2009 Touareg II 3.6 VR6 - Honest opinions - Should I or shouldn't I?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default 2009 Touareg II 3.6 VR6 - Honest opinions - Should I or shouldn't I?

Dear all

Newbie here, but feel at home reading all the threads and posts.

Here is my story. Audi Centurion traded a 2009 Touareg VR6 and it caught my attention. Here is the lowdown:

Options:
    Upgraded leather option with electric seats
    Satnav
    Fancy interior lights package
    Rear blinds
    18 inch wheel upgrade including spare on the back.

Other observations:
    Bodywork is mint (light blue in colour)
    New Toyo road based tyres
    Standard suspension
    Odo reading 192 000km
    Minimal peeling on buttons
    Full dealer franchise history up to 180 000km, non franchise at 189 000km

Price - R139 990

The particular model seems quite scarce on the SA market and know that if I buy it will probably be with a complimentary wedding band. Another unknown is the fuel consumption I can expect. It does appear from that mechanically the engine is quite reliable. I will not be doing serious offroading.

It will be serviced and maintained by Stephan and he would also need to give his stamp of approval before I proceed.

So - Should I go for it or should I rather keep looking for a diesel V6 instead?

Thank you
    Anton van Graan
    Last edited by OettingerTDi; 2019/10/30 at 02:07 PM.

Default Re: 2009 Touareg II 3.6 VR6 - Honest opinions - Should I or shouldn't I?

If you don't mind the consumption go for it

The VR6 engine is proven.

also no turbo or air suspension to worry about.

2011 VW Touareg V.8 TDI
    2006 VW Touareg 3.0 TDi air suspension aka Pumba ( sold)
    2003 Pajero IO 2.0 aka Bosvark

Default Re: 2009 Touareg II 3.6 VR6 - Honest opinions - Should I or shouldn't I?

Diesel V6's of that mileage will start to have their own maintenance issues. I agree if you can stomach the fuel bills it should be fine.

How does the performance compare the the V6 TDI?