PO131 error code




Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default PO131 error code

    My Chev Aveo Auto 1.6 shows up " low voltage on Heated Oxygen sensor (Ho2S) 1, bank 1.

    Any ideas what to look for ?

    Consumption is exactly as it should be in fact may have improved slightly since the message came up ?
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Cape Town or Jansenville or missing...
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,486
    Thanked: 3060

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    It most likely means your upstream O2 sensor has failed. This happened on my smart fortwo once.

    The upstream O2 sensor is used to measure the air/fuel ratio and tell the fuel injection system to enrich or lean out the mixture, in a "closed loop" system.

    If the sensor fails, the ECU will revert to "open loop" and a set air/fuel ratio curve will be used. This usually means reduced efficiency, poor running and increased consumption, but if the O2 sensor has been sending dodgy signals for a while, open loop running might bring an improvement (but still not ideal)

    Unless there's an obvious break in the wiring, the only cure is a new O2 sensor. They are not repairable items. Some say you can clean them but in my experience this is only temporary.

    The upside is they are easy to fit. One spanner, one plug. Just don't drop the new sensor, they are fragile.

    As a "get you home" measure, you can often swap the upstream and downstream O2 sensors. On most cheapies these are identical. The CEL will still illuminate, but this will be for a perceived emissions fault, and the engine will run much better in closed loop.
    Last edited by Johan Slabbert; 2018/09/09 at 04:12 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Thanks Johan. Should the sensor going into the catalyst converter which I can see be powered 12v if I test it with motor running?
    If it has power then I presume I need to buy new one..
    More confusion is we have just returned from 250 k trip and fuel consumption seems even better than last weeks refill.
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Cape Town or Jansenville or missing...
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,486
    Thanked: 3060

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Sorry Duncan I only saw this now.

    From what you describe, your sensor is fine but the heating circuit has failed, usually at the element. The 12V you mention is supposed to drive that heater.

    An O2 sensor only works when it's up to temperature, so the newer ones are electrically heated to help them spew out useful data sooner and get the car out of the richer "warm up" maps into normal running. All in the quest of better emissions and fuel consumption.

    If the heater fails, the O2 sensor will still work when it's hot, so your consumption may suffer less the further you drive. It's less then ideal though so it still throws an error.

    Like the sensor itself the heater element is not repairable, it's integrated. Test for continuity on the heater terminals, if it's blown the only cure is a new sensor.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Quote Originally Posted by Johan Slabbert View Post
    Sorry Duncan I only saw this now.

    From what you describe, your sensor is fine but the heating circuit has failed, usually at the element. The 12V you mention is supposed to drive that heater.

    An O2 sensor only works when it's up to temperature, so the newer ones are electrically heated to help them spew out useful data sooner and get the car out of the richer "warm up" maps into normal running. All in the quest of better emissions and fuel consumption.

    If the heater fails, the O2 sensor will still work when it's hot, so your consumption may suffer less the further you drive. It's less then ideal though so it still throws an error.

    Like the sensor itself the heater element is not repairable, it's integrated. Test for continuity on the heater terminals, if it's blown the only cure is a new sensor.
    Super. Thanks that makes sense. Will check with tester.
    Regards
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Cape Town or Jansenville or missing...
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,486
    Thanked: 3060

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Quote Originally Posted by duncang View Post
    Super. Thanks that makes sense. Will check with tester.
    Regards
    Only a pleasure.

    Oh and these sensors are usually so generic, you can likely get a perfectly workable compatible one at Midas for a fraction of the agents price.

    I think on my smart it was R120 vs R800, but that was like 7 years ago...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Quote Originally Posted by Johan Slabbert View Post
    Only a pleasure.

    Oh and these sensors are usually so generic, you can likely get a perfectly workable compatible one at Midas for a fraction of the agents price.

    I think on my smart it was R120 vs R800, but that was like 7 years ago...
    Morning. Got the connector apart. No continuity on sensor.
    Voltage on power side is nil when car off.
    .20 when ignt on and also .20 when car running.
    Does that sound right?
    Ta
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Cape Town or Jansenville or missing...
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,486
    Thanked: 3060

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Quote Originally Posted by duncang View Post
    Morning. Got the connector apart. No continuity on sensor.
    Voltage on power side is nil when car off.
    .20 when ignt on and also .20 when car running.
    Does that sound right?
    Ta
    How many wires does the sensor have?

