Discovery 2: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?





Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melkbosstrand
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,628
    Thanked: 349

    Default Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    So I'm back in a D2 TD5 and my Hawkeye was liberated years ago.
    What is available nowadays that talks to all the ECU's on the D2?
    Also, any used ones lying around that you no longer want?
    Rob
    V8 Defender 90 pickup. Lexus, Spitronics, 33" KL71, beadlocks, +2" Terrafirma, ATB's, 3.75 CW&P, 1.21 TC.
    Series IIA 88" pickup
    Disco 2 ES TD5
    Disco 1 ES 300TDi
    Subaru impreza WRX
    Porsche Boxster S
    Shamrock Cobra 350
    MG TF160 VVC ZandF remapped
    Buell XB12R

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    38
    Posts
    310
    Thanked: 13

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    i still like and use nanocom - find it easier to use than the hawkeye
    TD5 Disco... again
    Lotus 7

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kempton Park
    Age
    52
    Posts
    661
    Thanked: 58

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Using a Hawkeye. Wish however that it could do a bit more i.e. EKA codes, Key Fobs etc.
    .................................................. ......
    Gary W


    Discovery 2 (Td5) Best 4x4xfar
    BMW GS 1200 Adventure. For when the road ends...
    Jurgens XT120..home away from home.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,793
    Thanked: 1569

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    I have the Nanocom and it serves my needs well.
    If you need to do anything before you buy whichever you choose, let me know and you can use mine.

    I go back to work at month end, FYI.
    Cheers,
    John

    Rover P6
    Land Rover Discovery II Td5 Manual
    Range Rover P38 HSE
    Moto Guzzi LeMans
    Aprilia Tuono V2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hillcrest, Malaysia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    18,546
    Thanked: 5948

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnoK View Post
    I have the Nanocom and it serves my needs well.
    If you need to do anything before you buy whichever you choose, let me know and you can use mine.

    I go back to work at month end, FYI.
    Is your Nanocom not VIN tied ?
    Mine is, the open version is/was about R70K more.
    Cheers

    ZS5KAD
    3 V8's
    NA TwinTurbo SuperCharger
    A V6 and an inline 4

    The frogs are starting to notice that the water is getting warm but it is already too hot to do anything about it.....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,793
    Thanked: 1569

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    No, it is model tied via software downloads, but not to VIN.
    I believe the Hawkeyes are VIN tied.

    I bought mine as a D2+Td5 and then added GEMS+THOR+P38.
    When you add different models, you also require the appropriate cable for the vehicle.
    My P38 and the 2 V8s was around 160 Euros, I already had the cable, but that is about 45 Euro.
    Cheers,
    John

    Rover P6
    Land Rover Discovery II Td5 Manual
    Range Rover P38 HSE
    Moto Guzzi LeMans
    Aprilia Tuono V2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Romania/Hungary
    Age
    52
    Posts
    559
    Thanked: 114

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Foxwell NT520 Pro (unlocked for LR) is cheaper and smarter that Hawkeye and dooesnt need any dongles.
    2000 Discovery Td5 ES manual, tuned

    Hawkeye v.6, Nanocom EVO,
    VDM UCANDAS, oscilloscope


    i DON'T ANSWER TO TECHNICAL QUESTIONS IN PM'S

    ALL MY ADVICES ARE BASED ON MY OWN EXPERIENCE AND MY WAY OF UNDERSTANDING THE DESCRIPTION AND OPERATION OF SYSTEMS... I'M NOT A LAND ROVER SPECIALIST JUST AN ADDICTED ENTHUSIAST

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Edenvale
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,430
    Thanked: 707

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Quote Originally Posted by sierrafery View Post
    Foxwell NT520 Pro (unlocked for LR) is cheaper and smarter that Hawkeye and dooesnt need any dongles.
    Does it work on a TD5?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Langebaanweg
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,137
    Thanked: 766

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    I only need something for the immobilizer.

