Card in GPS locked





Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Walker Bay
    Age
    75
    Posts
    8,886
    Thanked: 863

    Default Card in GPS locked

    Help please (Lizette or anyone else from T4A)!

    I want to add some data to the card in my Garmin GPS but Win 10 says the card is locked. The only info on the card currently is T4A and Garmin. I am wondering whether T4A or Garmin locks these cards to prevent copying or if there is some other problem?
    Last edited by Paul Dold; 2019/02/04 at 09:09 AM.

    ďAfrica changes you forever, like nowhere on earth. Once you have been there, you will never be the same." - Ernest Hemingway

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Gaborone, Botswana
    Age
    56
    Posts
    4,739
    Thanked: 843

    Default Re: Card in GPS locked

    What brand card is it? Size?

    Did you buy it with the maps pre-loaded?

    Locking the card will not stop you from copying the data. It must be readable (else it will not work ). My guess is it may be defective.
    Kobus

    HDJ81 VX

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Walker Bay
    Age
    75
    Posts
    8,886
    Thanked: 863

    Default Re: Card in GPS locked

    Transcend 8 Gig.
    Works fine in the GPS.
    I bought it myself - nothing to do with T4A.

    ďAfrica changes you forever, like nowhere on earth. Once you have been there, you will never be the same." - Ernest Hemingway

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    PE & North Africa
    Posts
    464
    Thanked: 245

    Default Re: Card in GPS locked

    Paul, long shot but are you using a Micro SD adapter for the card in the computer card reader?

    If so, check that adapter, on the left is a very small grey tab, it can move. UP is "open" and DOWN is "locked"

    Hope this helps.

    Grumbles
    2008 Fortuner 3.0 D-4D 4x4 "Sushi the Tuna"
    2018 Baobab 4 - B1543 "Nala"


    Bacon fact #18 - Bacon is Healthier than Crystal Meth!




  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Walker Bay
    Age
    75
    Posts
    8,886
    Thanked: 863

    Default Re: Card in GPS locked

    Thanks but no adapter is being used.
    Also these tiny cards don't have a switch on the side.
    Last edited by Paul Dold; 2019/02/06 at 07:53 AM.

    ďAfrica changes you forever, like nowhere on earth. Once you have been there, you will never be the same." - Ernest Hemingway

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    PE & North Africa
    Posts
    464
    Thanked: 245

    Default Re: Card in GPS locked

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Dold View Post
    Thanks but no adapter is being used.
    Also these tiny cards don't have a switch on the side.
    Not sure then, I know the small (Micro SD) does not have a switch, only the adapter has.

    Hope you come right.

    Grumbles
    2008 Fortuner 3.0 D-4D 4x4 "Sushi the Tuna"
    2018 Baobab 4 - B1543 "Nala"


    Bacon fact #18 - Bacon is Healthier than Crystal Meth!




  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Somerset West
    Posts
    256
    Thanked: 105

    Default Re: Card in GPS locked

    Hi Paul,

    Apologies I only see this now, somehow my notifications for this forum got turned off. Did you get the card sorted?

    Regards

    Lizette
    Lizette Swart

    [email protected]
    +27 21 880 8660
    www.tracks4africa.co.za

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •