When to replace your tyres.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default When to replace your tyres.

Often I come across posts and comments about when tyres should be replaced. Many of the comments are along the line of "I've been towing caravans for 20 years so I know when to replace the tyres. Change the tyres every 5 years" OR "Throw them away after 5 years". This advice is in most cases given without any substantiation or basis.

It is always best to trust the experts, who in this case would be the manufacturers of tyres and not the sales guys at the retail outlets. And the manufacturers say maximum 10 years irrespective of how good a tyre looks BUT this comes with a proviso: 'When older than 5years check and inspect regularly (by a professional)'.
    So, what is a professional? There is no training course leading to certification as a Tyre Pro. All they do is look for previous puncture repairs, delamination, cracks, tears, bulging and sufficient tread. Then comes the diagnosis: 'Looks good, but its better to play it safe. Buy 2 new ones now and replace the other 2 later' (This is from personal experience). If your eyes are still in working order and you can read this post, you can do the inspection yourself.

The substantiation:

https://www.continental-tyres.co.za/...wledge/lex-1-2
    http://www.dunloptyres.co.za/Tyre-Ca...nge-Your-Tyres
    http://www.michelin.co.za/ZA/en/help...new-tyres.html
    Last edited by Bullterrier; 2018/02/15 at 01:40 PM.

Default Re: When to replace your tyres.

Reading from your Conti source:
    "We recommend: All tyres (including spare tyres) that were manufactured more than ten years ago should be replaced with new tyres, even if they appear to be usable from their external appearance and if the tread depth may have not reached the minimum wear out depth."