SolidWorks sheet metal

Default SolidWorks sheet metal

Hi,

I'm busy trying to design rock sliders/side steps for my bakkie using Solid Works (I have access to 2017 and using other software therefore does not make much sense at the moment). It is a box design where currently it will consists of 4 main sheet metal parts, excl the mounting brackets and internal bracing. I understand that the design must be bendable and assembled with not much swearing ;-) I will at some stage send the files to the laser cutters and benders and ask if its doable. I have had some simple profiles manually bent in the sheet thickness I was thinking of using, so there were some points and things I learned.

I have tinkered before with some 2D & 3D CAD software and have made some sheet metal parts (design to laser cutting), but it had very simple geometries. I only recently started with Solid Works (valid licence), went on an intro course, so I am not a totally wet behind the ears but I'm no expert either.

There are a few issues I'm struggling with at the moment.... one is how to design complex geometry sheet metal parts and the other one is what tolerances and overlaps to use.

I will have it laser cut and bend and then I will assemble stig or tig weld it.... mig will probably be easier but I don't have access to a mig machine unless I pay somebody, but then that takes all the fun out of it.

I have tried to design it completely from the start as sheet metal parts, but the complex geometry is difficult.... it seems that fitting a plane through points etc can perhaps work, but then my selection of those points needs to be spot on and then how to join edges that will form a bend between those adjoining edges? The other and a lot easier approach seems to be to design a solid body and then convert it to sheet metal.