    Lots of money for so little.
    '07 Land Rover Defender 110 TDI 300 Kalahari (Meisiekind˛)

    84' Land Rover Defender 110 V8 4-speed Hardtop (Meisiekind) Sold after 12 years of fun and hard work




    The only thing needed for evil to triumph is for a good man to do nothing.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,793
    Thanked: 1569

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Quote Originally Posted by jfh View Post
    I only need something for the immobilizer.
    Once or regularly?
    Cheers,
    John

    Rover P6
    Land Rover Discovery II Td5 Manual
    Range Rover P38 HSE
    Moto Guzzi LeMans
    Aprilia Tuono V2

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kempton Park
    Age
    52
    Posts
    661
    Thanked: 58

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Was playing around with the Hawkeye on the Disco 2 over the weekend, and I noticed under the Menu Chassis - Security the Hawkeye has an option for "BLIP Programming"

    Ran through the menu using my current key-FOB and it indicated that "Current BLIP does not need programming", and then "Would you like to add another BLIP"

    Does this mean one can program additional key FOB's?
    .................................................. ......
    Gary W


    Discovery 2 (Td5) Best 4x4xfar
    BMW GS 1200 Adventure. For when the road ends...
    Jurgens XT120..home away from home.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    55
    Posts
    2,816
    Thanked: 234

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsotsi View Post
    Was playing around with the Hawkeye on the Disco 2 over the weekend, and I noticed under the Menu Chassis - Security the Hawkeye has an option for "BLIP Programming"Ran through the menu using my current key-FOB and it indicated that "Current BLIP does not need programming", and then "Would you like to add another BLIP"Does this mean one can program additional key FOB's?
    Yes, but you will need the 2 long codes that comes with a new key. The Nanocom can do FOB programming only using the code inside a key. So it can programme any 2nd hand key to the BCU.
    2006 VW Touareg 4.2 V8 Auto
    2000 Disco 2 GS 4.6 V8 Auto
    2013 Wildebeest Kalfie Boswa
    2002 Audi S6 4.2 V8 quattro

    ORRA Z07

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Edenvale
    Age
    52
    Posts
    1,430
    Thanked: 707

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsotsi View Post
    Was playing around with the Hawkeye on the Disco 2 over the weekend, and I noticed under the Menu Chassis - Security the Hawkeye has an option for "BLIP Programming"

    Ran through the menu using my current key-FOB and it indicated that "Current BLIP does not need programming", and then "Would you like to add another BLIP"

    Does this mean one can program additional key FOB's?
    I bought a new fob on bay for GBP50 and used my nanocom to program it to the vehicle. If I remember correctly there are 5 codes you can add, so you can have max 5 keys at any one time.

    I was surprised at how easily it can be done, as long as when you open up the fob there is the code on the actual board or the new key comes with the code.

    See here for the code on the fob board..

    https://www.4x4community.co.za/forum...ent?highlight=
    Last edited by NewLandy; 2019/09/11 at 01:11 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Cape Town
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,793
    Thanked: 1569

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Quote Originally Posted by TwinDisco View Post
    Yes, but you will need the 2 long codes that comes with a new key. The Nanocom can do FOB programming only using the code inside a key. So it can programme any 2nd hand key to the BCU.
    I have a question regarding the key's chip...
    I bought a key on E-bay and the sticker on the chip is damaged and I can't read all the letters...
    Is it possible to somehow "read" the chip to extract the 6 digit code so I can use the fob?
    Cheers,
    John

    Rover P6
    Land Rover Discovery II Td5 Manual
    Range Rover P38 HSE
    Moto Guzzi LeMans
    Aprilia Tuono V2

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    55
    Posts
    2,816
    Thanked: 234

    Default Re: Hawkeye, Nanocom or others?

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnoK View Post
    I have a question regarding the key's chip...
    I bought a key on E-bay and the sticker on the chip is damaged and I can't read all the letters...
    Is it possible to somehow "read" the chip to extract the 6 digit code so I can use the fob?
    Unfortunately no..
    2006 VW Touareg 4.2 V8 Auto
    2000 Disco 2 GS 4.6 V8 Auto
    2013 Wildebeest Kalfie Boswa
    2002 Audi S6 4.2 V8 quattro

    ORRA Z07

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to TwinDisco For This Useful Post:


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •