|
The project is a go!
I have ordered my trailer chassis, braked, and I will soon start uploading pics as I proceed along.
What I want and what I can get, cannot even remotely be compared.
With the bit I have, together with my skills and some time, I will get there.
Here is the base trailer that I have ordered.
I will turn her into the masterpiece I want. I plan to equip her with Howling Moon tents and equip her to work off the grid. The box will be 2200 x 1200 x 1030 mm (2.7 cubic meters).
I hereby also invite anybody to post ideas that I may attempt. Although I have my ideas, yours may be even better than mine.
Last edited by jcrous; 2017/07/08 at 07:03 AM.
Looks great.
Post pics of progress
1999 Merc ML320
2001 Merc C200K
2007 Disco 3 TDV6 manual
That looks perfect as a base for a modular trailer.
VTEC sells them, as is and with registration papers for R22000.00. I have to pay something for delivery to Cape Town. It is braked.
They also have a non-braked model, much cheaper.
I worked through Trailarent in Goodwood.
I have checked the prices from Burquip and the profit margin of Vtec is very modest.
I am happy with what I got.
Last edited by jcrous; 2017/06/01 at 07:57 PM.
Karoo Klong,
The first step was to start. That I have done. I am currently recovering from surgery and I am just drawing plans.
I guess I will get to R30 000.00 for the trailer.
Outfit: plates for racks and slides: R5 000.00
Howling moon tent with awnings and side walls: R28 000.00.
The big money will then be the two deep cycle batteries, battery charger, inverter, solar system, water tank, new camp freezer.
I have a small inverter generator for emergencies, but I want to go solar.
I chose the heavier braked version. Then I can go over the 750 kg. I don't need much over. I am going to use my own bigger meat crates, not the usual ammo crates. I need to be able to bring the crates in that wifey can pack them and then I wil stack them on the slides.
I am now making provision for a space for tables as well as for solar panels.
Last edited by jcrous; 2017/06/02 at 09:13 AM.
I would suggest that from the onset you look at wheels (tyres and rims) that are the same as the tow vehicle. It can make travel that much less stressful if wheels are interchange-able.
Also look at shelves instead of drawers where-ever possible. Drawers are cheaper to build, lighter and waste less space than drawers.
Also build the shelves to fit cheap plastic boxes, not ammo cases which are also space wasters, which can be removed to unpack at home or in camp. They must be big enough to be able to take folded clothing comfortably and neatly and preferably all your pants in one, shirts in another and socks and underwear in the other, as well as one for jacket and raincoat.
Good luck with your build. We will keanly watch your progress.
Safe travels...
I would also suggest that you get one of the HCDP units for all the 'lectrics..
Hilux 3.0 D4D "Goldilocks" - Rigged for overlanding
ORRA Callsign: X130
Passionate about alternative energy
Subok,
I would love to add the HCDP panel in my trailer. Will I get the installation instructions with?
My system will have to deep cycle batteries in the trailer, together with a battery charger, inverter and solar panels, but it will not be linked to the towing vehicle.
The HCDP panel has the built in charger and can incorporate the solar panels into the system and I am sure will include the fitment instruction, but you can also inquire about this prior to purchase.
What do you want the inverter for?
How many batteries and solar power do you intend on using?
I have a small offroad caravan with solar panels on the roof, so it is also not connected to the tow vehicle...
http://www.hcdpelectronics.co.za/ind...&product_id=65
There are some wiring diagrams specs and an owners manual for each product.
Hilux 3.0 D4D "Goldilocks" - Rigged for overlanding
ORRA Callsign: X130
Passionate about alternative energy
Have just been informed the trailer is delivered. Will collect it during the course of the day. All of a sudden I am super excited. Will post proper pics.
Alexander Forbes immediately covered me. Just a phone call and my insurance is updated.
Hi Johan.
Man ek is saam met jou opgewonde. Jy pak n groot lekker projek aan. Dis great. Ek is ook tans besig met n upgrade projek,maar nie naastenby so groot soos joune nie. Kyk gerus onder die Xt140 cutomizing thread.
Wat ek solank kan byvoeg is,dat so iets nogal baie tyd in beslag neem. Het jy n spesifieke tyd ingedagte? Ek moes ma so elke dag bietjie werk en na 4maande is die einde in sig. Ek hou jou thread dop en alle sterkte. Onthou om dit te geniet.
Wildkyker,
Ek is gebonde aan finansies, meer as tyd. Sal seker maar lank neem.
I received the trailer today. The sparewheel is seperate. I will mount it on my rear door. The floor is 595 mm high:
Sturdy frame en the trailer is braked. Unfortunately there are no shocks. I will add them as well:
Good hardware and design. Certified for 100kg nose weight:
I will remove the chevron, and add it later on the rear door:
My certified weights. I removed the VIN number on this pic:
I will first get shocks. I am now first attempting to identify what size to fit. I received an old catalogue. Then I must make the brackets and get them galvanised.
Now that I gave a braked chassis, I can seriously start to plan and start building.
Last edited by jcrous; 2017/07/08 at 07:54 AM. Reason: pics won't display.
I have added the shocks today:
The movement of the axle to the back when the leave spring compress is catered for:
Preliminery plan to get the basic design. From the back:
Side view:
Now I have my basic design and I can buy my steel. First have to complete a safety gate for my daughter before I will start with the box.
Last edited by jcrous; 2017/07/08 at 09:15 AM.
Do you plan to box the a-frame channels or will it be strong enough?
Enjoy the built
Bump to the top