Richards Bay Fishing Spots

Default Richards Bay Fishing Spots

I am going to Richards Bay in March to try some deep sea fishing. This is my first time to RB and would appreciate any help on offer. Have room for on crew if interested! Launching from harbor , would Richards Bay Ski Boat Club or Meerensee accommodate a visitor?

Default Re: Richards Bay Fishing Spots

Launch at the ski boat club. They have visitors launching there all the time.

Enjoy your trip!

Spoor ( Danie) here on the forum is a very experienced skipper, he should be able to help with advice.
    "Stare, pry, listen, eavesdrop. Die knowing something, you are not here long"
    Walker Evans, Photographer

We leaving on Wednesday for Sodwana , 6 days of Marlin Fishing , my first time in that area , will try and find out some info for you

Enjoy the trip!! Very jealous

Hi,

I will be fishing RB from 11 to 15 Feb...

Can give some feedback after that...

You can pay a day rate to launch from the RB ski boat club or buy a week pass (for non-members)...

http://www.skiboatclub.co.za/

This will be my first time fishing RB as well....

2017 Mitsubishi Triton 2.4 D/C 4X4 6 Auto Diesel
    Lynx Bashplate

DIY Drawer system
    DIY Drop Fridge Slide
    My ULTIMATE dual battery box

Are you allowed to leave the harbour? I know that from the DBn Ski Boat club, you don't touch the harbour so no issues, however to leave via the harbour entrance, there is another requirement with a oral quiz from the port captain from what I understand. This covers all those that leave from Point Yacht Club, the public slipway, Durban boat owners, Finlands etc I think.

Has not been an issue for me as we leave via the beach, but would be surprised if RB does not have a similar requirement to leave the harbour mouth? Worth checking before you commit?

Perhaps a local can comment?

Quote Originally Posted by stephenplumb View Post