Electricians Question




Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Centurion + Others
    Age
    59
    Posts
    2,656
    Thanked: 159

    Default Electricians Question

    Morning EXPERTS.

    We about to wire a new pool pump/filter setup.

    is it legal to run a cable from the pump supply another waterproof plug point about 15m away?

    if so - what is the correct type of cable?

    shielded cable ?? cerfex/serfix

    thanks

    cc
    Merit before Race - anything else IS Racism.
    Stay Calm, engage low-ratio, keep buggering on - a Landy Man
    Longevity isn't worth dying for,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Harties
    Posts
    1,164
    Thanked: 363

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    2.5mm2 twin and earth in conduit.
    Or SWA cable.
    Last edited by PRA; 2018/08/11 at 08:19 AM.
    Fortuner D4D
    Jurgens XCAPE

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PRA For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Harties
    Posts
    1,164
    Thanked: 363

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    The socket must be on an earth leakage protected circuit.
    Fortuner D4D
    Jurgens XCAPE

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PRA For This Useful Post:


  6. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    CAPE TOWN ,SOUTH AFRICA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    14,052
    Thanked: 386

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Well, you can plug anything you like in to a plug, as long as the plug point complies to the regulations, on earth leakage and protected by a 20 amp breaker and the right size cable.

    Normally a pool pump is classed as a fixed appliance, has an isolator on or adjacent to it ,controlled with a time clock, its own circuit breaker and on the earth leakage system.

    I see nothing wrong with fitting a weather proof plug also on own circuit breaker controlled with timer , and you plug the pool pump into that. But must be within arms reach. You wouldn't tap another plug of there as its on a t/c and will be off at times

    So you cant tap a plug of the pool pump as such, but you can fit another breaker in the DB and run a plug point from there.


    ORA
    -------------------------
    Ian

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,898
    Thanked: 309

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Most pool pump electrical boxes come with an additional plug point. Just extend it with some properly sized surfix.
    2004 Defender 110 Td5


  8. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Roodepoort
    Age
    62
    Posts
    955
    Thanked: 1706

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Sawdust View Post
    Most pool pump electrical boxes come with an additional plug point. Just extend it with some properly sized surfix.
    Cannot just put surfix. Image is from the local standard. It is possible that there has been an amendment. I bought this version about 3 years back. We have a lot of underground cables in our holiday place. Even armored cables get damaged. I would cover with some concrete and when coming up standard conduit tends to be too weak. Any joints underground use only those epoxy filled joiners. Available at builders. They have two types. Cheaper of the two was too flimsy for my liking.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Jouko
    ----------
    2003 Grand Cherokee 4.7l
    2012 Smart
    Never drive a normal car

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Jouko For This Useful Post:


  10. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    67
    Posts
    201
    Thanked: 81

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Correct and legal way, circuit breaker/ (double pole circuitbreaker-isolator) on E/L (as a plug is mostly installed in pool db) in main or sub board, marked as pool, with a minimum of 2.5mm cable, depending on additional equipment close to the pool db which might be fed from pool db. Pool db marked as (DB fed from Main/sub db). No outside plugs, as mentioned it is a permanent part of the installation.
    Problem comes when requiring a C of C for sale of house. There is a lot off different opinions with regards to interpreting the SABS book, as even electricians tend to differ at times, some take short cuts etc, as its not always possible to get to a Internal db due to flat roofs, db in passage etc,
    Then there is a part on C of C which says "mixed circuits" which I would have used,( "stopped doing Cof C long time ago, to much trouble) if there was no other option than outside weatherproof plug, but again, same thickness of wires, normally protected by a 20A circuit breaker, and mark the db and outside plug as Mixed(pool-plug) as well as the pool db. (I would have preffered a weather proof double pole isolator, even if fed from plug circuit) outside instead of a plug, still on E/L Again, there will be guys having a different opinion of what I just said, thats why, I am not getting involved in arguments, interpretation etc. Just my opinion of possibilities to evaluate.

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rudy Roodbol For This Useful Post:


  12. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Roodepoort
    Age
    62
    Posts
    955
    Thanked: 1706

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    I agree with post #7. Electricians have different opinions. Difficult to find 2 that agree. I had 2nd DB added to the house. More than one opinion.

    I feel sorry for the electricians. That standard I took one page above has been changed many times. 396 pages and it is only one part of the set. Very few like to read standards and they are never written so that there are no questions.
    Jouko
    ----------
    2003 Grand Cherokee 4.7l
    2012 Smart
    Never drive a normal car

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Jouko For This Useful Post:


  14. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Centurion + Others
    Age
    59
    Posts
    2,656
    Thanked: 159

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Thanks to all the replies and input.

    WHAT, may i ask, is a double pole isolator

    Thanks,
    Merit before Race - anything else IS Racism.
    Stay Calm, engage low-ratio, keep buggering on - a Landy Man
    Longevity isn't worth dying for,

  15. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    CAPE TOWN ,SOUTH AFRICA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    14,052
    Thanked: 386

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Capt Chaos View Post
    Thanks to all the replies and input.

    WHAT, may i ask, is a double pole isolator

    Thanks,
    It switches off both poles in other words it switches off live and the neutral simultaneously,
    where as a normal switch just turns off the live side .


    ORA
    -------------------------
    Ian

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to OFFROAD ADDICT For This Useful Post:


  17. #11
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hillcrest, Malaysia
    Age
    62
    Posts
    17,482
    Thanked: 4326

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    I think the "meaty" part of the question was - what type of cable ?

    And this doesn't appear to have been answered.

    Also will the cable be buried. ?
    Cheers

    ZS5KAD
    3 V8's
    A V6 and an inline 4

    The frogs are starting to notice that the water is getting warm but it is already too hot to do anything about it.....

  18. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    durban
    Age
    55
    Posts
    899
    Thanked: 521

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Fluffy View Post
    I think the "meaty" part of the question was - what type of cable ?

    And this doesn't appear to have been answered.

    Also will the cable be buried. ?
    Good question. And if its exposed does it need to be fitted into trunking or is cerfix/serfix good enough.? Or can you use white surfix in sun or must it be black or white.?

  19. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    67
    Posts
    201
    Thanked: 81

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    I did answer the question about the meaty part: 2.5mm three core. Ideally in ground/plant sections is to put a armoured cable, but what I used to do, and first discussed this withe client, (surfix can be used, i did not use flat twin and earth, as surfix has a thin additional alluminium cover) when client agrees, 20mm pvc or galvanised conduit, mounted against surface of wall, on normal or hospital saddles, and digg a trench 350-400mm deep and installed this surfix, again, in either pvc or galvanised conduit. For difficult bends, you can use spraque tubing which is flexible and from my experience, can last a while outside before becomming brittle. Again, galvanised spraque could be used.
    PS: Hospital saddle, is slightly different to normal saddle, as it has a 5mm backplate which causes the conduit to stand away from the wall.
    a lot of old school engineers, still prefer surface mount to be galvanised and on hospital saddle. Hopes this clears some questions, and Yes, you can use 2.5mm cable, as it normally is protected by a 20A circuit breaker.

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to Rudy Roodbol For This Useful Post:


  21. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Centurion + Others
    Age
    59
    Posts
    2,656
    Thanked: 159

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    yes thanks

    I was planning to use heavy surfix AND put it in conduit BURIED.

    in which areas do you work Rudy??

    thanks again...

    cc
    Last edited by Capt Chaos; 2018/08/11 at 03:30 PM.
    Merit before Race - anything else IS Racism.
    Stay Calm, engage low-ratio, keep buggering on - a Landy Man
    Longevity isn't worth dying for,

  22. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    45
    Posts
    572
    Thanked: 30

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    My sparkie question, if I may. I have an existing plug socket which is now getting a cupboard in front of it. A new 4x4 box with all the goodies is now installed in the cupboard. What is the correct way to wire to this box? Can the existing wires be extended or must new wires be installed to go all the way to the new box?

  23. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    67
    Posts
    201
    Thanked: 81

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Unfortunately I stopped working end of Jan this year.

  24. The Following User Says Thank You to Rudy Roodbol For This Useful Post:


  25. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pretoria
    Age
    67
    Posts
    201
    Thanked: 81

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Waldo, the way it could be done, put an extention box on the back cover of the cupboard, with a 4x4 coverplate to have accessability later. Join the wires inside the ext box, prefably crimping the joint with ferrulles, and insulate properly. Some use connector blocks, but I prefer ferulles. Gland on side of ext box, use surfix, probably in ega tube, drill through cupboard wall and fit new plug on extension box, surfix in ega tube, where you want the plug. Mark again from where its supplied. Ideally chase in wall extend existing conduits to and back too new plug position, rewire and connect, but this is very seldom possible as only the cupboards are replaced. Strictly speaking, qualified, registered Elect. should do the job and sign off Cof C for his part of the work. Hope it helps, and again, thats the way I would do it, others might differ, Rudy

  26. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Centurion
    Age
    45
    Posts
    572
    Thanked: 30

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Thanks Rudy. Got all the bases covered and yes, will have the required signoff, just wanted to confirm that it is ok to extend the existing wires.

  27. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    King Williams Town
    Age
    50
    Posts
    6,930
    Thanked: 661

    Default Re: Electricians Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Capt Chaos View Post
    Thanks to all the replies and input.

    WHAT, may i ask, is a double pole isolator

    Thanks,
    Best is install a double pole and neutral circuit breaker. It breaks both live and neutral circuits as well as tripping on over current. We have thrown out the double pole pole isolators as a main switch on new or rewired houses in our town. Pool pumps boards have gone the same way...reason is that it must trip on the consumers side and not councils side
    Isuzu STD 2.5d 2x4 rear diffy lock
    2x spotlight,2x fog lights
    215/80/R15c tyres
    1 x great humourous driver
    GPS,Bluetooth
    Eagle eye dash cam --stolen ..bought another one
    snorkel soon
    Craig
    I DON'T LIVE IN AFRICA,AFRICA LIVES IN ME- Kyle my son

  28. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hunter26 For This Useful Post:


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •