Clamp Meter for DC amp readings - Page 2





Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 41
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    63
    Posts
    149
    Thanked: 1

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by Fluffy View Post
    That actually looks very good.

    Relative mode can be very handy - my one doesnt have that.
    What does the relative mode do?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hillcrest, Malaysia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    18,554
    Thanked: 5968

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by Bulletjie-3 View Post
    What does the relative mode do?
    You take a reading, store it and then take another reading. The meter displays the difference between the two readings.

    Very handy for looking for things like volt drops. Once you have taken the first reading all subsequent are actual voltage differences. So you dont have to write things down or memorise them and then do the math.
    Cheers

    ZS5KAD
    3 V8's
    NA TwinTurbo SuperCharger
    A V6 and an inline 4

    The frogs are starting to notice that the water is getting warm but it is already too hot to do anything about it.....

  3. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Fluffy For This Useful Post:


  4. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Wartburg
    Age
    59
    Posts
    1,353
    Thanked: 1109

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by Fluffy View Post
    You take a reading, store it and then take another reading. The meter displays the difference between the two readings.

    Very handy for looking for things like volt drops. Once you have taken the first reading all subsequent are actual voltage differences. So you dont have to write things down or memorise them and then do the math.
    It is a handy function. My DC current readings sometimes are not zero before clamping the meter over the cable. I then use the relative mode to "zero" the display.

    Am also very impressed with the UNI-T models. Had one for many years, and lost it at some client's place - unfortunately I did not know which one. Bought this replacement from Banggood a couple of years back.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	clamp.jpg 
Views:	87 
Size:	60.8 KB 
ID:	537931


  5. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to mikeml For This Useful Post:


  6. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    63
    Posts
    149
    Thanked: 1

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by Fluffy View Post
    You take a reading, store it and then take another reading. The meter displays the difference between the two readings.

    Very handy for looking for things like volt drops. Once you have taken the first reading all subsequent are actual voltage differences. So you dont have to write things down or memorise them and then do the math.
    Thanks

  7. #25
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hillcrest, Malaysia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    18,554
    Thanked: 5968

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeml View Post
    It is a handy function. My DC current readings sometimes are not zero before clamping the meter over the cable. I then use the relative mode to "zero" the display.

    Am also very impressed with the UNI-T models. Had one for many years, and lost it at some client's place - unfortunately I did not know which one. Bought this replacement from Banggood a couple of years back.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	clamp.jpg 
Views:	87 
Size:	60.8 KB 
ID:	537931
    Clever.
    Cheers

    ZS5KAD
    3 V8's
    NA TwinTurbo SuperCharger
    A V6 and an inline 4

    The frogs are starting to notice that the water is getting warm but it is already too hot to do anything about it.....

  8. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,848
    Thanked: 949

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    I have this one. Mastech MS2109A from Banggood . US$46-88. (Add a few hundred ZAR for shipping/duties )



    .
    Last edited by KobusDJ; 2019/08/20 at 07:28 PM.
    Kobus

    Nissan

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to KobusDJ For This Useful Post:


  10. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    62
    Posts
    708
    Thanked: 301

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    I can add the Major Tech MT723 which has a temp probe function as well as LED to pick up voltage without making contact with the probes. Also has the relative and hold functions.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to ekkekan For This Useful Post:


  12. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    George
    Posts
    2,760
    Thanked: 1014

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by KobusDJ View Post
    I have this one. Mastech MS2109A from Banggood . US$46-88. (Add a few hundred ZAR for shipping/duties )



    .
    How does that compare to the earlier Uni-T model linked to on banggood?

  13. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Alberton
    Age
    59
    Posts
    472
    Thanked: 662

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    So if I wanted to monitor my secondary battery current draw on an ad hock basis. Could I not, in a permanent installation, wind a ferrite core with enameled copper wire, with the correct ratio of turns, and use this with a normal multi-meter?

    One decimal place accuracy would be more than sufficient.

    If this is possible how does one go about this?
    Last edited by Andrew Leigh; 2019/08/20 at 09:57 PM.

  14. #30
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hillcrest, Malaysia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    18,554
    Thanked: 5968

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Leigh View Post
    So if I wanted to monitor my secondary battery current draw on an ad hock basis. Could I not, in a permanent installation, wind a ferrite core with enameled copper wire, with the correct ratio of turns, and use this with a normal multi-meter?

    One decimal place accuracy would be more than sufficient.

    If this is possible how does one go about this?
    Nope, wonít work for DC only AC.

    Itís a transformer function. Requires fluctuating magnetic flux.

    What you are attempting is a transformer. Only works with AC, not DC.
    Cheers

    ZS5KAD
    3 V8's
    NA TwinTurbo SuperCharger
    A V6 and an inline 4

    The frogs are starting to notice that the water is getting warm but it is already too hot to do anything about it.....

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Fluffy For This Useful Post:


  16. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,848
    Thanked: 949

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by Skylark View Post
    How does that compare to the earlier Uni-T model linked to on banggood?
    The only way to compare is to look at the specs for both. (Available in the separate links) .
    Kobus

    Nissan

  17. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Walker Bay
    Age
    76
    Posts
    9,063
    Thanked: 1020

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Kobus - several brands mentioned in this thread. Which one are you ordering?

    ďAfrica changes you forever, like nowhere on earth. Once you have been there, you will never be the same." - Ernest Hemingway

  18. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Polokwane
    Age
    53
    Posts
    659
    Thanked: 467

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    If the experts concur I will be ordering the UNI-T UT210E

    Main features

    1. Ultra-portable tools for advance electricians
    2. 100A AC and DC current measurement with 1mA resolution
    3. True RMS response for AC current
    4. V.F.C function for measuring signal at variable frequency
    5. 600V AC and DC voltage measurement
    6. Resistance, diode, continuity and capacitance functions
    7. Non-contact voltage detection with LED indication
    8. Display backlight
    9. Data HOLD, MAX, MIN, MAX-MIN, and ZERO model


    https://www.banggood.com/UNI-T-UT210...r_warehouse=CN
    Last edited by DC Polokwane; 2019/08/21 at 09:33 AM.
    Jeep Grand Cherokee 2002 4.7 V8

  19. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to DC Polokwane For This Useful Post:


  20. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    George
    Posts
    2,760
    Thanked: 1014

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by KobusDJ View Post
    The only way to compare is to look at the specs for both. (Available in the separate links) .
    In my experience its better not to rely solely on specs with cheaper tools, real world user feedback is better, that being said Uni-T definitely has a good reputation for being decent quality and excellent value for money.

    I can't wait to get a ac/dc clamp meter, so convenient, looks like my Fluke will be sent to the back of the cupboard or the classifieds

  21. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Kimberley / Edenvale
    Posts
    38
    Thanked: 45

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by Uys View Post
    I think I posted the wrong one then. Mine can definitely do it.
    Hi Uys, then you have a very nice meter. Last time I checked the checked the cheapest Fluke that can do DC amps is the 325 costing over R6000-00 ,so out of reach for most hobbyist like us, but we dont all have the same sized wallets so maybe you take your hobbies more serious.


    Its fairly simple to measure AC amps, as with AC you can couple a current transformer ( the clamp of the meter) to the cable you are measuring as die alternating current will induce current in the clamp meter.

    With the DC cannot induce a current in the clamp meters clamp. Rather we make use of the Hall Effect which is bit more expensive to implement.

    The other option which also the cheapest way to measure DC amps is to measure the voltage over a current shunt.

    Most multi meter can measure DC amp but you have to connect the meter in series with the circuit.

    Most Fluke deaths can be attributed to incorrect usages while being used for DC current measurements ( in series measurements not DC clamp meters)

  22. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,848
    Thanked: 949

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    I already have the Mastech MS2109A

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Dold View Post
    Kobus - several brands mentioned in this thread. Which one are you ordering?
    Kobus

    Nissan

  23. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Plett/Paulshof
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,772
    Thanked: 771

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by Skylark View Post
    In my experience its better not to rely solely on specs with cheaper tools, real world user feedback is better, that being said Uni-T definitely has a good reputation for being decent quality and excellent value for money.

    I can't wait to get a ac/dc clamp meter, so convenient, looks like my Fluke will be sent to the back of the cupboard or the classifieds
    Contact me if you want to sell your Fluke...pm me details pls.
    2016 LC 200 VX, 2014 D4 SDV6 HSE(sold),2015 Suzuki Jimny, 2019 VW Tiguan 4mtion 2.0tsi(work vehicle), "A little Red Car", Swambo 2013 A3 Sportback Quattro, Bush Lapa Baobab 1873, Fusion 17 boat-Yamaha FT100hp 4st.

  24. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceHun For This Useful Post:


  25. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    George
    Posts
    2,760
    Thanked: 1014

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by KobusDJ View Post
    I already have the Mastech MS2109A
    The leads on the MASTECH look like they are very nice quality?

    That normally bodes well with multimeters

  26. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Oppierotse
    Age
    55
    Posts
    1,714
    Thanked: 222

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Fluke = 11.45mA and Uni = 11mA
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	001 (800x600).jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	283.8 KB 
ID:	539153

    Fluke = 3.89mA and Uni = 4mA
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	004 (800x600).jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	271.6 KB 
ID:	539154

    Fluke = 0.2A and Uni = 193mA
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	006 (800x600).jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	290.1 KB 
ID:	539155

    Fluke = 1.87A and Uni = 1.86A
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	007 (800x600).jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	284.4 KB 
ID:	539156
    98 Hilux 2.8D D/C 4x4

  27. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to wiel For This Useful Post:


  28. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    George
    Posts
    2,760
    Thanked: 1014

    Default Re: Clamp Meter for DC amp readings

    Quote Originally Posted by wiel View Post
    Fluke = 11.45mA and Uni = 11mA
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	001 (800x600).jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	283.8 KB 
ID:	539153

    Fluke = 3.89mA and Uni = 4mA
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	004 (800x600).jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	271.6 KB 
ID:	539154

    Fluke = 0.2A and Uni = 193mA
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	006 (800x600).jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	290.1 KB 
ID:	539155

    Fluke = 1.87A and Uni = 1.86A
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	007 (800x600).jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	284.4 KB 
ID:	539156
    Thanks for posting that, for most peoples purposes that level of accuracy should be plenty, will do for 99% of the time.

  29. The Following User Says Thank You to Skylark For This Useful Post:


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •