Second hand vehicle pricing

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Second hand vehicle pricing

Hi all
    So I have been scouting for a 4x4 for the past 2 to 3 months now.
    2 question may be someone has some insight into.

1. Why are cars in Jhb and surrounding normally 20k cheaper like for like than in Cape Town.

2. When did it become normal for private sellers to ask the same if not more than stealers.

I have been looking for a something in the range of 180k to 250k and whats on offer is mostly crazy. Were private sellers are wanting rediculous money for their 2010 or 2012 with 220k km + on the clock.
    Last edited by Justme29; 2019/05/05 at 04:25 PM.

Default Re: Second hand vehicle pricing

Jhb market is just so much bigger, ie more supply than other areas hence prices generally need to drop to compensate.

4x4s are normally enthusiasts vehicles hence they probably value them higher than the typical private seller.

All things being equal dealer prices being the same or cheaper than private sellers is not a trend I'm aware of.

Ok quick example not trying to bash anyone or anything like that. You are allowed to ask what ever price you want for your vehicle.

I am going to to look at a 2013 isuzu 250dtec with 145k km on the clock tomorrow at a dealer with fsh

Then someone private is advertising a 2014 same bakkie spec with same mileage for 40k more.

I mean really 40k more for 1 year newer.
    And I have noticed a few examples of this.
    Once again just stating something I have noticed. Everyone can ask whatever they want.

My father used to catch a bus from Tzaneen to JHB every month, buy a car, drive it back and then sell it for 30% more.

It's all about the market...
    Stay Safe
    Disco-Deon
    This morning I woke up,
    Making today a great day.
    Nerdy, 2011 Honda Jazz, 1500 Exc

5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Disco-Deon For This Useful Post: