OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"





Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Malmesbury
    Posts
    169
    Thanked: 38

    Default OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    I want to get on of these units (or similar) and connect it to a old smart phone for additional information in my old 2005 Touareg. I would especially like to keep an eye on the transmission temperature when towing heavy loads and 4x4 driving. I know that this is no VCDS scanner and will not even try to use it for fault finding and error codes.

    Anyone with similar devices?



    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	obd2.PNG 
Views:	748 
Size:	314.9 KB 
ID:	571050

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	torquepro.jpg 
Views:	763 
Size:	71.8 KB 
ID:	571051

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    edenvale
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,464
    Thanked: 225

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    yip works like a bomb
    well worth the effort to either fit an android radio or a tablet on dash or visor

    very cool tool

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    De Wildt
    Age
    57
    Posts
    37,462
    Thanked: 13623

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    I have to install mine and sort out the BT and Android side of it. Also have that ELM327, never got round to actually putting it in.
    2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
    Percivamus

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Malmesbury
    Posts
    169
    Thanked: 38

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Quote Originally Posted by 3bar View Post
    yip works like a bomb
    well worth the effort to either fit an android radio or a tablet on dash or visor

    very cool tool
    Thanks, what scanner do you use?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    39
    Posts
    461
    Thanked: 114

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    I have yes.

    Works will with the app called TorquePro. TorquePro let's you set up your own dashboard. Before you order though, make sure you order specifically for VW/AUDI plugs, they look a little different to the one you have images off.

    I use a (very) old 10" Samsung tablet. I will post a picture/video of how I use it shortly.
    2018 Ford Everest XLT 3.2 4x4 Auto
    2013 Chevrolet Trailblazer 2.8 LTZ 4x4 MT (SOLD)

    Photography : https://500px.com/c0rn3llman5

    My girlfriend asked me to whisper 4 special words into her ear... so I said : "Ons gaan NOU braai!"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    70
    Posts
    6,472
    Thanked: 1246

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Standard ELM327 works extremely well and does find errors and codes but not on VW or Audi
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Ford Figo 2016

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    57
    Posts
    5,187
    Thanked: 1167

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    I bought a few of those blue ones like in the OP. Could not get them to work on an Import RAV4 and Nissan Micra/March

    So I got one of the OBDLink LX models.

    It is now permanently plugged into the Nissan. One of the OBDLink features is that it completely shuts down when you switch off the vehicle. It will not drain the battery when you don't use it for an extended period (Like LockDown). It has its own propriety software for Android but they claim it will also work with the free TorquePro App.

    (Unfortunately it also did not work on the Japan Imports)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	61WxprkT3xL._AC_SL1000_.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	38.4 KB 
ID:	571055

    Screenshot from Android phone

    Last edited by KobusDJ; 2020/05/11 at 10:40 AM.
    Kobus

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    57
    Posts
    5,187
    Thanked: 1167

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    How secure are those blue ELM327 Bluetooth devices. Everyone knows the password is 1234. It is hard coded on the device. Can someone who drives close to you mess around with your ECU ?
    Kobus

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    39
    Posts
    461
    Thanked: 114

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    I have never tried connecting multiple devices to the ODB2 reader. I don't really think it's a security risk while driving. Had mine permanently plugged on on my TB, had no troubles ever.
    2018 Ford Everest XLT 3.2 4x4 Auto
    2013 Chevrolet Trailblazer 2.8 LTZ 4x4 MT (SOLD)

    Photography : https://500px.com/c0rn3llman5

    My girlfriend asked me to whisper 4 special words into her ear... so I said : "Ons gaan NOU braai!"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    De Wildt
    Age
    57
    Posts
    37,462
    Thanked: 13623

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Quote Originally Posted by KobusDJ View Post
    How secure are those blue ELM327 Bluetooth devices. Everyone knows the password is 1234. It is hard coded on the device. Can someone who drives close to you mess around with your ECU ?
    no, they are senders, not receivers, you can't flash codes with them

    you'd need a proper scanner to be able to reset faults, and even then, most ECUs are not flash programmable without a factory level unit
    2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
    Percivamus

