T4A first time confusion





Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jhb
    Age
    74
    Posts
    408
    Thanked: 67

    Default T4A first time confusion

    Please help:
    I have just bought T4A and want to start using it but have the following questions:
    1. I was told that when inserting the SD card into the Garmin you must not select "Install" as it will wipe the program off the SD card,
    Good, so you should just use T4A directly off the card. I assume you can then still use the SD card in another Garmin? or on your PC?
    2. I will install Base camp on my laptop.
    Must I then "Install" T4A on my laptop? If I do that will it not wipe T4A off the SD card? and it will then not work when the SD card is in the GPS?
    I would like to clarify these issues before I proceed and destroy something!
    Thanks, Ron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,793
    Thanked: 901

    Default Re: T4A first time confusion

    I don't think Install will erase anything off the Card.

    Here is what I would do:
    Insert the SD Card into the GPS. Connect GPS with USB cable to the PC.
    You will see 2 folders in Windows explorer under My Computer/This PC: One will be the GPS internal memory and the other the CD Card.
    Make a new folder in My Documents. Name it something like SDCardT4A. Copy the contents of the SD Card on the GPS and paste it into this new folder.
    Disconnect the USB cable when done.
    Now you have a backup of your T4A SD Card and you can run the Install from this folder without the fear of losing any of the data on the card.

    .
    Last edited by KobusDJ; 2019/07/13 at 01:14 PM.
    Kobus

    HDJ81 VX

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jhb
    Age
    74
    Posts
    408
    Thanked: 67

    Default Re: T4A first time confusion

    Thank you Kobus.
    Will do that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jhb
    Age
    74
    Posts
    408
    Thanked: 67

    Default Re: T4A first time confusion

    I tried to do as Kobus suggested.
    You cannot copy the memory card.
    When I open the memory card it has six folders. You can copy and paste these folders individually but when you try to open them on the PC I get a file corrupted message.
    I must be doing something wrong?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jhb
    Age
    74
    Posts
    408
    Thanked: 67

    Default Re: T4A first time confusion

    Sorted

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Swakopmund
    Age
    49
    Posts
    2,915
    Thanked: 530

    Default Re: T4A first time confusion

    Quote Originally Posted by RonS View Post
    Sorted
    Please enlighten us, how?
    2012 FJ Cruiser
    1983 FJ60 Landcruiser

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jhb
    Age
    74
    Posts
    408
    Thanked: 67

    Default Re: T4A first time confusion

    Hi HugoNott,
    To be quite honest I am not sure!!
    I had windows 7 Professional on my laptop and it is supposed to be compatible with T4A.
    I then had it upgraded to Windows 10 and tried all the steps again.
    After about the third attempt it worked!
    The SD card copied onto the laptop and i can use the maps with BaseCamp.
    I can now open BaseCamp anytime on my laptop and start using it.
    I am not convinced that Windows 7 was the problem.

    I then copied the T4A SD card from my laptop to my desktop using a memory stick. I downloaded BaseCamp from the internet onto my desktop. But every time I want to use Base Camp a window pops up with two options:
    1. Uninstall,
    2. Close.
    I need to open the files on the folder T4A SD Card and open the PC install file which installs the T4A maps again.
    After installing it asks if you want to launch BaseCamp and Mapsource.
    After doing that I can use Base Camp and the T4A maps.
    I need to repeat this whole procedure every time for my desktop (but not my laptop) before I can use BaseCamp, not sure why??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,793
    Thanked: 901

    Default Re: T4A first time confusion

    This sounds like a very tedious process. It should be straight forward.
    1. Download and install BaseCamp.
    2. Copy the contents of the T4A SDCard to your Documents in a folder for safekeeping/backup
    3. Install the T4A mapset from this folder.
    That should do it.
    .

    Quote Originally Posted by RonS View Post
    .... I downloaded BaseCamp from the internet onto my desktop. But every time I want to use Base Camp a window pops up with two options:
    1. Uninstall,
    2. Close.
    .....
    Are you not trying to execute the install file (again) from the desktop? Is there not a Garmin Basecamp shortcut under the Windows Start Menu ?
    Kobus

    HDJ81 VX

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jhb
    Age
    74
    Posts
    408
    Thanked: 67

    Default Re: T4A first time confusion

    Kobus, Thank you for your help. I uninstalled BaseCamp and downloaded it again and exactly the same happened.
    I then checked the Windows startup menu, found BaseCamp, clicked on it and it immediately opened up.
    Now I just need to spend more hours/days learning how to use it!!
    Thanks again. Ron

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •