After buying a 4x4 what should the first item be to spend money on improving it?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default After buying a 4x4 what should the first item be to spend money on improving it?

I am no expert, but I believe I have stumbled on the answer to that question.
    At first I thought it would be better tires, then maybe followed by some recovery points and protection plates, but now after guiding a lot of drivers with different kinds of vehicles and widely varying experience levels I have come to the conclusion that it should be fuel. I am willing to discuss it and consider other suggestions, but I am willi g to put money on it that fuel to drive it and gain experience will come out top in the end.

The trails I made is turning out to be much more a test of driver ability than vehicle ability, and I have seen experienced drivers in standard pickups do it easier than others in modified cruisers. Just the ability of a driver to react correctly to the instructions from a spotter makes a big difference, and knowing what line to take is more important than an extra difflock.

2. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Bex For This Useful Post:

Default Re: After buying a 4x4 what should the first item be to spend money on improving it?

Training is the most valuable addition to your new 4X4
    Stay Safe
    Disco-Deon
    This morning I woke up,
    Making today a great day.
    Nerdy, 2011 Honda Jazz, 1500 Exc

4. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Disco-Deon For This Useful Post:

Default Re: After buying a 4x4 what should the first item be to spend money on improving it?

+1 for training, nr 2 good pair of rock sliders.
    Mitsubishi Triton DC 3.2 A/T 4X4
    2007 Hilux 2.5 D4D SOLD

Quote Originally Posted by Bex View Post