How do the ridgid panels fare on caravans and canapys

Default How do the ridgid panels fare on caravans and canapys

I am new to the solar game but not to electronics and electrix.

Like most, I guess my biggest descision is the PV panels. I am going for 3 by 100W panels which will be mounted on my full length roof top tent only in game parks driving slowly, and on the ground when camping for a few days or so. They will be stashed in the tent while traveling at speed to "get there".
    From a price point of view, it looks like I will be going for the rigid pannels now going at anything between R680 and R1200 each.
    How do these pannels hold up with constant putting up and pulling down and on automotive roof tops.
    What is the latest and greatest in these PV's

The semiflexables would be so much better and I would probably mount them permanently, but Yikes, they cost long bucks. Unless I have missed something??

My system will be a Victron 75/15MPPT with blue tooth,and a BT temp and voltage monitor with 3 by 100 pannels in series all feeding the vechiles second 100AH battery. The system could then be safely removed for camps where it will probally feed a 150AH battery .

Anything fundamentaly wrong with this.

G

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Gengis For This Useful Post:

Default Re: How do the ridgid panels fare on caravans and canapys

I have two 85W rigid panels permantly fixed to my canopy and I have traveled for close to 8 years with them on some of the worst corrugations to be thrown at you in Moz, Botswana, Namibia and good old SA. They stay mounted permanently.

They are extremely robust and you need not worry about that.

Apart from possibly a weight and stowing perspective, I see no advantage in paying that much for the flexible units.
    Nico Swart

Triton 2.5DiD D/C with SS
    ZS6NJS

One day, or Day One. You decide. Tomorrow is promised for no one!

The Flexi Panels were tested by us and they have a very bad efficiency rate.