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    39
    Posts
    461
    Thanked: 114

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170518_074837.jpg 
Views:	179 
Size:	74.8 KB 
ID:	571071 This is the setup I had in my TB, used it exactly as what the OP want to do. Tablet is a very old Samsung tablet, I removed it from the windscreen when I parked. It's running the TorquePro software on Android, the ODBII reader is a bluetooth version of the ELM327. You can put together your own dashboard as soon as you can see what measurements the reader can get from your vehicle.
    2018 Ford Everest XLT 3.2 4x4 Auto
    2013 Chevrolet Trailblazer 2.8 LTZ 4x4 MT (SOLD)

    Photography : https://500px.com/c0rn3llman5

    My girlfriend asked me to whisper 4 special words into her ear... so I said : "Ons gaan NOU braai!"

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to CornellMans For This Useful Post:


  13. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Malmesbury
    Posts
    169
    Thanked: 38

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Thanks for the feedback gents. I ordered the device from takealot. Will send back if it does not fit VW.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    cape town
    Age
    53
    Posts
    122
    Thanked: 381

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Just to be clear, (I Did read on the www) if i were to install on my sons Subaru (doesnt have a temp gauge) would it BT to the aftermarket Android head unit we installed?
    Obviously provided the app is loaded unto it.
    SO there could be a permanent "dashboard" type page?

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    39
    Posts
    461
    Thanked: 114

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    It should I guess. When I start up my Android tablet, and start TorqiePro, it automatically connects to the ODBII reader after a few seconds.
    2018 Ford Everest XLT 3.2 4x4 Auto
    2013 Chevrolet Trailblazer 2.8 LTZ 4x4 MT (SOLD)

    Photography : https://500px.com/c0rn3llman5

    My girlfriend asked me to whisper 4 special words into her ear... so I said : "Ons gaan NOU braai!"

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to CornellMans For This Useful Post:


  17. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    70
    Posts
    6,472
    Thanked: 1246

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Quote Originally Posted by dieterf View Post
    Just to be clear, (I Did read on the www) if i were to install on my sons Subaru (doesnt have a temp gauge) would it BT to the aftermarket Android head unit we installed?
    Obviously provided the app is loaded unto it.
    SO there could be a permanent "dashboard" type page?
    Yes
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Ford Figo 2016

  18. #16
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    51
    Posts
    439
    Thanked: 415

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Quote Originally Posted by AWJS View Post
    Thanks for the feedback gents. I ordered the device from takealot. Will send back if it does not fit VW.
    Let us know as well.... I am also keen to try this.

  19. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Malmesbury
    Posts
    169
    Thanked: 38

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Quote Originally Posted by Howie-WP View Post
    Let us know as well.... I am also keen to try this.
    Will do
    Last edited by AWJS; 2020/05/13 at 07:50 AM.

  20. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boksburg
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,302
    Thanked: 162

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    You can try and obtain one from these guys great service price are not to bad as well.
    https://attools.co.za/collections/all

  21. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Centurion, Pretoria, SA
    Age
    67
    Posts
    1,218
    Thanked: 356

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    What I like as well is you can set alarms for temps and voltages on the different Torque displays. Unfortunately no EGT on mine. Works well though.
    Last edited by Sneaky Pete; 2020/05/13 at 10:12 AM.
    SOMETIMES I WAKE UP GRUMPY,
    SOMETIMES I JUST LET HER SLEEP!

  22. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Malmesbury
    Posts
    169
    Thanked: 38

    Default Re: OBDII scanner as additional "dashboard"

    Quote Originally Posted by Sneaky Pete View Post
    What I like as well is you can set alarms for temps and voltages on the different Torque displays. Unfortunately no EGT on mine. Works well though.
    What device and app do you use?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •