Marsabit > Loiyangalani > Sibiloi planning

Default Marsabit > Loiyangalani > Sibiloi planning

Hi forum! I've been lurking for a while and really appreciate the good advice shared here. I'm hoping to join in to share from my experiences and not just take form the group. I'm a Kenyan resident who's road tripped around quite a bit to date: to the Mara, from Nairobi to the coast twice, across Tsavo East and West, up to Samburu, Meru, Lakipia, etc. One of my goals is to visit all of the National Parks (not necessarily the Reserves, that would be a bit too much of a stretch!) and so far I've been to 13 of 23. I managed all of that in a 2wd Rav4, but have just upgraded to a sturdier Nissan Patrol given how much I've enjoyed road trips here.

I'm planning on a 9-10 day trip with friends in early April. The general plan is this:

• drive up to Marsabit National Park, camp there
    • drive to Loiyangalani to stay at Palm Shade Lodge
    • hire a boat to go to South Island National Park
    • boat or drive up to Sibiloi if feasible
    • visit Samburu and Shaba reserves, and possible hiking around Mt Poi, on the way back south to Nairobi

I've been calling around to make plans and have the following questions so far:
    1. How long would you recommend staying in Marsabit NP? A friend who went said it's quite small and if we arrived in the evening, camped, and did a half-day game drive that would be plenty. If you've been, do you think Marsabit NP warrants more than that?
    2. The road from Marsabit to Loiyangalani doesn't sound all that bad; would you recommend only going if driving in a convoy? My impression for now is that it sounds fine for one car, assuming we're well-prepared with spares, etc.