Advice or Help! on Cam Bearing Wear

Default Advice or Help! on Cam Bearing Wear

Hi all,
    I have been working on my 300tdi engine for the last 2 months after blowing a big end. It's quite a drama and an expensive one but I'm nearing the finish line. (I hope)

I've had the Block machined, bought a 2nd hand Crank and had the journals polished, new bearings all around, new pistons & rings, new oil pump gears, and new Water pump.

Yesterday I was about to put the Cam back in when I notice that the front Cam bearing is a bit worn at the bottom. It is still covered with soft metal but if you're aware the Cam has an oil groove that sits in this bearing and it is worn where this groove rests. Mainly at the bottom of the bearing and it has left a small ridge in the bearing.

To replace it is a nightmare because I have to take it back to the Machinist and that will cost me another week of waiting as well as $$$ but then again......I don't want to pull this engine out again. I'm too old.

So, I am asking for advice on the importance of oil pressure (mainly) with a slightly worn front Cam bearing?
    The rest of the cam bearings seem fine.

My initial thought was to ignore it but then I start vacillating and can't make a decision. Help!!
    Last edited by Peppercorn; 2019/02/24 at 11:02 PM.

Default Re: Advice or Help! on Cam Bearing Wear

You certainly went through a lot.

I am sure the experts on Landys will respond soon with some good advice.

I hope all your sweat and tears will pay off in the end.
    Hermanator

Herman Smit

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Hermanator For This Useful Post:

unfortunately, it literally becomes a business decision - what do you stand to lose if it fails?