a place otherwise you wear yourself out setting up and breaking camp daily combined with the drive.
    2001 Isuzu Frontier 4X4 DT280 LX 2.8 Turbo Diesel (Tourer)
    2011 JMC 4X4 Double Cab 2.8 Turbo Diesel (Work Bakkie)
    1973 Land Rover Series 2A 109" Ford V6 Kanniedood, Salisbury diff, galvanised chassis etc. (Hobby and Work vehicle)

Hi welcome,

Nice trip planned, gonna be awesome . Water in Moremi is deep at the moment and will probably remain relatively high for the next 3 months.

Your longest days are actually probably going to be Martins Drift to South Gate, 10 hrs at a reasonable speed including a nice lunch stop and fuel and the gate into the parks close earlier in winter.