Right fit for an overland newbie

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Lightbulb Right fit for an overland newbie

Hi 4x4 community,

I am a newbie here and this is my first post, so hello to all!
    I have had many laughs and enlightening moments reading threads here, so quite excited.

I am looking for an overland vehicle that's also suitable for daily life use and weekend trips (I know it's going to be a compromise). My first overland trip will be Namibia and Botswana.

My requirements are
    * Max 2 people (for overlanding)
    * R260k max
    * Not super heavy on fuel (that's why I haven't considered any petrol V8's)
    * Reasonable costs in regards to maintenance, spares, depreciation, insurance
    * Mounting a roof rack with roof top tent, awning and possibly water/fuel tanks

After doing some research and test driving I ended up with the following options:

* Jeep Grand Cherokee WK2 Overland CRD
    * Nissan Pathfinder 2.5d or V6 3.0d LE 4x4
    * Pajero Sport 2.5d or 3.2d GLS 4x4
    * Land Rover Discovery 3/4 SDv6 / TDv6

I know these cars are quite different from each other but all are capable enough (objections are welcome).

My impressions so far in a nutshell:

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK2 Overland CRD:
    Strong engine, lots of features, value for bucks, stylish/modern, not much roof space, limited space inside, feels almost like a normal car to drive

Nissan Pathfinder 2.5d or V6 3.0d LE 4x4:
    Nice boxy look, space inside seems enough, 2.5d engine a bit weak, 3.0d is strong and smooth, no idea if there is a diff lock?, driving feels like a good compromise between road and off-road vehicle

Pajero Sport 2.5d or 3.2d GLS 4x4
    Has the most off-road feel out of the four cars (also regarding interior), you can definitely hear and feel you're driving a diesel , inside space limited but space for long roof rack, decent power, apparently very reliable engines, prices relatively high

Land Rover Discovery 3/4 SE (SDv6 / TDv6)