    If you can, swap it with the downstream sensor and see if the problem migrates with the sensor.

    Iím 95% sure you need to buy a new sensor though

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    2 wires. Spoke to Bosch. Must find number on it as there are 8 types.....going there later today.
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Cape Town or Jansenville or missing...
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,486
    Thanked: 3060

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    95% became 99%

    If itís a 2 wire sensor itís not heated, sorry I should have asked that earlier.

    As these sensors age they become erratic, Iím sure a new one will cancel the error and avoid further problems down the line

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    De Wildt
    Age
    56
    Posts
    32,736
    Thanked: 8113

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Sensors get dirty and coated and then fail.
    2012 Jeep Sahara Unlimited 3.6 V6
    Ela Diablo: Land Rover S2A 109 PUP: SOLD

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to jelo For This Useful Post:


  13. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Thanks guys, now for the curve ball.....
    Looking at consumption today it seems I'm heading for another record low usage ??
    Cars running smoothly, consumption down.
    Sleeping dogs or am I buggering something up by leaving it?
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Cape Town or Jansenville or missing...
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,486
    Thanked: 3060

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Quote Originally Posted by duncang View Post
    Thanks guys, now for the curve ball.....
    Looking at consumption today it seems I'm heading for another record low usage ??
    Cars running smoothly, consumption down.
    Sleeping dogs or am I buggering something up by leaving it?
    The error code is tripped by out of spec readings, it doesnít necessarily mean the sensor has failed, yet. (Julias)

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Yes. Error says low voltage not no voltage.
    Going to test voltage from sensor wires with car running.
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pretoria East
    Age
    33
    Posts
    509
    Thanked: 6

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    HAd the same issue on my wifes Aveo 1.5LS. New Sensor from agent R2300. ASAP in PTA West R500 for new unit and seems to have cleared the issue. Just check where the sensor is. Mine was on the side of the exhaust manilfold. Need a special tool. And then you need to modify it to fit. I have the tool and have modified it to fit the sensor if its on the side of the manifold
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Jcw For This Useful Post:


  18. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Cape Town or Jansenville or missing...
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,486
    Thanked: 3060

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Quote Originally Posted by duncang View Post
    Yes. Error says low voltage not no voltage.
    Going to test voltage from sensor wires with car running.
    Testing them is not as simple as it sounds, if not heated, there isn't much you can do with a mulltimeter.

    Swap the upstream (before the CAT) one with the downstream (after or in the CAT) and see if the problem migrates with the sensor.

    I'm not sure where these are located on the Aveo but in most cars I've seen it's a 5 minute job to swap them.

  19. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pretoria East
    Age
    33
    Posts
    509
    Thanked: 6

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    As far as the manual I have for the Aveo there is only 1 Oxygen sensor that is just before the CAT. Hopefully the sensor is not on the side but on the front.

    If you need to use the tool pop around to my place.

  20. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Cape Town or Jansenville or missing...
    Age
    38
    Posts
    10,486
    Thanked: 3060

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Quote Originally Posted by Jcw View Post
    As far as the manual I have for the Aveo there is only 1 Oxygen sensor that is just before the CAT. Hopefully the sensor is not on the side but on the front.

    If you need to use the tool pop around to my place.
    I must admit while my knowledge of O2 sensors is okay, I know nothing about the Aveo. My neighbors has one, it's red. That's all

  21. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Quote Originally Posted by Jcw View Post
    As far as the manual I have for the Aveo there is only 1 Oxygen sensor that is just before the CAT. Hopefully the sensor is not on the side but on the front.

    If you need to use the tool pop around to my place.
    Thanks yes, comes out thru the tin plate on the front. Easy to see. 2 wires.
    Just back from Bosch. They told me to leave well alone and only change if light comes on.
    Regarding consumption they tell me these often give faulty info re fuel mixture so explains my better figures now that it shows as being faulty.
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

  22. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rangeview Krugersdorp
    Age
    69
    Posts
    5,941
    Thanked: 847

    Default Re: PO131 error code

    Here
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180912_145222.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	183.4 KB 
ID:	501895   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1536744079283.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	224.8 KB 
ID:	501896  
    There is no task too simple for some people to complicate !



    Chev Aveo and Atos and Polo.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •